We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel & service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Cadenabbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Cadenabbia to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina, 1, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our visit to the Lake Como region was based here. Hotel room was clean, bed was comfortable,shower was small but plenty of hot water, food in the dining room was outstanding,
breakfast and dinner each day was varied and there was plenty of it. Bar on the 4th floor was our group meeting place each night, Good service and reasonable prices. I recommend this hotel.
Drawbacks were few, not much to walk to near hotel, ferry and boat tours are nearby, 5 minutes
to Bellagio by ferry for 5 eu. Wifi in the hotel was frustrating, had to be in the lobby and very patient. Slow connection by US standards, great reason to cut the cord on vacation!

Room Tip: There are rooms on floors between floors 1&2 and 2&3, 1/2 and 1 1/2?? Reuires stairs after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    280
    151
    62
    31
See reviews for
103
376
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

As with a lot of other reviewers we stayed here as our base with Riviera. Our room 333 on the third floor faced the back gardens and was very quiet. The room was perfectly fine, 2 single beds made into a double and very comfortable, bedside tables, a double wardrobe with safe, and a dressing table with a mini bar.
The bathroom was fairly large with a shower (great water pressure) toilet, bidet and sink. Towels were large and were changed every day. Hairdrier in the bathroom no good - bring your own.
The food in the dining room was very good with plenty of choice both for breakfast and dinner.
The only fault I could find is the bar area which is too formal and not a relaxing place to unwind after a day's sightseeing. Perhaps the hotel should think about relocating it to the ground floor where there is a huge sitting area.
Right on the main busy road but only a short walk either way to friendly bars/cafes and an excellent location for boat trips on the beautiful lake.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a fairly typical Italian hotel in as much as the rooms aren't always 4 star looking, however, if you want a clean comfy bed, hot shower and a peaceful night sleep you will be happy here. The dining room is run with military precision, the food is outstanding, even for a veggie and the views from the massive picture windows overlooking the lake and mountains are beyond words. The hotel bar is expensive though the pouring is very generous! Loads of outside space to sit and relax whilst looking at those stunning views and a clean and pretty pool area. I went with riviera travel company, who were fabulous and I would recommend them as the daily trips taken showed off this area to great effect.

Room Tip: Although a lake front room would be a tempting idea you will be overlooking a busy road or maybe the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We travelled with friends with Riviera Travel for a weeks holiday at this hotel. It is a large hotel and we chose rooms at the back which both had garden views and were extremely quiet. We had a large bathroom, though with a handheld shower only, something you have to get used to. The meals were very good and the service very good in the restaurants and at reception. The hotel is directly on a main road so traffic noise is a problem if you choose a lake view room. The local little cafes and bars are very nice and friendly. We felt the holiday was very good value when you consider that all the trips are included and were very informative. We would recommend this hotel. Any questions, please feel free to ask.

Room Tip: If you want quiet rooms, choose a room at the back, much cheaper too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hotel was lovely..Housekeeping was immaculate....Food delicious...Highly recommend !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The restaurant staff extremely accommadating....Location on lake superb....Did not use spa or fitness center so unable to comment on these 2 issues.....

Room Tip: ask for balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, right on the side of Lake Como, a great location with good local amenities; the staff are wonderful but beware not all the rooms are up to 4 star standard!

When we booked the holiday, through Riviera Travel, no room upgrades were available but I was confident that a 4 star hotel would provide a good standard, unfortunately this is not the case in terms of the bedroom. Many of the other guests told us of large comfortable beds with great views from their windows, we had a twin room with narrow single beds which were far from comfortable. There was a en-suite bath but no shower (there was a hand held version), no pictures on the walls, no mirror for a dressing table. The view from our windows was of a fire escape and a gravel path! (not as promised in their presentation) More 2.5 star than 4 star for this room (149).

Having said that the food in the restaurant was of a good standard with multiple choices on all courses; the staff were particularly friendly and helpful as they are in the bar both of which provide wonderful views of the lake and both have excellent terraces.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Paying the extra for a Lake view is the key to an enjoyable stay at this still quite elegant hotel. Booking - in was fast, courteous and we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful apart from the night porter who was both rude and unhelpful. The room safe was free but proved to be very temperamental - a bit like the night porter! Cases were taken down for us at the end of our stay but we had to haul them up at the start. The rooms were of a reasonable size, clean and comfortable. The television was tiny and only had BBC World News and CNN as english speaking channels. Take a good book with you. Bathroom shower was very small. The public areas were very elegant with ample seating and with painting and sculptural pieces scattered around. There was also a very large roof terrace which looks down onto the swimming pool area set in a well kept garden. Lift to the fourth floor and out through the bar area brings you on to the terrace. Pleasant bar but expensive. Foodwise, breakfast was a buffet with a large selection of cold meats, cheeses, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, three or four different breads and a variety of pastries. The cooked selection, bacon, small sausage and a scrambled/omelette egg concoction which was nicer than it sounds. Good coffee, hot milk and a large selection of herbal, fruit and ordinary teas. Evening meal, buffet starter and desert with the pasta and main course served at your table. Service was friendly, efficient and if you dined early, never a problem with queuing. Around 7pm seemed to be a good time. Food was hot and of a good standard and the rooftop dinning room had good views over the lake to Bellagio. Wine starts at 20 euros, beer and water 4 euros. The road that runs along the lakeside was very busy and there was some noise from it but then every hotel that fronts onto the Lake has the same problem. Walking along the side of the Lake was very pleasant, however, the path does run out and you have to cross a very busy road fairly regularly. Very little in Cadennabia other than a few shops and cafes. It is geared for the more mature traveller but is a good centre to tour the surrounding area. There were some interesting but steep walks away from the busy road. Route suggestions, timetables, etc were available from the Information Office which is on the right of the hotel and along towards Tremezzo then on the left beside the ferry stop.The C!0 bus stops regularly at the door of the hotel and 6.40 euros return takes you down to Como which is a lovely old town with plenty to see and do. The funicular at 5.30 euros is an option with some nice walks at the summit. The views are all to the lefthand side when you are seated facing Como. An all day pass which allows you to use any boat around the Lake is a pleasant way to get around at 15 euros or 12 for pensioners. A relaxing friendly comfortable Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenabbia di Griante
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#5 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3.5 of 5 stars 1,895 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
4.5 of 5 stars 932 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#4 of 10 in Menaggio
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bazzoni et du Lac
Hotel Bazzoni et du Lac
#8 of 8 in Tremezzina
3.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
#1 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa La Mirabella
Villa La Mirabella
#1 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
5.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cadenabbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cadenabbia

Address: Via Regina, 1, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Cadenabbia 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Cadenabbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Grand Cadenabbia Hotel
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Cadenabbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.