We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive Mistake!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina 41, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Expensive Mistake!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I recently spent Christmas as this hotel. through Just You holidays.
It was an extremely epensive mistake. Awful room tiny and dirty
allocated on arrival but changed, must sullenly next day. New room had good view but I had
paid a supplement for it when originally booking it! It was classed by the hotel to be "Deluxe",
not my opinion. Plenty of (self-service) food but not good quality. The
hotel put on a special lunch on christmas day, but on entering the dining room all I could
think of was Butlins! Heard many complaints after, apparently it lasted four hours - I did not stay.
Hotel was stated to have been re-furbished but could see nothing of this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    547
    405
    211
    235
See reviews for
233
994
70
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

As we were offered a room upgrade for EUR20 when we arrived, we can say we did indeed enjoy the view of Bellaggio across the Lake. However I would have to say that the food at the Hotel was extremely disappointing. We ate out most days to avoid having to have the buffet lunch or dinner in the restaurant. We were there in off season, and there were no other restaurants open in the town, so we were quite limited on options of a night. Being one of only a few guests during the week, the buffet was rather limp and old looking, however with the influx of a tourist bus on the weekend, the food did seem to improve slightly.

The room was comfortable & clean and did the job. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The location is stunning, right on the Lake and looks out directly to Bellagio.

We got a great deal on this hotel, so in that case it was a good deal, however I wouldn’t recommend this Hotel if I had to pay full price unfortunately. If you have a car that would be great, as the town this hotel is located in does not have much else open in winter. Menaggio however, is about 5 mins up the road and is a lovely spot full of cafes, shops & restaurants which were open even in winter.

Room Tip: We paid EUR20 for a Lake view room, which was lovely and well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cadenabbia di Griante hotels

cumbria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

After reading some of the reviews before we left I wasn't expecting too much.Booked with Shearings and flew from Manchester To Milan on 22rd Dec. Really great that we were met at Manchester by a Shearings rep and pointed to the right check in desk, Flight was with Flybe which was ok no frills. At the Milan end it was a bit chaotic couldn't find rep luckily another rep pointed her out. Eventually we found our way to the coach to discover 2 missing! This was after the Rep asked " Is everyone here"? how do we know we suggested that she do a role call an hour later we were on our way.

The hotel was just beautiful the furniture and the chandeliers were amazing we were offered an upgrade to a Lake view with a Balcony for 60 euro's for the full stay{nearly 2 wks}. The room and the view were just perfect. We were more than happy.

We were given our table in the magnificent dinning room and it did get full and noisy from time to time but the times were flexible the was good. 2 types of pasta and freshly made pizza at lunch and dinner as well as salads. Fish, steak Chicken were cooked individually at the griddle, continental and full English breakfast every meal had something for everyone. If the pizza was dried up you only had to wait 5 minutes for the next one to come out of the oven, you could watch them make it. Beef, lamb, pork, veal were all served at some point during the week,
There was a good mixture of Brits, French Italian and German. Some came for Christmas and went others came for New year. Yes it got noisy but there was about 500 guests.

New years Eve got boring it started a bout 8pm and the desert wasn't served until turned 11. The meal consisted of alot of fish which I think is tradition in Germany and Italy.

It was a great holiday with fun loving people .All the staff worked extremely hard, the bar never ran dry and we had a lot of laughs.
The fireworks were spectacular and were set off from a barge on the lake.
The owners and their family were always on hand and even had their meals with us.
Next year a floating pool is being made and should be ready by April. Would I reccommend it YES but if it's "Britain abroad" that you want then don't bother.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

I was very apprehensive after reading the reviews for this hotel, so was pleasantly surprised whenwe we found it was actually quite OK. We paid extra for a deluxe lake facing room and was not disappointed, the views over the lake surrounded by snow capped mountains were stunning. The overall cleanliness wasn't as good as I would have liked, but not bad enough to make a complaint. Dinner new years eve took nearly 4 hours, but there was live music and free drinks flowing all evening. The firework display after midnight was spectacular.
Overall the food was of a reasonable standard, and our holiday was very enjoyable.
We travelled with Leger holidays who I would highly recommend -especially our two drivers Bob & Shaun.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We traveled to this hotel with Shearings Coach holidays. Long Overnight Journey The all inclusive package did not start until evening meal. So breakfast & lunch were optional extras, at a reasonable price. The hotel was clean & the rooms were fine with lake views as an extra,The hotel staff were friendly & helpful,Being self service the meals at times were very crowded, The food was to a reasonable standard,With a good choice of Fish, Meat & salad, The table wine left a lot to be desired but was drinkable, The christmas lunch was table service with a long afternoon of drinking & eating. New years eve was a gala meal table service with music & dancing between courses,Leading to midnight With sparkling wine & a firework display on the lake, Being an international hotel all guests mixed in togeather with no problems,As for The coach trips they were excelent With a very helpful pair of drivers ,Showing the sights & telling us the history The Views from the hotel were stunning & a lake view room is a must to get the full impact of the lake, The weather was clear & sunny with temp dropping at night, The only down side was paying for the evening meal on the last night & a very long drive through the night to
the Ferry
We had no complaints for the price we payed for a 3 star hotel it was very good

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are a must for full impact of Lake, But road noise if balcony doors are open
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scunthorpe
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Just got back from our Xmas break at this hotel. The building itself is lovely. We found it clean but at mealtimes very noisy. We were allocated places in the dining room and we were told we had to sit in the same place all week.That was o.k. if you were'nt squashed on the end of a table for 10 people and in a corner!.We had a job to get out each time we went for something to eat and nobody wanted to get up and let us past. We have never met such rude people as we did on this holiday. We had Xmas dinner whilst we were here. Not too bad but it lasted 4 HOURS! Too long. We got bored after 2.and why do people go on holiday to a different country and still expect english food? The people that complained and said the Xmas dinner wasnt like we have at home.If they wanted that why bother paying all that money why not stay at home? We are not vegetarians but if you are dont expect different meals because they dont do any as a friend found out even though she had told them she was a vegetarian when she booked the holiday! Some people on this site have said about the "fantastic Italian dishes on offer in the restaurant" Well we didnt see any The only Italian meals we saw was dried up pizza , boring spag bol and tastless lasagne! Non of them were "fantasic ". We thought because we were in Italy the array of pasta dishes would have been good but they werent We were very dissapointed The bedroom was clean but we did find the shower etc. wasnt cleaned at all whilst we were here. Maybe thats normal. We had to upgrade to a balcony room (there wasnt a standard one left when we booked) It would be lovely in the summer and even though we were at the back of the hotel the view wasnt too bad. You could just see the lake if you looked to the very left. We wouldnt come to this hotel again. Its too noisy at meal times and in the bar.Some people come year after year so it must appeal to them but I suppose it depends what you want out of a hotel holiday If you want really good food, a quiet time dont come here!

Room Tip: Our room at the back was very quiet. We were on the 4th floor but there if lifts if you cant climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Beware some of the bedrooms. They give on to an extremely noisy internal courtyard and have no access to fresh air (is this legal?!). I asked for another room but my request was ignored. Extremely noisy self-service dining room.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with access to fresh air!!!
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior

Address: Via Regina 41, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Britannia Excelsior is set on the shores of Lake Como and is a former 19th-century inn. The beautiful guest rooms are tastefully decorated with luxury fabrics and antique furniture. The hotel boasts four bars four restaurants and two swimming pools open seasonally.RnrnJust 50 metres from the Cadenabbia landing dock, the Britannia Excelsior offers free parking and beautiful views of Bellagio. RnrnThe centre of Griante is a 10 minutes' walk away. Free public parking is available near the swimming pool. All rooms at the Britannia Excelsior Hotel are equipped with satellite TV and private bathroom with shower and hairdryer. Some rooms overlook the lake and some even have a balcony. RnrnFree Wi-Fi is available in the public areas and breakfast is a continental-style buffet available daily in the main restaurant. Both the buffet-style restaurant and the a la carte, lakeside restaurant specialise in classic Italian and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Orbitz, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Excelsior Hotel
Hotel Britannia Excelsior Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.