We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Re di Macchia

Re di Macchia
Via Saloni 21, Montalcino, Italy
+39 0577 846116
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 59 Restaurants in Montalcino
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Lovely quirky service from the waiter. Good hearty Tuscan food and wines. We enjoyed the Bistecca Fiorentina, brunello wine as recommended was excellent. Also a couple of different moscadellos with desert. The Steak was perfectly cooked. A lovely couple run the place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    105
    22
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I went to Re di Macchia while on a trip thru Tuscany in mid-September 2012, and it was wonderful. I had the prix fixe meal with wine pairings and it was sublime and at 42 euros, an unbelievable price for the quantity and quality received. My wife had a ravioli dish that was equally good. Service was exquisite - helpful and attentive, but not hovering. We had a number of memorable meals on our trip, but this was the best. Make a point of eating at Re di Macchia if you are any where near Montalcino.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“An Italian experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Mantalcino was the first port of call for the four of us after leasing a car at Rome airport. Sometimes you just get lucky!!!
We booked into a quaint little B And B and we were, upon asking , told to go to this restaurant as it was recognised as one of the best in town.
Luckily we were given the last unbooked table. It was obvious from the those who tried to get a table after us and were politely refused, that this was a place with a very good reputation.
Antonio was a very engaging host - great sense of humour and very attentive, including explaining the menu in great detail.
We had a wonderful evening. The food, and we each had a different entree and main meal, was superb. The wines were also excellent, not over-priced and local.
We travelled as two couples through Italy and France and we have agreed that this evening was something really special for the four of us.
We all loved Montalcino and it this evening made it so much more special.
This town is just magnificent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Based only on one dinner we had there, I gave it 5 stars. The food was very well prepared and tasty and the service was attentive and friendly. My husband had the menu dinner for 25 euros and I had picci pasta with wild boar sauce. I ate my whole serving, which rarely happens... We shared his appetizer and dessert. His dinner also included a primi (lasagna dish)and secondi (beef braised in brunello wine with potatoes and spinach). The atmosphere was good and made us feel welcomed. We will go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My boyfriend and I were traveling through Tuscany in search of some good food and wine. We heard that Montalcino has both great wines and steaks, so we went there late in the afternoon. In Italy restaurants are usually open for lunch and then again in the time for dinner (from 7.30 pm till late in the evening). Because we arrived early we stopped at a local winery where we asked where should we go for a good steak. First advised place was Il Pozzo in near town of Sant'Angelo in Colle but it was closed, so we decided to visit Re di Macchia in Montalcino which turned out to be a wonderful choice! We ordered one steak for both because it weighted 1,1 kg :)) First they showed us the stake and a little later they served it. It was really nicely done (we asked for a well done steak), soft and juicy.

The restaurant was starting to get fuller and we noticed that a lot of Italians eat at this restaurant (almost everybody ate stakes - no wonder).

The wine list was really short, but they have good wines. I recommend ordering the whole bottle because it doesn't pay off if you order just one glass (8€ per glass, 18€ per bottle).

The service was fine, but not the best in the world, and the interior is definitely not as nice as the food.

I strongly recommend the stakes - yummy :P

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Re di Macchia also viewed

Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 
Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 

Been to Re di Macchia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Re di Macchia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.