We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina 41, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We travelled here for a week in August. Had a great time. Hotel is good. Our only complaint would be the room. A lot of noise in the morning when the bins get emptied and could do with a properly fitted curtain in the bathroom. Try to avoid room 104. Do not buy an upgrade until you are sure you need one. Food and drink good in the restaurant so we decided not to bother with the upgrades. The staff in this hotel are it's greatest asset, especially in the restaurant, they look after everyone very well. The pizza/pasta chef makes the best pizza and pasta. We did use the downstairs bar in the evening but it can get busy with sometimes only one person on the bar. It gets very cold in the bar some evenings, air con way too low. The pools and pool bars are lovely but the weather is unpredictable and they close down in the rain.

Room Tip: The room on the right side of the hotel are above where the bins are, there is a lot of noise early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    518
    387
    206
    227
See reviews for
222
945
63
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The hotel is well situated on Lake Como and it deals with large numbers of holiday makers. It works well and the reason again is good hard working staff. The food is good and there is a good choice in the buffet. There is a bus service and a road mini-train right outside the hotel if you want to explore some of the Lake Como towns and villages. There is also a regular ferry across the lake to the beautiful village of Bellagio for about 10 euro return.

Room Tip: Obviously the lake view rooms are the best view but they are more expensive and a little noisier (b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I had read a few reviews on here which made me a bit worried about what to expect but was pleasantly surprised by it all.

1) Building and facilities - It is a typical 3 star old European hotel. A little bit dated in areas but it seemed perfectly clean. My room was out the back and quite small but perfectly functional. Some of my larger friends struggled with the size of the shower!

The floating pool was beautiful - just a shame in my stay it rained so much. But with that and the Lido lots of places to sunbathe and swim, even in peak season in August

The terrace bar has outstanding views over the lake and th building really is in the most idyllic place.

2) All Inclusive - The bar has caused some issues on here and I can understand why. On a couple of days (normlly when new arrivals) the bar was busy with a long queue. However, they didn't really mind how many drinks you ordered so I just got 2 at a time. It would however, make so much more sense if they had a serve yourself beer tap or put it in bigger glasses.

3) Food - Again, it was a 3 star all inclusive hotel and I think for that it was good. The problem is a lot of the clientele want old fashioned English food so yes if you have the roast beef it may be a bit chewy. However, the salad bars are excellent with lots of fresh salad and veg. The pizza and pasta bars are fine too. Breakfast is probably the "weakest" offering and personally i would like to have seen more fruit.They have tried to cater for the British market and offer bacon, sausages etc but as with all European hotels, naturally it is not quite the same

If food is a concern they do do an All inclusive upgrade which many people were saying was of good quality

All in all I would happily go back. I think they could put wifi in rooms, even at a charge but in general, thoroughly enjoyed it.

Ben

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Travelled to the Britannia Excelsior by overnight express coach with Shearings on the 02/08/14 and checked out on the 08/08/14. Party include myself, my Wife and my Son (23) and Daughter (20). The double room and two singles were very clean and comfortable with TV and plenty of storage. Bathrooms were well prepared and clean. The food was excellent, and as we were all inclusive we took advantage of breakfast lunch and dinner in the hotel. Choice of cooked breakfast (Scrambled egg, bacon, etc) as well as a superb selection of jams, marmalades, local honey, fresh croissants and cereals, with fresh milk. Lunch also had a good variety of cold meats, cheeses including fresh salad and puddings, cakes,Italian ice cream etc including locally produced red and white wine and beer, and fresh cool water. Dinner had similar to lunch with the addition of some to die for freshly made pasta and pizza, soups of the day, freshly made burgers and other meat dishes. The puddings and cakes also included chocolate and vanilla mousses. Plenty of variety for even the most fussy eaters i would say. The waiter service was on par if not better than a few of 4 star hotels I have stayed at over the years, the staff work so hard to serve you as well as take your empty plates, and service is always with a smile and cheery manner. 5 star I would say. The bar, although functional, is not really suited to large volumes of people, and queuing was unavoidable. This is not a criticism on the two young bar staff who did their up most to serve everyone in a timely fashion. My suggestion would be two more staff and open the other bar. The lido floating pool was a favourite and being by the lake the view was even more special when sunbathing. There was also a free bar (10am to 6pm) for all inclusive customers next to the pool. Shearings provided a water shuttle to bellagio free of charge. Bellagio was very charming, and we went there twice to just wander around and take in the italian ambience. Included excursions were a day trip to Milan, not be missed as it is a beautiful city with lots to see, also to Como market and Lugano, Como market being a real piece of italy!! and Lugano our first taste of Switzerland. San Moritz is also an included excursion but you can also include in this a paid trip on the Bernina train which we found so interesting, the scenery was breathtaking, not to be missed. St Moritz was also very interesting. Finally our drivers Alan and Derek were absolutely superb, keeping us all well entertained and very safe on every journey they took us on, and they still kept us smiling!! A very big thank you to them both, keep up the good work!! All in all a great experience for us all, we will be travelling again with shearings, we think they offer such good value.

Room Tip: Try to have a look at your allocated room first before paying upgrade charges as this may save you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We read the various mixed reviews on Tripadvisor and were a little apprehensive regarding this hotel. However, having just returned from a week there we are pleased to say the hotel was fine. Excellent views, great pool (though a little chilly), food varied and tasty. We paid for a balcony, lake view room which was very nice. This is not a five star hotel so rooms are basic, but represent very good value considering the area. The downstairs bar is OK, drinks measures are generous and reasonable quality for 'local' spirits. Overall very pleasant and would return.

Room Tip: Lake view room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

After a long coach journey over night, on arrival to the hotel we found we had to wait 8 hours for our room to be cleaned. However, when we did finally get our room, it was clean, tidy, fairly big and had a balcony overlooking the lake offering stunning views.

The restaurant staff were very efficient, we never had to wait to be seated and were always offered drinks straight away. There was a wide variety of food to suit all tastes, including pizza, pasta, meats, vegetables, salad, bread, fish and a variety of desserts. A couple of evenings we ate out at Belle Isole (a restaurant a few minutes walk up the road). This is a nice restaurant, english spoken, with very friendly staff.

Not much entertainment in the bar of an evening and the bar was dull and tired looking. It could do with updating. However, a wide variety of drinks were available and the bar staff were friendly.

The pools were clean and drinks were available throughout the day until 6 for those with an all inclusive wristband (the bar man at the lido is slightly grumpy!!)

There are lots of lovely towns to visit either by road train, boat or foot which surround the area, these include Bellagio, Menaggio and Tremezzo. We enjoyed Menaggio particularly, were we played crazy golf and visited the lido area where there was music playing and places to eat.

Overall, we recommend this hotel and would definitely return!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a balcony and lake view- it is definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Startford Upon Avon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

“A Wonderful Holiday and Fantastic Value”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 4 days ago NEW
The hotel is located on the edge of Lake Como well renovated with superb facilities and a particularly impressive dining room with a floating pool ; bar and sun deck area.

Breakfast was extremely good, with fresh fruits and juices, fried eggs, and everything you would want for breakfast.Similarly, the food for lunch and dinner was also impressive with a good range of pasta dishes.We were also interested to see so many Italians in the hotel which further underpinned our thoughts on the cuisine.

When it came to relaxing we particularly enjoyed using the floating deck on the Lake where you could also eat and drink.We were told that this is the only facility of its kind in Northern Italy.

The rooms were spacious and well maintained and the housekeeping bar and dining area staff courteous and polite.We requested for an early check-in, it was approved, we request for a late check-out, it was approved , we even asked for a private launch to be arranged for a special event and this was done without any fuss or bother. The staff and the management team could not have been more helpful .The reception personnel were also very helpful advising us on what to do in the area and there is lots to do - the hotel is extremely well located.

I must say that I cannot understand the comments made by a number of other reviewers in respect of this hotel. We had a fantastic experience but I guess that for some people life is always full of woes and the glass is always half empty !

Room Tip: The views from the rooms looking over The Lake are the best you will see anywhere in the world
See more room tips

Room Tip: If you can get a lake facing room they are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior

Address: Via Regina 41, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Excelsior Hotel
Hotel Britannia Excelsior Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.