We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming service, and some surprisingly wonderful food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Cadenabbia

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Cadenabbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina, 1, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Charming service, and some surprisingly wonderful food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

On your first visit to the dining area, you are apt to be dismayed by the appearance of the food served buffet-style, but be assured that some of it is glorious. For instance, I have never asted more delicious pesto than was on offer one evening. The mushroom pasta, full of exquisitely tender mushrooms, was comparably wonderful, and I also much enjoyed the grilled monkfish. The hot vegetables are commonly overcooked to the point of unrecognizability, so it's prudent to stick with the cold ones -- the sliced aubergine and artichokes, for instance. The cold fusilli salad, laden with olives and artichokes and hot peppers, was also delicious. (I don;t eat land animals, and am unable to comment on the pork, lamb, and beef, except to say, as above, that they don't look terribly appetizing in the huge trays in which they're offered.)

The dining room itself is quite magnificent, with a very high, very ornate ceiling, and a fantastic chandelier. And the staff, as elsewhere in the hotel, are immensely charming, with the exception of those who dish up the food. The latter can be downright surly.

I have a couple of wee gripes. In the shower (in which, wonderfully, there's abundant very hot water), there's no little shelf on which to put soap. And the WiFi can be maddeningly inconsistent. Moreover, the hotel ought not to present the same musician/sjnger, performing exactly the same repertoire, every night. However much we enjoyed him the first night, we were pretty tired of him by the fourth.

I should note that if octogenarians from Yorkshire aren't your cup of tea, you might wish you'd chosen another hotel. I have never heard "were" substituted for "was" so many times over any for-day period in my life. :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    225
    118
    54
    25
See reviews for
80
299
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We prepaid for three nights accommodationfor a wedding we were attending in early September. When we arrived, we were given a musty old room in the back basement which looked onto a sewer. When we complained, we were told that there was no manager on site and that no other rooms would be available until the next afternoon. It was shocking that such a room even existed, let alone offered to guests at a normal rate. We could hear the sewer water pouring down all night. The staff was super unfriendly and when we were given another room the next day, the AC did not work. If you enjoy spending $200 CAD a night to sleep in a sewer, then this is the right hotel for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cadenabbia di Griante hotels

Culver City, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This hotel was built in the 1920s and looks quite charming and beautiful. Despite some small wear and tear to the hotel, we were quite comfortable here. Our room was on the first floor (just above the lobby) and facing the lake. Our room had a very nice large patio where we could sit and enjoy the view. We ate our dinners out here when the weather was nice. We had a great time here. We really enjoyed the breakfasts up on the 5th floor. The food and service were just right. We would highly recommend staying here. Most of the guests are from tour groups, many of them from Ireland or England, so it was quite fun and interesting to meet them.

Room Tip: choose first floor triple room facing the lake. The patio is huge. You wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

just back from staying at this hotel - laws with travel dept and where last visitors to leave before it closed for winter. dinner each evening was very good. extensive salad buffet followed by second and third served at table and then desert buffet. breakfast was ok but could have done with fresh fruit juice rather than concentrated

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Hotel was ideally located as very close to ferries and bus stops. The staff were really helpful and friendly. I had a room with a lake view and I feel it was worthwhile to pay the extra for this as it was lovely to look at the lake at different times of the day.

Room Tip: Room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Having just come back from a very enjoyable few days in the Lake Como district, I will add a few comments and impressions. We travelled with the travel Department our second trip with the same company. We have no complaints at all about the trip. We had just two organised outings, one to Milan and the other to San Moritz. Some thought there could have been more of these organised tours but for us it was lovely to have a few free days to potter around and find our own way. It is very easy to get around as there are so many forms of transport.

We stayed at the grand hotel cadinabbia. Some of the tour stayed in the other hotel in tremiso the Bazzoni. It’s about a 10 minute walk between the two. The cadinabbia is an ok hotel. Staff are ok, rooms clean but slightly jaded and dated. Food in the restaurant is fine but you do need a break after a few evenings. I cannot speak about the Bazzoni because we didn’t stay there, but we agreed that it is in a far better location with regard to little shops and restaurants and pizzerias than the Cadinabbia.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We travelled to Lake Como with Riviera Travel and stayed at the Grand Hotel Cadenabbia, which sits at the side of the lake. The views across the lake were stunning. The restaurant and bar were situated on the two top floors and so we were able to breakfast every day and dine every night with views to die for. The meals were included in the trip and were very good and plentiful. Nothing was too much trouble for the waiters who regularly provided exceptional service in the packed restaurant. The room was clean, spacious and had a safe which was useful. The trips arranged by Riviera were extremely good, including St.Moritz and Lake Lugano in Switzerland. If you visit this region do not miss a trip on the Bernina Express. It was wonderful. A very memorable stay in Italy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Cadenabbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cadenabbia

Address: Via Regina, 1, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Cadenabbia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Grand Hotel Cadenabbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Grand Cadenabbia Hotel
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Cadenabbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.