We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Cadenabbia

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Cadenabbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina, 1, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Hotel room was exactly as described and shown in the picture.

Lovely location. Easy access to the ferries. Wonderful view of Lake Como from the rooms. Major downside, no internet access in the rooms!

Room Tip: I recommend staying in any of the suites. The executive rooms are a bit small and choked
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    228
    119
    54
    25
See reviews for
80
305
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in August 2013. It is a very pleasant hotel in a good location. The area is quiet and all the better for it, no hassle from anybody trying to sell you something and you can reach many beautiful places easily using local transport.
While the rooms are a little small our bathroom was fantastic, a good size with a really powerful shower, something I usually miss when we're away. We paid extra for a lake view with balcony. While the view is fantastic be aware that there is a main road between your balcony and the lake, so noise can be an issue. It didn't bother us but it may bother some people. In-room tea making facilities would have been nice for an hotel of this standard but that' just being a bit picky. The food was excellent. For those not used to travelling in Italy be aware that international cuisine can be hard to find, it's usually Italian or Italian! A special word for the staff who, from the cleaners, the reception staff and the dining room staff were all really conscientious and polite. We'll never forget the delightful terrace where pre-dinner drinks while watching the sun go down over the lake is simply fantastic.
This hotel was booked as part of a tour by Riviera travel (an excellent tour with a knowledgeable and helpful guide, Elizabeth) and we were delighted they chose it. I fully recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

On arrival one cannot but be impressed by the very large lobby area with fine furnishings and some nice art work. Location on Lake Como is superb. It was hughly disappointing when we arrived at our rooms to find that they were small and poorly furnished. A/C was very ineffective.
The dining room is excellent with great views of the lake and the alps and Bellagio across the way. Breakfast was more than adequate and the evening meal was very good. There was a very small swimming pool and no gym. The price of both wine and water were on the very high side.
Staff were very helpful and anxious to please. It is hard to sum up this hotel as it is a tale of contrasts. A friend was staying in a single room which was totally inadequate and claustrophobic.
To charge a single room supplement for such a room is totally unjust and tour operators should guard against this type of ripoff. Still overall a good experience.

Room Tip: It is hard to give advice because ther is a big variety of rooms but be on the lookout for the shoeb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Yes, this hotel has lots of maintenance issues that could make it spectacular (see Hotel Tremezzo two doors down...same exact hotel, nicer finish >$1k/night). Instead we had a reasonable price with deck and view of the lake for much less than half the price. So the floor needed a new coat of varnish! oh well. The staff was great, the complementary Breakfast was super (and the dining room was perfectly decorated and maintained). One disappointment was the pool....but really, the lake is what you're there for. And the Dinner prices were extravagant...we didn't eat there.

Room Tip: We had the one on the second floor. Had Balcony and view of lake (room 206?).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I'm not sure that I recognise this hotel from some of the earlier reports as the same one that I stayed in from August3rd-10th. I found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and the all of the staff helpful and polite. The reception area was pleasant and well used. As someone who paid to go to the concert there I am amazed that people found it unreasonable that they were unable to sit there without paying! We did not want to sit in the bar area on karioke night but just went elsewhere as other people clearly enjoyed it. Our room was on the third floor overlooking the garden/pool area. It was a pleasant room, a good size and very quiet with a nice view. The bathroom was fine and a good size. The views from the dining room and terrace area were fantastic. I missed having more places to go after dinner in the evening but it was easy to go over to Bellagio on the regular ferry or up to Mennagio. The local buses down to Como are very good value, air-condotioned and punctual and Como was a lovely little city. The villas and gardens around the lake are stunning and would also urge you to visit Varrenna. I had a great time in Cadenabbia and would recommend the hotel. Much of the earlier reviews are misleading in my opinion.

Room Tip: Unless you really want a lake view, book a back room. Room335 was lovely with three French windows a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I can fully understand all of the reviews on TA, good and bad.

Let's start with the good:

- The location on the lake is fantastic, and the views from our room, and from the bar and restaurant, were superb.
- The hotel is quite grand from the outside and the lobby is fine, too.
- Breakfast was adequate and the selection was good.
- Cadenabbia is less touristy then, for example, Bellagio.
- It's clean and the bathrooms are modern

But unfortunately, there was some bad too:

- The rooms don't equate to your expectation after the grand lobby and high-ish prices. Some decor would go a long way. Ours was small, and I got the feeling it used to be 1 room which was split into two.
- The airconditioning is not effective.
- There is only wifi in a small part of the lobby, and that's it.
- Check in is slow because there is only 1 person at the desk.

The whole experience was interesting as there was nothing that I could say outraged me, I just felt a little let down (especially when we walked into the plainest little room in the world). The hotel seems to cater for retirees staying for a fortnight and I am sure it is perfectly suited for them. But as for the finesse of every other 4-star hotel I have stayed at, this place had none. It struck me as a property owned by someone far away who doesn't really have a grip on providing fine experiences in a hotel. If they jazzed up the room decor a bit, fixed the wifi, and took down school-like instruction signs (like those at breakfast forbidding you to remove anything from the dining room) they might have a viable proposition to return. But until then it will remain the preserve of tour busses and older people taking that dream vacation.

If we end up at Lake Como again (which we probably won't - we've seen it now) we almost certainly wouldn't stay at this property again, not because it was terrible, but because there are lots of other places to try, many of whom are more interested in seeing you and your Euro/Pound/Whatever.

Room Tip: Make sure you've paid for a lake view, or prepared to be terribly depressed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Many of the reviews about this hotel are correct, but a few small things could make it better.

The reception area is large with many settees dotted around, although the best Wi-Fi could only be accessed from two of these seating areas. Entertainment one night in the reception area was a pianist, there was a charge for sitting in a roped area off 10 euros, otherwise in the bar on the 4th floor there was an artist, and a lady trying to sell dresses, non of which interested us.

Like many previous holiday makers I did not find any of the staff helpful, although I must admit this does not bother me much, if the reception staff were standing behind a desk instead of sitting down hiding behind a high desk it would probably help.

It may take a bit of time to find the pool, we were on the third floor, from there we could access a fire escape go up two flight of stairs, walk across the upper sunbathing area until you find another set of stairs going down, once down slide down to grass verges, and there you are, a very small but adequate pool, but of course do not enjoy the assault course back to our room. And being on the third floor our ceiling was below the bar area, until at least 12pm the footsteps and chairs scraping were undeniable.

Lake Como is beautiful but we would of preferred one of the other resorts. After dinner we enjoy a good walk, but out of the hotel you turn right or left, and within a short time you take your life in your hands to walk through a narrow gauge with extremely fast traffic only inches from you walking in single file, needless to say we gave up on that idea.

Loved Lake Como but not the area or hotel.

Room Tip: Do not except room 318- 320 if you want an early night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Cadenabbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cadenabbia

Address: Via Regina, 1, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Cadenabbia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Cadenabbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Grand Cadenabbia Hotel
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Cadenabbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.