We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epicurean delight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna del Grappolo Blu

Taverna del Grappolo Blu
Scale di Via Moglio, 1, Montalcino, Italy
0577-847150
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 61 Restaurants in Montalcino
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
East Longmeadow, MA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Epicurean delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

After a very long day of driving from Florence to Montalcino, getting lost for hours and thinking we'd never find the way to our destination, we finally arrived and got settled into our B&B. We shared the story of a great day gone bad with our host who told us he had the remedy for what ailed us ... and he was right! He suggested we have dinner at Taverna del Grappolo Blu, for which we are and always will be grateful. We began with an amazing and flavorful appetizer of prunes wrapped in pig's cheek bacon ... how many ways can you say yum? ... shared the porcini and tagliatelle pasta and ordered the rabbit and wild boar entrees. The rabbit was a bit salty for my taste but otherwise very flavorful and the wild boar was equally delicious, however a bit dry. We ordered a bottle of Brunello wine to accompany our selections and finished with a fabulous lemon tart, which by the way is served warm and proved to be the perfect finale. We left the restaurant content and delighted we'd listened to our host's suggestion. In fact, we enjoyed our dining experience at Taverna del Grappolo Blu so much, we ate there two of the three nights we stayed in Montalcino and would do so again. The staff was courteous and attentive but not overbearing and prices were in line with what we'd expected. If you want an authentic Tuscan dining experience in the beautiful village of Montalcino, I recommend Taverna del Grappolo Blu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    155
    55
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good dinner choice, but not outstanding . . .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a decent dinner at Grappolo Blu, on the night we arrived in town. The dishes were tasty and nicely prepared, but nothing outstanding. The restaurant has a rustic atmosphere and the service was adequate. The wine list showcases Brunellos, as do many restaurants in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“A Good Recommendation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Based on a Rick Steve's guide book recommendation we located this restaurant for lunch. We ordered two glasses of Brunello de Montalcino 2006 (€7/glass) which were carefully measured out at table side. This wine was as good as advertised. I started with a bowl of ribollata or zuppa which was up to expectations. Sharon had the Pici e ragu which she has ordered several times in Tuscany - a favourite dish.
Since we decided this would be our big meal of the day we ordered a secondi - one rabbit with polenta and one guinea fowl in lemon sauce. Both dishes were good but not outstanding. We ended the meal with dessert - a pear poached in white wine and a lemon tart. Again they were competent.
The bill for the two meals came to €73.50 including €4 service. I think this place is somewhat expensive for the quality of the food. The service was excellent and the waiter understood English.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is definitely one of the restaurants that sticks out in my memory. The food was great but it's the atmosphere that made the experience so memorable. The restaurant is at the top of one of the many staircases in the village and the view down the valley made us want to go in. Glad we did and I certainly would go again if I found myself in Montalcino again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Tired and distinctly average - a disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I reviewed Grappolo Blu in 2010 and gave it a glowing write up. So expectations were high - and they were dashed. The food was very lacklustre - the main dishes uninspiring. Perhaps they had been cooked a long time before and re-heated? The sauces were definitely on the dry side. The wine list, while extensive, is over-priced. In a week in Montalcino, this was the poorest meal we ate. Very disappointing, as we had saved it till close to the end of our holiday, remembering our previously excellent experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna del Grappolo Blu also viewed

Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 
Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 

Been to Taverna del Grappolo Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna del Grappolo Blu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.