We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria l'Angolo da Cesare e Mara

Trattoria l'Angolo da Cesare e Mara
via Ricasoli, 9, 53024 Montalcino, Italy
0577 848017
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 61 Restaurants in Montalcino
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Toronto
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stumbled upon this small family owned restaurant and were very pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious and well priced. Our pasta dishes were two of the best we had while in the Tuscany area. It is not fancy but the food is good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    55
    16
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great porcini and truffles!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled onto this restaurant while we were wandering through Montalcino.
The restaurant interior is small and plain, nothing special.
The food:
We ordered the porcini carpaccio with truffles and pecorino, it was terrific and the highlight of our meal! Hand made strazzopreti pasta came next: the pasta had a nice chewy texture and came in a wine based ragu, very good.
We ordered the tagliata Chianina rare, and that was perfectly executed.
We also had the wild boar stew, scottiglia di Cinghiale, which we were less keen on as the meat was rather dry though overall the dish had good flavor.
Wine: decent selection of wine, with emphasis on rosso di montalcino and brunellos. We had 2 half bottles of brunello from their selection.
Total bill €97 for 2, about half of which was for the wine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Brunello Risotto!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Enchanting with the best service, try the wild boar or brunello risotto. Great wine list, it they don't have what you want they will try to get it! The restaurant is small, so at times have a wait. Make a reservation through your hotel.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Highly recommended.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Found this place by accident. And glad we did. Made to feel at home and the owner found a table for the 5 of us by moving a group of 3 to a smaller table. Kitchen is tiny but produces great food. The bruschetta were wonderful. Great bread, hint of garlic and terrific tomatoes. But the standout was the pasta with shaved truffle. Just loved it. And at €17 was great value given the amount of truffle covering the pasta. A Brunello recommended by the owner at €30 was roughly the retail price for the 2007 if I could have found it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Great. Could have been 10% cheaper, or 10% larger portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I had a truffle-sauce ravioli and it was awesome. My wife had a Brunello sauce pasta which was exquisite. Great service. Ambiance was nothing special, but it was open and one of the first places we saw on the main drag there in Montalcino, so we dipped in with a ravenous group. My sister ordered a half chicken, which was cooked to perfection in its simplicity. My other sister had a generous dish of crostini and sopresata. We'd probably try another place if in Montalcino again, but we'd definitely say our experience was positive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria l'Angolo da Cesare e Mara also viewed

 
Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 

Been to Trattoria l'Angolo da Cesare e Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria l'Angolo da Cesare e Mara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.