We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - great host - great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riviera to your Saves list
Hotel Riviera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Statale Regina, 43, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel - great host - great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This place is great. Super convenient location. Incredible value for the money. We thought of staying at one of the much more expensive upscale hotels during a weekend get away to Como. We made the right choice by coming here.

Our host Andrea was awesome.

The view from our room was amazing. And it was only 50 meters to the ferry terminal, which gave easy access to Bellagio.

We used the money we saved on hotel for some outrageous dinners and super fun activities around Lake Como. Andrea made some great recommendations on places to eat and things to do. A great host for sure.

Grazie Mille Andrea!

Room Tip: We stayed on the upper floor facing the lake. Was a great room. Again, it's a value hotel, so se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    36
    9
    7
    8
See reviews for
6
48
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel was clean, comfortable and the hotel owners incredibly kind and helpful! We had a room that overlooked the lake - GORGEOUS - you can see straight to Bellagio. It's conveniently located in a quiet town with a 5 minute drive to Menaggio or 10 minute ferry ride to Bellagio. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone and plan to stay here next time I'm in Como!!

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Charming older hotel on busy main road next to the lake. Ask for upper floor room with views of the lake from the balcony. Large rooms were very comfortable. Street noise, but not bothersome to us. Family run business with lively, amusing host who was very efficient and helpful. Don't miss Villa Carlotta just down the street, and it's exquisite botanical gardens. From here, easy ferry rides to Varenna and Bellagio which are the main attractions. If you have time, it's worth a hike to the castle ruins above Varenna for spectacular lake views.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe East, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in July 2013 as one of 11 Intrepid Tour guests. A friend and I were fortunate enough to have scored a spacious room overlooking Lake Como. The decor of our twin room was clean, very tidy and modern. As we were so close to the road we did find it noisy day and night but earplugs took care of that. There is an adjoining dining room where we ate breakfast and had one dinner there. The food was delicious with adequate portions and well priced. Service from all the staff throughout our visit was fantastic. This boutique hotel is located close to other eating places, a small grocery market and the ferry terminal to take you across the lake to other beautiful towns. I would certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during our visit to the Lake Como region and found this small hotel met all of our needs. The family run business simply could not do enough for us and made us feel very welcome from the start. The rooms are well appointed, very clean, free WiFi, and many with amazing lake views as did ours. Overall the property represents great value whilst not forgetting the perfect location for all your touring in and around Lake Como and surrounds. Great value, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Having previously stayed for five days a while back and found this hotel excellent in all respects, my wife and I opted to stay for ten days for our recent vacation. We were not disappointed. The same family owns and runs this hotel in an efficient but very friendly, relaxed and personal way. Our room was large,clean, airy, well apponted and comfortable with lovely views of Lake Como. Everything was done to ensure that our stay was a happy one.
Nothing was too much trouble. To illustrate this, at the end of our visit we discovered that our flight from Milan to the U.K. had been concelled. But thanks to the combined efforts of the family members wew were able to get on another flight at short notice. That is great service.

Room Tip: All rooms have lake views but second floor rooms also have the advantage of a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The room was spacious and clean. The food was delicious especially the croissant (even the french guest said so). Our MPV had a flat tire on our way out of Como but not that far from the hotel. Stranded... we decided to head back to the hotel and Andrea, the host help us communicate with the car rental people in Italian and read our car rental contract and told us what we entitled for signing up for the insurance coverage. We are grateful for such a nice gesture. Flat tire or not, we already decided to come back here for every single year. Hotel Riviera offered the best of everything... the best location, best food and best service. Thank you Andrea for the good times and the bad too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Address: Via Statale Regina, 43, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Hotel Riviera Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.