We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina 41, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

we stayed at this hotel for a week from February 16th.
We stayed last year and this year was even better.
Took our teenage son and was worried he would be bored but we were so wrong.he loved it their were other teanagers for him to talk to and we felt safe enough for him to have his own space.
We travelled with Shearings our Drivers Karen and Bill could not do enough for you they made our holiday great.
Overall fantastic hotel,food location and very lucky if you get Karen and Bill as your Shearings Drivers.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    546
    405
    210
    235
See reviews for
232
992
70
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
carms.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed in the hotel on the 9 th Feb 2014,. I was on a Shearings coach holiday. I have been on the same trip before 4 years ago and loved it. I was not disappointed it was every bit as good as I remembered. The rooms were brilliant staff courteous and always friendly. The hotel is alongside the Lake so most rooms as did mine have beautiful views.

Room Tip: Some of our group paid for upgrade for a room overlooking the lake, I didn't but could still see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Nice hotel located in great place... really nice view over the lake. Spacious room, good breakfast, very friendly staff... We stayed here almost a week during our trip to Italy, Switzerland... and it was great time.

Room Tip: Lake view is great. Ask for room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

shearings overnight coach,great drivers paul n uncle bob,,,,very knowledgeable of EVERY place we went through. Very quick check in,deluxe room that we had pre booked was ready immediatley and what a room! Huge,a large double bed for us and 2 singles together for my adult daughter,2 very good wardrobes with drawers AND hangers!!! extra pillows and clean sheets,,good spacious bathroom but no bath just shower in ours but that was ok for us,plenty of lights and bedside reading lamps on bedside tables,plenty of mirrors and good hairdryer in bathroom, fan in room helped as room was very warm at times but had 2 balcony doors aswell,good uk tv channels, clean towels were left every day on stool at end of bed,maids were lovely and worked very very hard,room wasnt fantastically cleaned but it was fine for a holiday in! dining room was good plenty of seats never struggled to find somewhere,waiters were very efficient,perhaps too much,taking my plate and drinks before we had even finished but did have a laugh about it! food was ok'ish,,breakfast at 7,there was porridge(very nice) toast, cereals, boiled eggs,ham,cheese,rolls,preserves and then at 8 they put out HOT food,streaky bacon,sausages(not english),beans,mushrooms,very yellow scrambled egg!! but it was all fine if you want cooked breakfast,,lunch was choice of meat,fish,pasta, bit of salad,potatoes of some sorts and dinner was of much the same just different meats and fish,desserts were same kinds of cake all week but a great variety of ice creams!! tea n coffee served at the tables arent too good we used the machines to get cappachinos,lattes,chocolate,tea e.t.c. Make sure you get your all.inc wristbands on check in as we didnt and at dinner my husband was asked to got to reception to sort it out before we could eat!! The trips with shearings were great fun even though it rained on couple of days,,the bernina express upto st. moritz seems like alot of money and we had to budget for that but it was absolutely fantastic,the whole holiday was worth it just for that one trip! it was magical,,weve never seen snow that deep before,it was deeper than the coach in places,we saw the skiers,the snow gliders and walkers on the frozen lake,in st.moritz we saw the millionaires shopping with thier security guards and the shops are amazing although most of them we wouldnt have even been let through the door!!! the snowy scenery is breathtaking,,its just unbelieveable but the roads are completely free of snow as they keep everything clear,even the shop roofs are swept of snow so it doesnt drop onto the customers! be sure to take some kind of packed lunch as theres no shops (unless you take your american express) ,the packed lunches from the hotel are edible,we didnt have them but lots did,they consist of couple of rolls with ham or cheese but no butter on from dinig room a bottle of water and pre packed chocolate croissant,,theyre worth getting just for the water! there is a small cheap cafe next to the train station where you can get a coffee n cake or similar if you get time to keep you going. Dont be afraid to go on the train up the mountain if your scared of heights because you wont actually see how high up you go unless you look down in certain spots, its all flat so you dont actually feel like your going uphill and upto the top its all pretty little villages covered in snow. there no nightly entertainment which is a let down really but the bar is big and as paeaceful or loud as you make it,,you can read a book in there at any time or have laughs with others without disturbing anyone else,, the all inc. drinks are good measures and as many as you want including tea and coffee machine in there. theres nothing much to do outside the hotel apart from walk up and down the dark waterside street,theres no shops really maybe 2 tiny ones and a makeshift supermarket shop round the corner for essentials,,theres a nice little pizza place on the opposite corner to the hotel which is cheap n good food and atmosphere. we walked to mellaggio,turn left outside the hotel and keep walking for about an hour and you cant miss it,theres nice little shops and cafes there. the trip to como market was good,theres bargains to be had on there and shops around,,make sure you get receipts for absolutely everything n anything from every shop you go in as the plain clothes police have a new habit of stopping you on the spot to check youve got receipts to prove the shopowners are paying taxes on what they sell and not pocketing the money!!!! cant really comment on the boat tour of the lake cos it threw it down with rain so we couldnt actually see anything through the boat windows but it wasnt that great anyway,we went half way up the lake which we'd already seen from the coach and then across to spend an hour in bellaggio standing about in the freezing rain waiting to get back on board, didnt think it was worth the money but might be better in the sun!! all in all we really enjoyed the holiday,please tip the maids and waiters they do a good job,some of them do 3 or 4 jobs a day,,,well done shearings AGAIN

Room Tip: we had a deluxe room but if you do have the budget i would suggest a deluxe room with lake view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I had to speak to the manager when the loo seat was not fixed after 4 days, it was fixed on Friday left on Saturday night on shearing coach and driver was nasty to me. Time he took a Tour on one of the blue coaches over night and have his knees stuck up against the seat and his knees/ankles aching, then he would kick his shoes off, then Bill the driver would complain no more.

Had a good time and good food at the hotel, buffet style, staff where friendly. Good trips out to Milan and on the train to St. Moritz, also to Bergamo, trip around Lake Como great, Como market like being at home.

€12 for dinner on last night was good value at the hotel

Room Tip: pay for an upgrade when you arrive
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Shearings coach holiday overnight Express journey went well 24 hours in all romford to hotel. slight delay with ferry on way over arrived at hotel 10 am on sun 2 Feb 2013 quick check in lovely room food good all inclusive drinks plentiful and good variety to choose from + teas and coffee from machine .entertainment from Mon/Fri night man on organ really good fun most people joined in oakey cokey conga etc all good fun .included trips out on coach very good option bernina Express well worth it . Got given room on last day to store cases very nice . All in all very good holiday hope to go back next year. Little village above hotel worth the hike up to it just past shop down side turning then up steps went into artist shop owned by a lovely older man so much to see inside also a little bar opposite his shop and a grocery store all worth a look. I would highly recommend this trip as it is very good value thank you to shearings and all hotel staff for a wonderful holiday / sue and friends x

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This has been our first holiday with Shearing,s and to Lake Como Italy. The hotel is just beautiful, our room was lovely, very clean and very spacious and very warm. We didn't bother to upgrade to a "better" room. We were at the back of the hotel and It had wonderful views of the snow capped mountains. The beds were really comfortable. The food was very good with a really good choice of meats both hot and cold and the fish dishes were really good with the sword fish being our favourite with unlimited wine on the table, the The staff were always smiling and happy and very helpful, they couldn't do enough for you. The Shearing's excursions were really nice, the highlight of our stay was the optional trip to St Moritz on the Bernina Express which was fantastic, but the drive back down by coach via the pass was outstanding. Snow stacked up either side of the road and our driver Steve had to put the snow chains on the coach. We cannot praise him enough for his careful skilful driving, it will be a trip we will never forget. Although the weather wasn't good, it rained everyday but one, it didn't spoil a thing the scenery was still breathtaking. We travelled to Lake Como on the Express Coach through the night. It was the first time we have done an overnight coach journey and we found it very uncomfortable with limited leg room. But having said that other people didn't mind it, but we would have an overnight stop in future, oh yes, will be going again. As for Shearing's, we can not fault the organisation of the trip, our feeder coach arrived on time which met up with the main coach at Stop 24 and we only had to wait half an hour before we were on our way. On the return journey we got off of one coach and straight on to the other, brilliant. This has been the best holiday we have had and worth every penny. Our drivers Steve and Derek were really helpful and full of knowledge and Derek has to be king of the coffee and tea makers, Thank you Shearing's.

Room Tip: The back rooms are quieter and just as lovely, we were on the 5th floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior

Address: Via Regina 41, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Excelsior Hotel
Hotel Britannia Excelsior Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.