We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View To Di(n)e For...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Cadenabbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Cadenabbia to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina, 1, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“View To Di(n)e For...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Very nice, elegant hotel right on the waterfront (there is the road to cross). The dining room is huge, but what a view! Dinners are good for hotel food and the view was of a full moon rising over opposite Bellagio. Breakfast, served outside on the terrace in the sunlight, just heaven. Check out the AMAZING gazebo on the 4th floor bad - such a Romantic spot.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    255
    133
    60
    27
See reviews for
89
339
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were on a package holiday with Travel Department. Originally destined for the 3 star Hotel Balzonni, we were upgraded to this 4 star hotel.

The poor points:-

the shower enclosure was on the small side,

the meals were very similar.

The good points:-

there was unlimited and controllable hot water ever time we showered.
H
There was a 4 course meal every night comprising of a buffet salad starter, pasta or soup, a choice of 3 main courses followed by a buffet sweet. The breakfast comprised a buffet selection of hot and cold food. The food was good and the meals were always wholesome, authentic and filling.

The room was spacious and we opted for a balcony. The view was magnificent, overlooking lake Como and the distant Alps. The sheets and towels were changed daily, the double bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was large which is why the small shower enclosure was surprising.

We had a problem with a leaky ceiling (after exceptionally heavy rain), in the middle of the night. The night manager quickly offered us an alternative room for the rest of the night, had the problem fixed and gave us the option of switching rooms. All of this was carried out courteously and with speed.

The staff throughout we're courteous and helpful.

I would recommend the hotel

Room Tip: As far as I am aware there was no fitness centre and the pool was outside and unheated. Although the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed here with Riviera Travel tour group. Had a lovely twin room and large bathroom all to myself for a very reasonable single supplement. Gallons of hot water at any time of day. Very comfortable bed.. Rooms spotless and lovely fluffy towels renewed daily. Food great and service at all times courteous, efficient and friendly. Views from dining room fabulous. One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: I had a room at the back where although I didn't have a view I heard nothing but birds singing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I wont repeat every other detail people have mentioned. I will say that after reading the comments about needing decorating and being shabby prove that some people are never happy. The decor is old fashioned but walking through the door takes you back to an era of maggie smith doing afternoon tea with some old colonel. You could step back into the 1920's here and thats part of the appeal. People clearly missed that.
I have found that Italian hotels are always lacking somewhat in the decor but they make up for it in the service, food, scenery and ambiance.
If you are trying to decide to stay in this hotel look a the tramezzo hotel which is right beside it. In this hotel you have the exact same views for a fraction of the price.
Staff were excellent, food top quality and great value and It was with a very heavy heart that I walked out the door. The simple rooms are totally irrelevant when you open your windows and gasp at the fantastic view. TOTALLY worth the trip. Lovely reception guy and the waiter for dinner was exceptional.

Room Tip: Fourth floor is beside bar and pool and restaurant is on fifth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We spent a long weekend here 4- 8 April. Very nice hotel, extremely friendly staff and ideally placed for exploring Lake Como and Switzerland. We booked in on half board - great breakfast with plenty of choice for all tastes and a fabulous 5 course dinner every evening. Only downside was no tea and coffee making facilities in room but don't let this stop you staying here. Well stocked bar which also serves snacks but expect to pay hotel prices

Room Tip: We booked a lake view room an absolute must if you can as views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just spent an early break in Lake Como at the Grand Hotel Cadenabbia. What a delightful surprise. A beautifu; refurbishedl hotel reflecting all the graciousness of the Grand Tour Iin Tremezzo right across from the delightful romantic town of Belagio in a beautiful location. Excellent service and quality cuisine.Would highly recommend but would travel in May next time as season does not start on Lake Como until mid-April .Excellent base for touring the lake by bus or boat.

Room Tip: Pity it does not have an indoor pool and 'welness centre' I opted for a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmdel, N.J.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here as part of a tour in Oct. In it's day this indeed was a Grand Hotel.....however the decorating definitely needs to be updated. We paid extra for a lakeview room with balcony which gave us a lovely view of the lake....BUT the room was very sparten.....an armoire for a closet & 2 tiny drawers for storage was not enough for a week stay.....night tables were little tin things with tops large enough to hold a paperback book....the bed , however was very comfortable. We were lucky to have adequate hot water since we heard from other guests that they had little or none at times. Food good but we had to wait sometimes since the buffet platters were emptied quickly & not replenished in a timely way. The staff tried their best but management needed to have more help during mealtimes to handle the guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Cadenabbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cadenabbia

Address: Via Regina, 1, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Cadenabbia 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Cadenabbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Grand Cadenabbia Hotel
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Cadenabbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.