We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riviera Hotel - LOVED IT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riviera to your Saves list
Hotel Riviera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Statale Regina, 43, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Petaluma, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Riviera Hotel - LOVED IT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Lake Como area of Italy is outstanding and so is the little Riviera Hotel - right on main street with a little traffic noise but the scene out our window looking at Bellagio was breath taking. Andrea and his family were the most welcoming of all our inn keepers during our 5 week tour. The restaurant was delicious, the access to the fairy was perfect and the room was comfortable. So happy with our stay we made special notes in our travel log to remember it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    37
    9
    7
    8
See reviews for
6
49
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

2night stay. Free wifi with signal in lounge only
1hr on cramped bus from Como station. Bus stop outside hotel door.
Breakfast adequate. Good restaurant attached. Outdoor dining by lake available and recommended.
Excellent location for ferries and transit to other villages around Como.
Excellent lake view without obstruction. A little road noise but not overly distruptive.
If lake view room, ensure blockout curtains are FULLY closed as it gets very bright in morning.
Clean, comfortable. Great little mercato next door for basic supplies and drinks by the lake.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I am an artist, and had asked in advance if we could have a room with a view of Bellagio. Well we had a terrace, with a breath-taking of Bellagio. I could not have been more pleased. Breakfast was included, and it was great!!! yogart, meat, cheese,breads,fruit, etc. We were on the second floor--we just used the big staircase, but there is an elevator. Very important, they have parking, and as I remember it was free. The restaurant at the hotel is good, serving local specialties. The boats to Bellagio and other ports is just a few blocks from the hotel. The only drawback is, that it is right on the lake, on a busy two lane road. Traffic was a little noisy in the morning, but we did not hear it at night. Not really a problem for us. We sat out on the porch in the evening with a bottle of wine and drank in the beautiful view of Lk Como!!

Room Tip: Room on second floor or higher with a porch and a view of Bellagio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights recently while travelling around Italy. It was old but the room size was fine but without any of the reported views across the lake as our room was at the back of the hotel. It is very noisy as it is located along the main road and you needed to have a window open to get some fresh air.

The wifi only worked if you sat in reception which is not very convenient when your room is on the third floor.

The biggest issue was the fact that the first night there was a storm and during the night I woke up wet from dripping from the ceiling near the window. It was very annoying to have the dripping noise all night which kept splashing onto me so much so that I had to move the bed further away from the window. I reported this to staff in the morning and they acted very surprised. I looked more closely when I returned to my room to find that there was significant evidence of water damage that would have happened over time not jsut overnight. I was very disappointed by their attitude.

I would not stay there again and in fact Cadennabbia would not be my first choice as a location in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed for few days only at this lake front hotel.And I am glad we did not stay a night longer!
Staff are friendly and welcoming !
But that can not compensate for the rest.
Even if you overlook the shabby and dated decor,the musky smell of rooms and the never attended front desk-you can't fail to notice how noisy the place is.Rest Is impossible!
If you go to bed before 1am-good luck falling asleep at all! If its not the traffic from outside,it will be the inconsiderate shouting and dragging of furniture from the restaurant bellow,or the noise from any of the hotel rooms-joke aside-we heard from snorring,to toilet flush,water running ,chatting -the lot!And not as whispers-it felt like one large open plan room with at least 10 other people.
At over €85 per night is well overpriced for what it is.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

In June 2010 we visited here for the first time and promised we would return, This we did at the end of June 2011 but not for one week - for two weeks. This is not a state of the art, modern, marble and glass residence - it's charm lies in its quaintness of style. Anyway, how much time does one spend in a hotel when based in such a superb location with buses and boats to hand. Access to all parts of the lake provide countless opportunities for enjoying this lovely part of the world. Family run with good standards of cleanliness and a warm friendly atmosphere it provides a welcoming space in which to enjoy the surroundings. I guess different people want different things from a hotel but this one suits us - an older couple who don't want to be out clubbing every night . If you want a treat go on the Bernina Mountain Express trip into Switzerland! Ask for room 6 - it's the room with the view! straight across the lake towards Bellagio and there is nothing nicer than sitting on the balcony in the evening with a cool drink watching the world go by. Try it- you will be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: ask for room 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Address: Via Statale Regina, 43, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Hotel Riviera Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.