We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Montalcino” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna del Grappolo Blu

Taverna del Grappolo Blu
Scale di Via Moglio, 1, Montalcino, Italy
0577-847150
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 59 Restaurants in Montalcino
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Montalcino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I have visited Montalcino for almost as many years as Grappolo Blu has been open. At one time or another I have objectively, tried and eaten in just about all the restaurants in town...
However, after more than 20 years... Grappolo Blu remains the best in Montalcino and my favorite restaurant. Excellent food. From the deceptively simple antipasti to the wonderful homemade pasta's and meat dishes. example: Veal shank in balsamic vinegar, beef cheeks in brunello wine, wild boar in salmi and on and on to the wonderful homemade desserts.
Not to be underscored is Grappolo's amazing wine list or should I say, wine book, about 25 pages..... And Luciano, the owner and sommelier is fantastic....He truly knows his wines and loves his food and it shows......
Great food, great service and very reasonably priced... You will not be disappointed.
unc.bob

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    142
    53
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westwood Los Angeles County, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simple pasta dishes that somehow achieve SUBLIME taste.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

A few friends recommended we eat here on our one day trip to Montalcino. SO happy we did. The pasta is incredibly simple-- just a few fresh ingredients and your mouth is in heaven. No surprise that the wine list is fantastic-- some great half bottle choices too so you can continue sipping the famous Brunellos throughout the day. After all our meals in Rome, Florence, and around Tuscany, I can say the pasta we had here was the best. That's saying something.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lunch in Montalcino ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

... at Taverna del Grappolo Blu was the highlight of a day trip to Montalcino and a welcome deligh that we hope to experience again. Freshly made pastas, the best bruschetta we had during our entire trip, and then there's the wine list ... thick as a good book and packed with Brunellos of every stripe. Attentive and friendly service made the entire experience just perfect.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“It never disappoints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I always go here at least once on my annual trip to Italy and I have never been disappointed. Honest rustic Italian food using superb ingredients. Charming family run restaurant. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Place for Lunch in Montalcino historic center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We decided to have lunch at Grappolo Blu (located in a small side street) after touring the historic center of Montalcino, where the ambiance inside was perfect, small trattoria, with great food, friendly service and amazing wine of course! We had a sampling of cold cuts and cheese, rabbit stew with polenta, pasta with wild boar ragu and dessert with espresso....and did I mention the vino.....The owner also provided me with some recommendations on which local wineries to visit while in Montalcino which was very helpful since there are 100's of them to choose from. We were also offered Grappa and Moscato by the owner, which was a great way to end of lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna del Grappolo Blu also viewed

Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 
Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 

Been to Taverna del Grappolo Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna del Grappolo Blu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.