We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice choice!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Giardinata

Save Saved
You added Villa Giardinata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Giardinata
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Don Angelo Grazia, 91010 Valderice, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Valderice B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“A very nice choice!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

It's a great place with a very special atmosphere… the garden, the kitchen, the room… the furniture is very stylish. Going across the road to the country house and entering the nice garden is like living a movie.
It’s also a good place to visit the area: Erice, Scopello, Trapani…. even Palermo if you don’t like living in a big city.
The country house is run by a lovely family with which you can enjoy a very nice and interesting conversation about stories of the country, Sicily and life in general.
Villa Giardinata is not just a place to overnight. It’s worth taking your time there and enjoying the house and the hospitality of the owners.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    21
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
56
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skofja Loka, Slovenia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We spent in Vila Giardinata 3 days.The accomondations in the room was very nice and confortable.The service was natural and pleasant.They offer also quality sicilians wines for reasonable price. The name "giardinata" is right,because in front of villa is really nice garden.I would recmmend to all who ejoy in quitness,nature and nice landscape.We will certanly visit this villa again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We booked the "essential" (i.e. smallest) room at this place on booking.com for 39 euros per night (room only). We were wondering what to expect when we got the confirmation email from the owners containing lots of words of caution about the small size of the room and the lack of public transport but shouldn't have been concerned as this was a fantastic spot. Although it was difficult to find (even when we found the driveway we still went the wrong way a couple of times - maybe it was because it was dark that we struggled but when you leave the main road you need to follow the driveway through the beautiful olive grove and then the villa gate is directly in front of you - don't take the unpaved track which forks right after you've left the main road, and don't follow the driveway round to the left either once you're in the olive grove or you'll end up at the neighbour's place), it's in a really peaceful and beautiful location on the edge of the village. Access to the room was through a beautiful courtyard which contained an ancient millstone. The room was spotless, had a really nice, spacious bathroom and came with a small complimentary bottle of Asti on arrival (not sure how they do that for the price). It was about a 15 minute walk to Franco's restaurant in the village and although Franco's pizzas weren't amazing, it was the ultimate people-watching spot on the Saturday night we were there - it felt like the entire village was there for dinner and it was just the kind of place you'd expect to be featured on something like a Jamie Oliver show for the atmosphere alone. We only stayed one night at Villa Giardinata but are already planning a return trip for a longer stay. The villa is a great base for visiting places like Erice and the fantastic beach at San Vito Lo Capo is only about half an hour away. The owners were really friendly too - we even managed to break one of the glasses they gave us with the Asti but they said not to worry about that. Overall, this is a fantastic place and great value, even if you get one of the more expensive rooms.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This place is real value for money, with large rooms, in a peaceful location. The shower room was small, but fully functional, and the air conditioning worked well. The villa is also the family home of the owners, who live above the B and B accommodation. They are a delightful couple, with twin baby boys so they have their hands full. We got to hold and cuddle the boys which was so nice, and saw them every morning at breakfast. A great start to the day. The breakfast area itself is extremely well laid out, with 4 or 5 tables, a large breakfast buffet and tea and coffee on demand. There was no plain yogurt the first day, but the owner had heard us asking for it and it appeared the day after. There is also a seating area in the large breakfast room so it felt very much like a farm house kitchen - lovely. We slept very well.

Parking is easy, and the garden is typical of a family villa in the area, with peacocks, a fountain, and an olive grove behind the house.

It was difficult to find, as the sat nav couldn't cope with the unsigned roads, but we found it easily after asking locals. It is in a good position, although because it was the end of the season we found it quite difficult to find somewhere to eat in the evening. The only restaurant close by was open the first night we went there, but closed up the 2nd. However we did find a pizzeria in the next town which was full of locals and which was fine.

The four of us are great tea drinkers at breakfast, and the supply of hot water kept running out, so we suggested to the owners that they invest in a kettle. But it wasn't a problem to have to wait for a few minutes while the water heated.

Overall, this B and B is exactly what I would have expected: friendly, relaxed, extremely well run, with great attention to detail.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed 6 nights at Villa Giardinata during our recent holiday to Sicily. It proved to be an excellent base from which to explore so many of the wonderful sights of western Sicily. Within easy reach of Erice, Trapani, Segesta, Marsala (not to mention the beautiful salt lagoon and Mozia) and Scopello and the rest of the Zingaro national park. Our room was extremely comfortable, and we slept well throughout our stay in this lovely tranquil setting. The house is set within a well kept garden, with several places to sit, and we were made to feel very welcome by Anna and Vincenzo, despite getting lost on our way! We found the local restaurant (Franco's) very friendly, with good food; but we especially enjoyed meeting other family members and guests at the home pizza feast on our last evening. The only thing we missed was not having a refrigerator in our room, and possibly access to the sitting/dining area during the evening, but we fully appreciate that Villa Giardinata is first and foremost a family home, and we were very happy to be part of that for our stay. Thank you for a very memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zabbar, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Been to this fantastic agriturismo during the first week of September. At first it took us a while to find the estate with the help of the GPS because it could not locate the street name but eventually got there by the help of the street signs. Parking is ample and safe The rooms are very clean, bright and big. The family is very welcoming and to our surprise we were even invited over for a family dinner on Saturday eve in the Garden. Every one made us feel at home and the freshly baked pizza was mouthwatering. The Villa is the perfect location to explore the Trapani area. Erice and Trapani are a few minutes away and it is very close to Marsala and San Vito Lo Capo. The breakfast is very generous and I loved the fresh fruit and the freshly baked pastries. Loved out 4 day stay to bits and can't wait to be back some other time soon. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is a beautiful villa in a gorgeous rural setting only 5 minutes from Valderice. The hosts are a wonderful young family with five generations living on the estate. The breakfast was superb. We hope to come back here. The Google directions were aa little difficult because none of the streets have signs. You have to aim for the little town of Chiesanuova in Trampani province. It is well worth finding. You will be pleasantly surprised. We wish we had several days more here just to enjoy the location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Giardinata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Giardinata

Address: Via Don Angelo Grazia, 91010 Valderice, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Valderice
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Valderice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Giardinata 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Giardinata is one of the most famous and elegant hotels of the Val di Erice, regular home to concerts and local events. Created to accommodate the discerning client at a national and international level, our structure deserves the attention of tourists who do not wish for "surprises" whilst wishing to stay in a characteristic place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Villa Giardinata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Giardinata Valderice, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Giardinata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.