We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury near Montalcino” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castiglion Del Bosco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Castiglion Del Bosco to your Saves list
Castiglion Del Bosco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc. Castiglion del Bosco, 53024 Montalcino, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Montalcino
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Luxury near Montalcino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in September and really didn't want to leave. This is a truly luxurious experience. The hotel, a restored and converted Tuscan village , complete with its own ruined castle and tiny church with a medieval fresco, is enchanting . The setting is magnificent amid the Tuscan hills and though remote ,it is still well placed for sightseeing, walking and wine tasting.
The service is impeccable throughout and the rooms , though a little short on drawer space, are spacious and luxurious. Nothing to dislike really.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    8
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
93
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

What can you say about Castiglion Del Bosco apart from wow. Firstly, it is an effort to get there, about a 2 hour or so drive from Pisa airport, however once you get past Siena the drive becomes scenic and a beautiful introduction to the Tuscan landscape. The resort itself is located atop a hill accessed via a long winding gravel road from Buanconvento in one direction or from Montalcino in the other.

Upon arrival the service is immediately impeccable. The concierge took our bags to our room and parked our car while we were shown round the resort.

The facilities are the epitome of Tuscan beauty. The pool overlooks the Montalcino valley, there is a beautiful Kitchen Garden where many of the ingredients for Il Drago and La Cannonica are sourced and the main village is immaculately presented.

Whilst staying we took advantage of the activities and did a wine tasting and look at the amazing cellars of La Cantina, the resorts amazing Brunello producing winery. Our host was lovely and the personal attention certainly made us feel special. We also tried our hand at archery which was great fun and a real treat considering the local traditions the sport has.

The food at the resort was amazing in both restaurants and at breakfast. Both serve local specialities as well as other Italian dishes such as seafood hailing from the chef's home area further south in Italy. The Senese prosciutto and salami was a personal highlight.

Our room was incredible, a junior suite, and one that we were delighted to spend time in given the weather was poor for two of our days. The hotel specialises in little touches that make a big difference. The bathroom is stocked with Salvatore Ferragamo toiletries, unsurprising given the hotel is owned by Massimo and Chiara Ferragamo, the mini bar of mostly soft drinks is complementary and regularly restocked, as are the delicious homemade biscuits, while there is a great selection of on demand movies that are, again, complementary, and perfect for a rainy afternoon.

The resort is beautiful, the staff are courteous, the rooms are immaculately presented, the beds are comfortable, the views are spectacular, the wine is magnificent and the facilities excellent. Sure it's pricey, we certainly had to save up to come here, but it was worth every penny. The resort caters to millionaires but makes every guest feel special. My one issue is perhaps the price of the activities, we'd have loved to have done a cooking class but balked at €200 a head.

Regardless, should you be able to save up enough to come here, do. It is worth the effort to get here and every penny spent doing so, as close to the perfect resort as we've yet to find.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Castiglion del Bosco is much more than a hotel. It is a universe! Located about 15 km from Montalcino, we reached the hotel by driving on a 10 km dirt road. And after about 5 km on that road we were already on the 4000 acre property. Owned by a branch of the Ferragamo family, the hotel was created to be a discreet hideaway for an elite clientele.

The main part of the all-suite 5 star plus hotel is the Castilion itself, an entire village built in about the 12th century. The village houses have been converted to luxury suites, the main building (where the lord of the village lived) houses a large “living room” lounge and a few suites and the gastronomic restaurant Ristorante Il Drago that serves beautifully cooked mixture of traditional Tuscan dishes and innovative “neaveau Tuscan” invention of the chef. There is a simpler restaurant next door, the Osteria La Canonica, that serves foods such as pizzas, pastas, salads and a few specials of the day. And then there are the spa, the ruins of a 11th century fortress (now partially converted into a villa) a swimming pool and fitness center overlooking a valley of olive grows and vineyards and the village of Montalcino in the background. But that’s not all! The Castilion has the small the Church of San Michele, with an outstanding 14th fresco "Annunciazione dei Santi" by Pietro Lorenzetti, one of the most beautiful golf courses in the world (only open to hotel guests and members of the property’s exclusive golf club). And, most importantly for wine lovers, the Castigion produces exceptional wines in its winery.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Wow, there really is no place like Castiglion Del Bosco. You can tell a lot of thought has gone into the restoration of the estate and the hotel rooms. The service is top notch and there are many activities whether its relaxing by the pool, hiking around the area or playing golf on the beautiful private course. We enjoyed our meals at Osteria La Canonica. Andrea was really fantastic with answering all of our questions before we arrived and she made us feel very welcomed. I could go on and on about how amazing our stay was at the hotel.

We will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Previous reviews would suggest that CDB is A) exceptional B ) heaven on earth C) world class D) nicest in the world.....hence my title! Let me reiterate that the excellence in service begins pre-stay when Martina helped arrange transportation , golf ,spa treatments , cooking school and vineyard tours while leaving time for sight seeing. Everyone we encountered was exceptional and whoever trains or selects employees is to be commended. We stayed in a suite and the previous review gives a great description to which I say ditto! Dress is pleasantly casual , something which concerned my wife prior to our stay and food at both restaurants was excellent. Their wine was just given a est value by wine spectator. I only hope I get to return someday!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room, but the suites are magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Castiglion Del Bosco in early September. First of all, let me be clear that we have extremely high expectations of the hotels we choose. I can honestly say that though other hotels have met and even exceeded our expectations, CDB was so above and beyond that upon arrival we were literally at a loss for words.

I was incredibly impressed by the resort team even before we arrived. A couple of weeks before our stay, we received an email from the resort offering to arrange activities. I took them up on the offer and asked them to set up spa appointments, an archery lesson, and a vineyard tour. They booked it all with minimal hassle – they just took the ball and ran with it providing us with an itinerary. They were extremely efficient which I greatly appreciated.

As others have indicated, the drive to the resort is via various dirt and gravel roads which make you wonder just what you are getting into. Rest assured - it is well worth it. The resort is on a huge parcel of land and is surrounding by beautiful hills and views of nearby towns. It was hard not to have an amazing view from anywhere on the property.

We arrived in the late afternoon and were immediately greeted, checked in and given a tour of the resort, its amenities, and then our room. The resort itself is absolutely beautiful. If you are staying in the main area (as opposed to in one of the outlying villas) the restaurants, bar, pool, spa are all very convenient. Everything is arranged around the main path and very easy to find and access.

We had booked a Junior Suite and requested a terrace. We were lucky enough to get exactly what we requested. The room itself was amazing. Although it was one of the smaller room types, it was very large. It consisted of a large sitting area with couch, chairs, TV, a powder room, etc. Then there was the bedroom which was also large and had the nicest closet I have ever seen in a hotel (built-ins, etc.). Through the bedroom was the bath, which included a separate shower and tub, dual sinks and a separate commode area.

The room fittings and amenities were extremely high quality. Very comfy bed with awesome linens and towels. Ferragamo bath items. Complimentary bar items and snacks. Coffee/tea maker. And finally a hotel with air conditioning that really works!!

All rooms looked out over the hills – the views were beautiful from all rooms. Because the resort is by itself on a large piece of land, it is also very quiet – incredibly peaceful.

The terrace was huge, with a couch chairs and table. We greatly enjoyed sitting on the terrace in the evening drinking wine (a complimentary bottle is provided by the resort). My only suggestion for improvement is that the terraces need potted plants. The rest of the resort has such beautiful landscaping that the terraces seem lacking in that regard.

As indicated above, we took advantage of as much as we could. We both enjoyed the archery lesson (taught by a former member of the national team). The spa treatments were also wonderful. We particularly enjoyed the vineyard tour led by Walt. He was very knowledgeable and fun to spend a couple of hours with. Every staff member was incredibly friendly and enthusiastic.

Both restaurants were very good – we particularly enjoyed the tasting menu at the nicer restaurant. I think we preferred that restaurant in general.

We also took full advantage of the beautiful infinity pool, along with its bar. We spent a couple of afternoons out there and would have liked more.

I also encourage guests to explore. We went on a short hike one morning and ended up in the resort’s awesome kitchen gardens. If you are at all into gardening, don't miss this area. I was green with envy. Also make sure you hike up the tower. It is an easy set of steps and the views are amazing.

As you can see, I could go on and on about this resort. Ours was truly an amazing stay and we are already planning a return trip.

Room Tip: Request a room with a terrace - it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This property is simply exceptional. What we liked in particular:

1) The setting: The property is surround by vineyards and green, rolling hills with cypress trees. There are wide open views into the countryside of the Val d'Orcia. This is Tuscany as you know it from the coffee table books.

2) The rooms: We had a junior suite, which is one of the smallest options, but it felt very spacious and private. The furniture is traditional - but this is one of the cases, where it feels authentic, and not fake at all. For example, there is a very nice canopied bed. There was a private terrace and garden area. Also, in-room amenities are of high quality.

3) The food: There are two restaurants, one in Trattoria-style, and a slightly more formal one. Food was absolutely fantastic - authentic Tuscan cuisine, prepared with local ingredients (some grown in the garden on premises), with a modern twist.

4) The service: This is where the property truely excels. The service is relaxed, not at all stuffy or formal, but at the same time extremely professional and accomodating. A few examples: One night at dinner, our baby suddenly became quite crotchety, so we thought it would be best to retreat to our room, but we also wanted to have dessert. So the waiter accompanied us back to our room, with our dessert and drinks on a tray. Another time, we needed some olive oil (we used as an ointment for our baby). So they put a large bottle of olive oil in our room (from their own production), which they normally sell for EUR 30 in their shop. We told them this was a misunderstanding, we had not wanted to buy a whole bottle. They told us that they would of course not charge for the bottle, they just had not found a small container, so they thought this was the best solution. Another example, every night we asked them to heat our baby food. At many other places, they would just put the jar into microwave. At Castiglion del Bosco, they would put the food into a nice ceramic dish. When we departed, they stowed the lugagge into our car, but they had also cleaned it, and put two bottles of cold water, local pastries, and a hand-written "have a safe trip" note into it while we were checking out. Also, the minibar in the room is complimentary, and replenished daily, including very nice small local snacks. In summary, this was exactly the service we had wished for - overall it made us feel very relaxed.

5) Location: The property is very conveniently located to explore many interesting sights in southern Tuscany, such as the nearby towns of Montepulciano, Montalcino, and Pienza.

The only small suggestion for improvement we would have is regarding the organized activities they offer. They sent us a nice brochure with many options (e.g., wine tastings, nature walks, cooking classes). While we found that overall the property is expensive (we paid EUR 770/night), but quite reasonably priced given its exceptional quality, we felt that they went a bit overboard in the pricing of their activities (e.g., a wine tasting with 4 wines for EUR 80 per person, i.e., 160 EUR per couple - when you can buy 4 bottles of the same wines in the shop for much less - did not make sense for us).

We would certainly like to return soon. This was the best part of our Tuscany trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castiglion Del Bosco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castiglion Del Bosco

Address: Loc. Castiglion del Bosco, 53024 Montalcino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castiglion Del Bosco 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within the UNESCO-listed Val d’Orcia Natural Park and in the heart of the Brunello di Montalcino wine-making region, Castiglion del Bosco is a 4,200-acre country estate.Today, Castiglion del Bosco is a unique combination: it's one of Tuscany's largest private estates; it's an elegant Tuscan home away from home with a range of elegant and spacious suites and villas; it's a superb culinary destination, an exclusive private golf club and a leading Brunello di Montalcino winery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith and Tingo so you can book your Castiglion Del Bosco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castiglion Del Bosco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.