We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Cadenabbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Cadenabbia to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina, 1, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fab Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We travelled with Shearings for a Holiday to Lake Como for Christmas and New Year. What a fabulous time we had. The Hotel was great - though I would definitely recommend a Lake View Room, we had a look at one of the others before choosing to upgrade and I am glad we did. The Lake View rooms are much more fresh and airy (and obviously you wake up to a stunning view to boot). The Staff are really helpful and friendly. Although we had organised Tours booked, you can easily get around on the bus and visit other towns along the lake. We took a bus into Milagio and got a ferry across the lake to Belagio there are some lovely little cobbled winding streets to investigate which hosts lots of authentic Italian cafe's. Its not expensive and a good way to visit different towns. The buffet style food service can be a bit off putting, but there is plenty of it and really tasty. We were served at the table for the Christmas and New Year Gala Dinners and with each one being 7 courses the Staff did a wonderful job getting everyone served quickly and with the food still being hot. I would definitely go again, I fell in love with the place.

Room Tip: A Lake View room is a must. You pay a bit extra for it but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    250
    129
    58
    27
See reviews for
86
332
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

A large hotel - a little daunting at first. The staff were friendly and helpful and the bedroom very comfortable with a wonderful lakeview and balcony. The restaurant is something to behold - don't be put off by the size as the food is actually very good indeed.

Room Tip: Pay for a lakeview and balcony - it's worth it as the lake looks different every day and you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

On your first visit to the dining area, you are apt to be dismayed by the appearance of the food served buffet-style, but be assured that some of it is glorious. For instance, I have never asted more delicious pesto than was on offer one evening. The mushroom pasta, full of exquisitely tender mushrooms, was comparably wonderful, and I also much enjoyed the grilled monkfish. The hot vegetables are commonly overcooked to the point of unrecognizability, so it's prudent to stick with the cold ones -- the sliced aubergine and artichokes, for instance. The cold fusilli salad, laden with olives and artichokes and hot peppers, was also delicious. (I don;t eat land animals, and am unable to comment on the pork, lamb, and beef, except to say, as above, that they don't look terribly appetizing in the huge trays in which they're offered.)

The dining room itself is quite magnificent, with a very high, very ornate ceiling, and a fantastic chandelier. And the staff, as elsewhere in the hotel, are immensely charming, with the exception of those who dish up the food. The latter can be downright surly.

I have a couple of wee gripes. In the shower (in which, wonderfully, there's abundant very hot water), there's no little shelf on which to put soap. And the WiFi can be maddeningly inconsistent. Moreover, the hotel ought not to present the same musician/sjnger, performing exactly the same repertoire, every night. However much we enjoyed him the first night, we were pretty tired of him by the fourth.

I should note that if octogenarians from Yorkshire aren't your cup of tea, you might wish you'd chosen another hotel. I have never heard "were" substituted for "was" so many times over any for-day period in my life. :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We prepaid for three nights accommodationfor a wedding we were attending in early September. When we arrived, we were given a musty old room in the back basement which looked onto a sewer. When we complained, we were told that there was no manager on site and that no other rooms would be available until the next afternoon. It was shocking that such a room even existed, let alone offered to guests at a normal rate. We could hear the sewer water pouring down all night. The staff was super unfriendly and when we were given another room the next day, the AC did not work. If you enjoy spending $200 CAD a night to sleep in a sewer, then this is the right hotel for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cadenabbia di Griante hotels

Culver City, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This hotel was built in the 1920s and looks quite charming and beautiful. Despite some small wear and tear to the hotel, we were quite comfortable here. Our room was on the first floor (just above the lobby) and facing the lake. Our room had a very nice large patio where we could sit and enjoy the view. We ate our dinners out here when the weather was nice. We had a great time here. We really enjoyed the breakfasts up on the 5th floor. The food and service were just right. We would highly recommend staying here. Most of the guests are from tour groups, many of them from Ireland or England, so it was quite fun and interesting to meet them.

Room Tip: choose first floor triple room facing the lake. The patio is huge. You wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

just back from staying at this hotel - laws with travel dept and where last visitors to leave before it closed for winter. dinner each evening was very good. extensive salad buffet followed by second and third served at table and then desert buffet. breakfast was ok but could have done with fresh fruit juice rather than concentrated

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Hotel was ideally located as very close to ferries and bus stops. The staff were really helpful and friendly. I had a room with a lake view and I feel it was worthwhile to pay the extra for this as it was lovely to look at the lake at different times of the day.

Room Tip: Room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Cadenabbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cadenabbia

Address: Via Regina, 1, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Cadenabbia 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Cadenabbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Grand Cadenabbia Hotel
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Cadenabbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.