We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and will be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco to your Saves list
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc. Castiglion del Bosco, 53024 Montalcino, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Montalcino
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“We loved it and will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I went to Castiglion Del Bosco two weeks ago and would highly recommend the hotel. The setting is incredible and Hotel is near perfection. There is a lot to do but it is also a wonderful place to chill.
There are a couple of minor criticisms though. The menu and food at the pool is quite poor and the service generally although very friendly was inadequate. The majority of the the staff are hired on a seasonal basis and it shows.
Do not be put off by my criticisms, it is a breathtakingly beautiful place and we really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    8
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
95
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was bar none the most incredible hotel my husband and I have ever stayed at. The grounds were so unbelievably beautiful,our pictures (and we took a lot) did not do them justice. The pool is breathtaking as is the village that was converted into the main square of the hotel. The service was fantastic, the staff could not do enough to help you. We had some of the best meals of our tip at the hotel's restaurants. Our suite was luxurious and decorated with the type of detail that only a Ferragmo hotel could have.

We took part in the cooking class which was fantastic and a Brunello wine tasting. Both were great experiences and well worth the cost. My husband played golf and said it was one of the best courses (if not the best course) he has ever played on.

The hotel was close to all of the other Tuscany villages and we were able to do and see a lot over our 6 days there. We will absolutely comes back and would reccomend this hotel to anyone. It was by far and away the most special place we have stayed

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

"Are you kidding me?" was my initial reaction driving up a winding dirt/gravel road for 20 minutes before reaching the hotel. We had missed the main entrance (which itself has a 10 minute dirt road but grand entrance surrounded by bountiful trees) and came in the back way from the town of Montalcino.

But at the end of the road, it is as if the heavens opened up with all its splendor. What a magnificent setting for a very private and very luxurious facility. On 5000 acres in Brunello wine country located within 30 minutes of several lovely towns, Montalcino, Pienza and Montepulciano. Each a lovely stop for walking perhaps late in the afternoon and then stay for dinner. You can take a tour of the winery on site or one of many within a short drive.

We didn't' have an opportunity to participate in a cooking class although we heard from someone at dinner it was very informative and a lot of fun.

About a 3 hour drive from the Rome airport (take the coast road and avoid the traffic that encircles Rome) We used this location for several days to tour southern Tuscany and later moved north to Castello del Nero (an equally magnificent hotel) in Tavernelle Val de Pesa, to tour northern Tuscany including Florence, Lucca and the Chianti region.

Pulling up into the reception area, by the time we were out of our car, two front desk personel who also serve as concierge, greeted us by name at the front door. We entered a casual living room setting. We were offered a seat on a couch, cool drinks and hot towels to relieve us from the drive. Checking in took less than a minute.

We were taken on a short tour of the facility and then to our suite. With views in every direction and from every vantage point of the hills and valleys and vineyards, one really couldn't ask for more. Our suite had two bathrooms,, a living room and bedroom with a terrific shower and separate tub and a lovely outdoor patio. Beautifully furnished with fine linens and accessories. The welcoming gifts of wine and biscotti and daily refurbishing of more desserts and snacks was a warm touch.

Within a few minutes of arrival, the housekeepers knocked and asked what times of day we would like them to service the room, and while we never saw them again, the room was always immaculate with fresh linens and sheets.

While the grounds are expansive and you can walk for miles, the main features are relatively close within minutes of each other. The pool setting was magnificent overlooking the valley, and the glass enclosed fitness center with a wonderful view made my workout pass quickly.

There are two restaurants. A causal spot which we tried once for lunch and was fine. The main restaurant for dinner (and also where breakfast was served) was managed like a 5 star facility, with wonderful food and service, well prepared and presented. The maitre 'd knew our name, and even at lunch, when we made a dinner reservation for the main restaurant, the waiter took care of everything. The breakfast each morning was bountiful with everything you would expect and anything made to order as well.

The level of personal service was outstanding in every aspect of this hotel. Suggestions for day trips and any needed reservations were quickly attended to by the front office. My car was always waiting for me at the front office.

I don't believe the hotel was full while we were there, but there were many times throughout our 3 day stay that we felt we were at our own private resort with a private staff to tend to our every need. Typical of the level of service: One morning I was walking across the courtyard and it started to rain. One of the hotel staff came running out to me and escorted me with an umbrella.

This is a seriously top level facility in a magnificent setting within an easy drive of many towns and wineries.

On pricing: while not inexpensive, given the facilities and level of service, certainly a worthwhile treat while on vacation.

I applaud the management and the staff at a truly remarkable and professionally managed hotel.

Room Tip: Request a view, but quite frankly, there are beautiful views wherever you look.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel could be the realisation of anybody's dream if only the staff would speak/understand a little more english. This is our second time here, and we still have the same sensational feeling. Hard to find any where in the world.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Our favorite Tuscany Hotel. Good central location. 5 star resort that has it all. Outstanding service, food, winery, decor, grounds, and view. With Tuscany being so crowded with tourists it was so nice to come back to this secluded relaxing environment each day.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

CB is the most elegant, classy, beautiful resort anywhere?
Amazing service, beautiful furniture and appointments
Food spectacular
Staff wonderful; the spa is excellent
The winery is amazing/ best wine in Italy
Every detail is perfect
Close to great villages and towns

Room Tip: The villas are extraordinary
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed here for just one night on a bike tour of Tuscany and dearly wished we could have stayed longer. Everything is over-the-top luxurious: huge rooms, bathrooms with separate his-and-hers dressing rooms, exquisite showers, exquisite linens, exquisite everything. We were in a villa with its own private infinity pool (!) that looked out over a spectacular countryside vista. We didn't get to eat dinner at any of the restaurants, but the breakfast was wonderful. If you want a total blowout, cost-no-object place to be pampered in Tuscany, this is the one.

Room Tip: The Villa Oliviera is particularly amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco

Address: Loc. Castiglion del Bosco, 53024 Montalcino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within the UNESCO-listed Val d'Orcia Natural Park and in the heart of the Brunello di Montalcino wine-making region, Castiglion del Bosco is a 5000-acre country estate.Today, Castiglion del Bosco is a unique combination: it's one of Tuscany's largest private estates; it's an elegant Tuscan home away from home with a range of elegant and spacious suites and villas; it's a superb culinary destination, an exclusive private golf club and a leading Brunello di Montalcino winery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.