We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most definitely NOT a 4*” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Cadenabbia

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Cadenabbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina, 1, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Kilcullen, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Most definitely NOT a 4*”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I had read the reviews before I went but thought maybe they were exaggerated but they most definitely were not!!!! I know & understand that an Italian 4* is not the same as an Irish 4* but in ANY language this was no more than a 2*. Ok, the location was great but apart from that there was NOTHING else going for it. There were a handful of very nice & helpful staff, the food wasn't great, the balcony I paid extra for had neither a light for evening reading nor any kind of roof or cover for the frequent rain. The entertainment was enough to put anyone to sleep. A pianist a few nights during the week. That was it. The 3* down the road seemed to be far superior. The wifi only worked when you were down in reception & the code only worked for 4 hours so you constantly had to queue at re epsilon to ask for a new code. I ended up in a lovely little cafe down the road where the wifi was without limits & I only had to ask for the password once! In this day & age I think this is ridiculous. An old fashioned, outdated hotel that needs to revamp itself in every aspect. I spoke to others people also staying there who had travelled quiet a bit of Italy & they were also extremely disappointed in this hotel. I could go on & on about my disappointment in this hotel but I won't waste any more of my time or yours. Just don't go there!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    248
    121
    60
    26
See reviews for
76
284
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just spent a week, at the end of August, in the grand hotel Cadenabbia with our 14 month old daughter. Found the hotel to be clean and comfortable with an old world charm. The staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. There were not all that many families there with young children but the staff were very accommodating and our daughter loved all the attention she received from staff and fellow guests. Hotel is well located with stunning views and good transport links to other villages and towns.
The food was good considering the amount of people being catered for. All in all we had a lovely relaxing holiday which we would go on again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from the Grand Hotel where we enjoyed a family christening. The hotel itself reminds me of one of the old fashioned but elegant hotels you might find in Brighton except with the stunning Italian lakes as a back drop . The rooms were very nice with ours on two levels with a bathroom up stairs and bedroom down an a largish balcony commanding an amazing view over the lake and mountains in the distance . The hotel has a nice but smallish pool. The terrace is amazing with another mouth opening awesome view. The restaurant was also good with a lot of choices for breakfast and some delicious different Italian foods for the christening buffet which seemed never ending .Somewhere I would love to go back to.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is way overated at FOUR star,the entrance looks very grand but sadly has never seen a hoover or duster in a very VERY long time ,cobwebs everwhere,although our room was clean but alas the air conditioning didn,t work and being on the end at the side very noisy too,but we did have a lake view (room 358). The dining room looked as if it was set for a wedding,very impersonal and the food was very repetitive and boring and very small portions unless of course you loaded up on the buffet antipasti and dessert which were the same every night,hence we stopped eating there. The swimming pool was difficult to get to fourth floor then across sundecking,down a spiral staircase onto a steep path through woodland and through a garden on the ground floor,not sure how often this was cleaned either,no changing facilities/showers or toilets. This hotel caters for very many coach tours and just did not justify the four star rating for cleanliness or food and is in need of a lot of TLC to bring it upto standard.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

stayed 3 nights at this hotel in july ,read some negative reviews but we had a very pleasant stay,loved the view from the top floor resteraunt .quiet rooms comfy bed will return.great location for the ferry boat across to bellagio which is a must visit town lots of nice little shops and resteraunts.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Hotel room was exactly as described and shown in the picture.

Lovely location. Easy access to the ferries. Wonderful view of Lake Como from the rooms. Major downside, no internet access in the rooms!

Room Tip: I recommend staying in any of the suites. The executive rooms are a bit small and choked
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in August 2013. It is a very pleasant hotel in a good location. The area is quiet and all the better for it, no hassle from anybody trying to sell you something and you can reach many beautiful places easily using local transport.
While the rooms are a little small our bathroom was fantastic, a good size with a really powerful shower, something I usually miss when we're away. We paid extra for a lake view with balcony. While the view is fantastic be aware that there is a main road between your balcony and the lake, so noise can be an issue. It didn't bother us but it may bother some people. In-room tea making facilities would have been nice for an hotel of this standard but that' just being a bit picky. The food was excellent. For those not used to travelling in Italy be aware that international cuisine can be hard to find, it's usually Italian or Italian! A special word for the staff who, from the cleaners, the reception staff and the dining room staff were all really conscientious and polite. We'll never forget the delightful terrace where pre-dinner drinks while watching the sun go down over the lake is simply fantastic.
This hotel was booked as part of a tour by Riviera travel (an excellent tour with a knowledgeable and helpful guide, Elizabeth) and we were delighted they chose it. I fully recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Cadenabbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cadenabbia

Address: Via Regina, 1, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Cadenabbia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Cadenabbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Grand Cadenabbia Hotel
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Cadenabbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.