We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second trip to lake como this year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Cadenabbia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Cadenabbia to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina, 1, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“second trip to lake como this year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Hotel was ideally located as very close to ferries and bus stops. The staff were really helpful and friendly. I had a room with a lake view and I feel it was worthwhile to pay the extra for this as it was lovely to look at the lake at different times of the day.

Room Tip: Room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RenaGlennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Having just come back from a very enjoyable few days in the Lake Como district, I will add a few comments and impressions. We travelled with the travel Department our second trip with the same company. We have no complaints at all about the trip. We had just two organised outings, one to Milan and the other to San Moritz. Some thought there could have been more of these organised tours but for us it was lovely to have a few free days to potter around and find our own way. It is very easy to get around as there are so many forms of transport.

We stayed at the grand hotel cadinabbia. Some of the tour stayed in the other hotel in tremiso the Bazzoni. It’s about a 10 minute walk between the two. The cadinabbia is an ok hotel. Staff are ok, rooms clean but slightly jaded and dated. Food in the restaurant is fine but you do need a break after a few evenings. I cannot speak about the Bazzoni because we didn’t stay there, but we agreed that it is in a far better location with regard to little shops and restaurants and pizzerias than the Cadinabbia.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank martingk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We travelled to Lake Como with Riviera Travel and stayed at the Grand Hotel Cadenabbia, which sits at the side of the lake. The views across the lake were stunning. The restaurant and bar were situated on the two top floors and so we were able to breakfast every day and dine every night with views to die for. The meals were included in the trip and were very good and plentiful. Nothing was too much trouble for the waiters who regularly provided exceptional service in the packed restaurant. The room was clean, spacious and had a safe which was useful. The trips arranged by Riviera were extremely good, including St.Moritz and Lake Lugano in Switzerland. If you visit this region do not miss a trip on the Bernina Express. It was wonderful. A very memorable stay in Italy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank juliems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our visit to the Lake Como region was based here. Hotel room was clean, bed was comfortable,shower was small but plenty of hot water, food in the dining room was outstanding,
breakfast and dinner each day was varied and there was plenty of it. Bar on the 4th floor was our group meeting place each night, Good service and reasonable prices. I recommend this hotel.
Drawbacks were few, not much to walk to near hotel, ferry and boat tours are nearby, 5 minutes
to Bellagio by ferry for 5 eu. Wifi in the hotel was frustrating, had to be in the lobby and very patient. Slow connection by US standards, great reason to cut the cord on vacation!

Room Tip: There are rooms on floors between floors 1&2 and 2&3, 1/2 and 1 1/2?? Reuires stairs after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aebcpama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

As with a lot of other reviewers we stayed here as our base with Riviera. Our room 333 on the third floor faced the back gardens and was very quiet. The room was perfectly fine, 2 single beds made into a double and very comfortable, bedside tables, a double wardrobe with safe, and a dressing table with a mini bar.
The bathroom was fairly large with a shower (great water pressure) toilet, bidet and sink. Towels were large and were changed every day. Hairdrier in the bathroom no good - bring your own.
The food in the dining room was very good with plenty of choice both for breakfast and dinner.
The only fault I could find is the bar area which is too formal and not a relaxing place to unwind after a day's sightseeing. Perhaps the hotel should think about relocating it to the ground floor where there is a huge sitting area.
Right on the main busy road but only a short walk either way to friendly bars/cafes and an excellent location for boat trips on the beautiful lake.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank lovetoholiday2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a fairly typical Italian hotel in as much as the rooms aren't always 4 star looking, however, if you want a clean comfy bed, hot shower and a peaceful night sleep you will be happy here. The dining room is run with military precision, the food is outstanding, even for a veggie and the views from the massive picture windows overlooking the lake and mountains are beyond words. The hotel bar is expensive though the pouring is very generous! Loads of outside space to sit and relax whilst looking at those stunning views and a clean and pretty pool area. I went with riviera travel company, who were fabulous and I would recommend them as the daily trips taken showed off this area to great effect.

Room Tip: Although a lake front room would be a tempting idea you will be overlooking a busy road or maybe the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We travelled with friends with Riviera Travel for a weeks holiday at this hotel. It is a large hotel and we chose rooms at the back which both had garden views and were extremely quiet. We had a large bathroom, though with a handheld shower only, something you have to get used to. The meals were very good and the service very good in the restaurants and at reception. The hotel is directly on a main road so traffic noise is a problem if you choose a lake view room. The local little cafes and bars are very nice and friendly. We felt the holiday was very good value when you consider that all the trips are included and were very informative. We would recommend this hotel. Any questions, please feel free to ask.

Room Tip: If you want quiet rooms, choose a room at the back, much cheaper too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TessEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenabbia di Griante
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#5 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3.5 of 5 stars 2,164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 stars 702 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#5 of 10 in Menaggio
4.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bazzoni et du Lac
Hotel Bazzoni et du Lac
#8 of 8 in Tremezzina
3.5 of 5 stars 482 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 stars 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cadenabbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cadenabbia

Address: Via Regina, 1, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Cadenabbia 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Cadenabbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Grand Cadenabbia Hotel
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing