We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, just perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa La Mirabella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa La Mirabella to your Saves list
Villa La Mirabella
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina 13, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Perfect, just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

I am sitting by the pool of the villa LA mirabella on our last day here, looking at the most beautiful view of lake Como and the mountains beyond. we have been here for only 3 nights with some friends from the Uk and it has been too short. Paolo and his family waited for 12 years to get permission to turn their grand family home in to a boutique hotel and they have done a superb job. The rooms are lovely, beds are comfortable, breakfast is fresh and plentiful and everything is served with a smile. He even knew all our names, including the children. The views are awesome, especially from the lake view rooms.

We have travelled extensively around Europe and Asia, and I thought we lived in the most beautful city in the world until we came here. it is stunning. no wonder George clooney has a villa here!

Can't say anything negative, this place exceeded all our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
110
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton WI
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Just completed a perfect stay at the Mirabella. I felt like I was at home with a personal butler nearby for great service, exceptional food, and wonderful advice about the area. The family who runs this property used to own several restaurants in the Lago di Como area. However, they now run this near-perfect hotel. They invested 12 years waiting for the permits to open, and it was worth the wait! Can't say enough good things about the attention to detail in nearly all areas.

Room Tip: Great views of Lake Como! Also, appears to be fully handicap accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This family owned hotel was one of the finest hotels, of the ten different hotels and gasthaus,’ we stayed at during our May vacation in Europe. Recently refurbished, this 200 year old villa overlooks Lago di Como, has an impressive garden area (including a swimming pool) and veranda. The spacious veranda came complete with chairs, tables and umbrellas. We sat for hours enjoying the spectacular sunset views and evening lights sparkling over the lake.

The attention to detail was very apparent as the hotel and grounds were constantly kept clean. Our generous sized room had an open balcony with a partial view of the lake. (Other rooms have a full view.) It also included the roomiest bathroom we had our entire trip. Our room had a locking safe, but no air conditioning.

Our host, Paolo, was very friendly and very attentive, as is the rest of family/staff. Breakfast (not a buffet) was served in a sunroom that had a beautiful view of the lake at sunrise and included a variety of delicious foods upon request. The hotel has a restaurant for dinner, but we did not attend. Surprisingly, ordering drinks from the hotel’s bar was less expensive than a local restaurant.

The hotel provides on site underground parking and an elevator. It is within walking distance of other restaurants, shops and some additional sights. The only disadvantage to the hotel’s location is the narrow and often busy main road it rests upon. It can be noisy at times.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

just stayed here for 2 nights, wish it was all 5. best place on the lake we had room 11, set back of house, GREAT VIEW, BALCONY AND AIR CONDITIONING. LOOKS DIRECTLY AT LAKE. rooms on the first floor have paitio, but our room on the top floor (only two floors for rooms) have balcaony. there are no bad views here
the owners spent 11 years getting the place up and running and worth the time. the detail the layout all supurb. the property is close to both candabbia car ferry and trezzimo boat ferry both fast and slow stops. you can walk your luggage from them. the propery has fantastic grounds the step garden, once an orchard has the pool situated in the rea but above the height of the building so a clear view of lake is seen, above that an area for picnic table and a gazebo and the next level has a patio all great views for 25 euros they will cook diner for you, worth the price.

side note, we stayed 3 nights belagio Hotel Florence, read this review in another fourm. That was fine, but i wish we stayed here. the location is just as convienant a home base as belagio, and better places to walk, head south toward the Villa Cortence, not north toward touristy Menaggio.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Very recently my wife and I spent 5 nights at the Villa La Mirabella. First class service was the order of the day and nothing less in all areas. We loved the dining experience so much that we booked a table every night. We had sensational food and wine and indeed a most beautiful view of the lake. The hotel was immaculate and the ambience was enchanting. The secret is that the wonderful family that run this most delightful hotel have over many years gained the most valuable experience that has been passed on to the sons Paulo and Stefano. Treat every guest with the utmost respect and dignity and ensure that they experience the very best in hospitality and customer service. An excellent place that we both felt very peaceful and comfortable and totally satisfied.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Please note the Villa La Mirabella has a pool and relax area. it does not have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We have just returned from Lake Como and Villa La Mirabella, a Pearl in a paradisiacal landscape. The villa is much more than a hotel, the personal care of Paolo, friendly, discreet, very professional, the exquisite details in every corner, the cleaning and the location, make the villa the perfect place to spend a few days of absolute gift in Como Lake. Totally recommended, nothing negative, a perfect place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

My daughter and I recently had the privilege of staying at La Mirabella and found it to be a very special place. It's an old villa that was restored less than two years ago with exquisite taste and care. It has only three stars but in terms of comfort level and refinement, is almost like an understated five-star hotel without all the bells and whistles. Our suite room was very spacious with beautiful furnishings and the bathroom was immaculate. The lakefront rooms have gorgeous views across the lake to Bellagio, which is only a short boat ride away, and mountains beyond. With two docks very close by, the hotel is perfectly situated for taking the different boats to visit other towns around Lake Como.

Most of all, Paolo who runs the operation -he, along with his brother is apparently the owner of the property which I did not know at the time- could not have been more gracious and helpful. He really sets the tone for the place and its lovely atmosphere. All the breakfasts and one dinner we had were also very good and served in the charming dining areas with views of the lake. Although we didn't get to spend much time there, the pool area and the grounds looked delightful as well. If I ever go back to Lake Como, I will not stay anywhere but at La Mirabella!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa La Mirabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Mirabella

Address: Via Regina 13, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa La Mirabella 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa La Mirabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Mirabella Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Villa La Mirabella Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa La Mirabella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.