We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Four Star Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Cadenabbia

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Cadenabbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina, 1, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin Ireland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Not a Four Star Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

On arrival one cannot but be impressed by the very large lobby area with fine furnishings and some nice art work. Location on Lake Como is superb. It was hughly disappointing when we arrived at our rooms to find that they were small and poorly furnished. A/C was very ineffective.
The dining room is excellent with great views of the lake and the alps and Bellagio across the way. Breakfast was more than adequate and the evening meal was very good. There was a very small swimming pool and no gym. The price of both wine and water were on the very high side.
Staff were very helpful and anxious to please. It is hard to sum up this hotel as it is a tale of contrasts. A friend was staying in a single room which was totally inadequate and claustrophobic.
To charge a single room supplement for such a room is totally unjust and tour operators should guard against this type of ripoff. Still overall a good experience.

Room Tip: It is hard to give advice because ther is a big variety of rooms but be on the lookout for the shoeb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    219
    106
    53
    25
See reviews for
77
285
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Yes, this hotel has lots of maintenance issues that could make it spectacular (see Hotel Tremezzo two doors down...same exact hotel, nicer finish >$1k/night). Instead we had a reasonable price with deck and view of the lake for much less than half the price. So the floor needed a new coat of varnish! oh well. The staff was great, the complementary Breakfast was super (and the dining room was perfectly decorated and maintained). One disappointment was the pool....but really, the lake is what you're there for. And the Dinner prices were extravagant...we didn't eat there.

Room Tip: We had the one on the second floor. Had Balcony and view of lake (room 206?).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I'm not sure that I recognise this hotel from some of the earlier reports as the same one that I stayed in from August3rd-10th. I found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and the all of the staff helpful and polite. The reception area was pleasant and well used. As someone who paid to go to the concert there I am amazed that people found it unreasonable that they were unable to sit there without paying! We did not want to sit in the bar area on karioke night but just went elsewhere as other people clearly enjoyed it. Our room was on the third floor overlooking the garden/pool area. It was a pleasant room, a good size and very quiet with a nice view. The bathroom was fine and a good size. The views from the dining room and terrace area were fantastic. I missed having more places to go after dinner in the evening but it was easy to go over to Bellagio on the regular ferry or up to Mennagio. The local buses down to Como are very good value, air-condotioned and punctual and Como was a lovely little city. The villas and gardens around the lake are stunning and would also urge you to visit Varrenna. I had a great time in Cadenabbia and would recommend the hotel. Much of the earlier reviews are misleading in my opinion.

Room Tip: Unless you really want a lake view, book a back room. Room335 was lovely with three French windows a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I can fully understand all of the reviews on TA, good and bad.

Let's start with the good:

- The location on the lake is fantastic, and the views from our room, and from the bar and restaurant, were superb.
- The hotel is quite grand from the outside and the lobby is fine, too.
- Breakfast was adequate and the selection was good.
- Cadenabbia is less touristy then, for example, Bellagio.
- It's clean and the bathrooms are modern

But unfortunately, there was some bad too:

- The rooms don't equate to your expectation after the grand lobby and high-ish prices. Some decor would go a long way. Ours was small, and I got the feeling it used to be 1 room which was split into two.
- The airconditioning is not effective.
- There is only wifi in a small part of the lobby, and that's it.
- Check in is slow because there is only 1 person at the desk.

The whole experience was interesting as there was nothing that I could say outraged me, I just felt a little let down (especially when we walked into the plainest little room in the world). The hotel seems to cater for retirees staying for a fortnight and I am sure it is perfectly suited for them. But as for the finesse of every other 4-star hotel I have stayed at, this place had none. It struck me as a property owned by someone far away who doesn't really have a grip on providing fine experiences in a hotel. If they jazzed up the room decor a bit, fixed the wifi, and took down school-like instruction signs (like those at breakfast forbidding you to remove anything from the dining room) they might have a viable proposition to return. But until then it will remain the preserve of tour busses and older people taking that dream vacation.

If we end up at Lake Como again (which we probably won't - we've seen it now) we almost certainly wouldn't stay at this property again, not because it was terrible, but because there are lots of other places to try, many of whom are more interested in seeing you and your Euro/Pound/Whatever.

Room Tip: Make sure you've paid for a lake view, or prepared to be terribly depressed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Many of the reviews about this hotel are correct, but a few small things could make it better.

The reception area is large with many settees dotted around, although the best Wi-Fi could only be accessed from two of these seating areas. Entertainment one night in the reception area was a pianist, there was a charge for sitting in a roped area off 10 euros, otherwise in the bar on the 4th floor there was an artist, and a lady trying to sell dresses, non of which interested us.

Like many previous holiday makers I did not find any of the staff helpful, although I must admit this does not bother me much, if the reception staff were standing behind a desk instead of sitting down hiding behind a high desk it would probably help.

It may take a bit of time to find the pool, we were on the third floor, from there we could access a fire escape go up two flight of stairs, walk across the upper sunbathing area until you find another set of stairs going down, once down slide down to grass verges, and there you are, a very small but adequate pool, but of course do not enjoy the assault course back to our room. And being on the third floor our ceiling was below the bar area, until at least 12pm the footsteps and chairs scraping were undeniable.

Lake Como is beautiful but we would of preferred one of the other resorts. After dinner we enjoy a good walk, but out of the hotel you turn right or left, and within a short time you take your life in your hands to walk through a narrow gauge with extremely fast traffic only inches from you walking in single file, needless to say we gave up on that idea.

Loved Lake Como but not the area or hotel.

Room Tip: Do not except room 318- 320 if you want an early night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here as part of a package in late July 2013. The room was tiny, clearly a one person room with two beds squeezed in. Only one person at a time could walk around the room. Given that we were paying the same as the people next to us, they had 50% more space.
Food was good, breakfasts had lots of fruit and views across Lake Como. Evening dining was al fresco if you were cunning and snaffled a table on the terrace, with marvellous views of evening and twinkling lights across the lake. Garden was quiet, pool occasionally busy but a good place to cool off. Lots of sun loungers... Wine list was interesting and quite good value.

Room Tip: ASK about your room if you are booking. Pay a bit more to be sure of space, if you intend spending o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Went to the Grand Hotel Cadenabbia with trepidation after reading some Tripadvisors reports. Not sure if they went to the same hotel! Rooms were more than adequate, meals were extremely palatable and staff exceptionally polite and helpful. The view from the dining room is spectacular. We would definitely recommend it and would not hesitate to return. The only one problem we encountered was the slowness of the lifts, but when you are on holiday time should not be an issue.

Room Tip: Would not worry about having a balcony as they are very small and the road runs alongside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Cadenabbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cadenabbia

Address: Via Regina, 1, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Cadenabbia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Cadenabbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Grand Cadenabbia Hotel
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Cadenabbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.