We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa La Mirabella

Save Saved
You added Villa La Mirabella to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa La Mirabella
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina 13, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Beverly Hills, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Spent a lovely weekend at Villa La Mirabella in late October. Beautiful property, so elegant yet comfortable feel. The room (recommend lake view) was large with a lovely floor to ceiling french window. Classical charm, yet spotless. The proprietor, Paolo is a calm, pleasant fellow with some great suggestions. The bus from Como stops right across the street and the ferry to Belagio is a minute away. The hillside garden and pool must be incredible in summer. Breakfast was nice with fresh local juices. What a lovely place!

Room Tip: Lake view is worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
86
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ansonia, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This villa on Lake Como is exquisite and small, so there is no crowds. The rooms are nicely appointed. It is located right on the lake and there is a wonderful patio right in front to enjoy the view and your breakfast. Paulo made suggestions of what to do and also reservations for us for dinner. Would have liked to stay longer.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

To support all previous positive reviews; it is difficult to find words that adequately describe the elegance of this beautiful hotel and the surrounding gardens.

Built in 1860 and recently restored - the building is just beautiful and very tastefully decorated.

We enjoyed two nights in a lake view (with balcony) room. Very comfortable and large room - beautifully decorated in classic style - amazing view across the lake to Bellagio - sitting on the balcony - enjoying glass of wine watching the passing water traffic and sunset will be a memory that we will have for a very long time.

Free Wi-Fi with strong signal - free off-street, undercover parking - convenient access (as other's have described) to the ferry service - very friendly and professional and personal attention by both the Galli brothers made our stay an outstanding success.

We ate dinner in the hotel the first night after a long drive :-3 courses - beautifully presented and delicious. Good supporting choice of wines.

Breakfast, surprisingly basic and simple - but adequate.

In summary; would not hesitate to return to Villa Mirabella - overlooking fabulous Lake Como - highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent 3 heavenly nights relaxing at Villa Mirabella - Paolo could not be more helpful. The rooms are very clean and well layed out - we stayed in both a garden and lake view. The rooms are very quiet - there is a very modern lift -we ate in 2 nights and the food is classic - pasta - beef etc and very very nice. The location is really perfect as it is quiet and just opposite Bellagio and other towns but it is very simple to get a ferry which is just about across the road. You are not having to deal with lots of crowds so it is a little hidden gem!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, sUffolk,England
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Villa Mirabella is a small(11 bedrooms),family run hotel on the shore of Lake Como.The service from the family members was impeccable(even helping me to use their computer!), our room was described as having a partial lake view, but we could see it perfectly well,was finely furnished and immaculate.The family offer a 25 Euro menu in the evenings for residents-it was excellent- and also very good continental breakfast.At the top of the garden was a small swimming pool.The only thing against it was that only 1 room had a bathtub,but all had showers. There is also a copious free garage.The location is excellent,across the lake from Bellagio,and 200 yards or so from the Villa Carlotta.Lastly, the price was SO reasonable.

Room Tip: try for a a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This small boutique hotel is a great place.Paolo, Stefano along with their mother and father are owners and manage this lovely place.They were very cordial, assisted us with all of our questions .Our room was a large room with balcony overlooking the lake with a very large bathrooom..The furnishings are outstanding.Breakfast is included and dinner is optional with no menu at a reasonable price.All food was fresh and tasty.There is an underground garage on premises with free parking. Also, wifi is available.This was our first visit and felt as though we were visiting family..Would definately go back again ..Since we had a car we drove to Lugano a short distance away..Hope this is helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I will run out of superlatives to describe this villa. It is just fantastic. My sister and I spent 3 nights at this beautiful villa. We stayed in the Mirabella room at the front of the villa with a balcony that looked out over Lake Como. There are just 11 rooms and is managed by Paulo at front of house and his brother Stefano who does the cooking. I suspect Mum and Dad were also in the back ground. From the moment we arrived until we left nothing was too much trouble and Paulo always had time to chat and help us with any query. Everywhere was spotlessly clean, a beautiful shower room and the fluffiest crisp white towels we have ever used anywhere. Meals are served in the conservatory overlooking the lake. Breakfast was excellent, and the evening meal was just perfect with superb wines, followed with coffee served outside on the patio, by candle light, overlooking the twinkling lights of Bellagio on the opposite side of the lake. Truly breathtaking. The pool and gardens were so relaxing and the views are spectacular. A 5 minute walk to the left takes you to the ferry which takes 10 minutes accross to Bellagio and a 10 minute walk to the right takes you to the boats which cruise around the lake stopping at the differnt towns. For 10 euros you can hop on and off all day taking in all the sights. This really is a beautiful GEM on the lakeside, and such a change from the large impersonal hotels. We were made to feel especially welcome and as though we were the only guests that mattered, as I am sure so did the other guests that were staying the same time as ourselves. I will definately recommend this villa to anyone it is absolutely perfect, in a perfect spot and perfect hosts.

Room Tip: If you can, choose either of the 2 suites at the front, both are large and have a lounge area and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa La Mirabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Mirabella

Address: Via Regina 13, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa La Mirabella 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa La Mirabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Mirabella Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Villa La Mirabella Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa La Mirabella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.