We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only we could have stayed longer..."” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rusall

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rusall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rusall
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Village Center, 22019 Tremezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Tremezzo
salt lake city
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If only we could have stayed longer..."”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

We actually were not able to stay because the Hotel was sold out. However we did get to spend a very nice evening there on the patio and lawn overlooking the lake and mountains. We had drinks and snacks on the patio, and even though the hotel had a very large group in the hotel, they were very accommodating to us, and encouraged us to stay for dinner. The sage and butter ravioli was the best I ever had, and I love the way they serve the pasta course to you table side. Very cool. I will say my wife and I agreed that the dining room was a little sterile and quite loud with the large group. The main course of fish was tasty, but unforgettable. The dessert of chocolate fig tort was not great. We had such a great evening and even though it was spendy, we thought it was well worth it. We wanted to stay but our plans took us out of the area before they had space. We will go back there again if ever in Tremezzo.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    36
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
42
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Honestly, this place is splendid, and I don't know much of the Lake area, but the view there is amazing. I attach a picture taken from the balcony of my room...
However, the food isn't the best, I would recommand eating out, and our only regret was that they didn't allow (???) us to have breakfast on the terasse... we actually chose this hotel to..... have breakfast on the terasse. (which is splendid by the way). So... little frustration here... but overhall.... very nice hotel, and in the end very nice local people, very helpful. Room are tiny, but you are in Como to wander around the lake anyway, at least, we were.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

We stayed here for the 3rd time this year in Sept2010. It is a very nice family run hotel with great personal service.
The food is lovely and the best aspect is having breakfast or a drink overlooking the lake.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Rusall for 6 nights and we loved it. The hotel is situated on top of a hill with amazing views. Make sure to print the directions to the hotel before going as the hotel is situated in a residential area on top of a hill through a windy road.

When we arrived we were greeted by Franco who spoke Italian, French, German and some English. He knew exactly who we were the minute we stepped in the front door, welcomed us to the hotel and showed us to our lake view room. The room was really clean, the bed was very comfortable (two single beds pushed together to make a queen sized bed which is typical in Europe), and the bathroom was a decent size with shower. The best part was the balcony which provided the gorgeous views of the lake and a nice flower box for that extra added touch. The staff was wonderful and Franco always checked to see if you were enjoying your stay. It felt like we were staying at Franco's house and the hotel definitely had more of a bed and breakfast feel to it than a hotel.
There was plenty of parking in front of the hotel but on a few occasions when we returned late, the parking would be full (many locals dine at the restaurant) and we had to park on the street. This wasn't a problem at all; you just have to be comfortable with parking on narrow streets and small spaces.

The breakfast each morning was wonderful. Fresh bread and buns, tarts, jam, yoghurt, cereal, cold cuts, cheese, a great selection of fresh fruit, juice, delicious coffee made to order and the staff would see if you wanted eggs. The hotel also served lunch and dinner and we ate dinner at the hotel 3 of the 6 nights we were there. The food at the hotel was fantastic and very reasonably priced. We ordered the set menu twice and à la carte once. The service was great, the food was delicious and they have an amazing salad bar. Do try their pasta dishes (especially gnocchi with sage and butter, lasagna, spaghetti pomodoro), fresh fish, prime rib and tiramisu (best we’ve ever had)…you won’t be disappointed. As I mentioned, many locals have dinner at the restaurant too. We even had a conversation with a Chef in Varenna who loves eating at Hotel Rusall.

Getting around the lake was easy. We would drive down from the hotel and park our car to catch the ferries. There was free and paid parking but make sure to check the signs. We even drove to some of the villages around the lake and found parking wasn't that difficult. Another option is walking. The hotel is on top of a hill and it would be quite the workout but not impossible as long as you're good with hiking up steep hills and have comfortable shoes.

We can’t wait to stay at Hotel Rusall again and we’d even consider half-board next time, their food was that good!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

My husband and I stayed her for 5 nights this June and although they were in the midst of a heat-wave, we throughly enjoyed ourselves. The rooms are rather small but with a blacony overlooking Lake Como are quite adequate. We did run the cieling fan all the time which was a great help. GianFranco and Lidia the owners/manager were so helpful with suggestions on excursions and parking suggestions and all the staff especially in the resturant were friendly and efficient,(even getting us ice on a couple of occasions!) With just a short drive to free parking and a short walk to the boat landing, it was a snap to travel around the lake. In the afternoon and evening,the terrace was a lovely place to sit and watch the boats on the lake and then later the lights coming on across the way. Although there are numerous resturants near-by, the food at the hotel was so outstanding, we ate there every night. Breakfast is included and was varied each day, always fresh fruit, cerals, lots of rolls, cheeses, meats etc. We appreciated the warmth with which we were greeted and by the end of our stay felt we were among family, we definitely will return! Having a lift was a real bonus.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

We first discovered the Rusall 20 years ago, with our 10-month-old son in tow, and have been back more than a dozen times (which, since we live in New Jersey, is a sign of real enthusiasm!) We fell instantly in love with its stunning setting on a hilltop perch overlooking Lake Como, with the family atmosphere and the warmth with which the Pesenti family envelope their guests, and with the excellence of the meals (as always, served family style) that come with the demi-pension plan. The room are simple, clean, and suitably furnished, almost all with a balcony overlooking the lake; and one can spend hours at night serenely watching the ferries plying the lake across to Bellagio and Varenna, especially magical when the moon is high. Oftentimes gaggles of guests will sit chattering into the night on the lawn overlooking the lake, but by 11 or 12 they disappear to their rooms, and presumably continue to recharge their psychic batteries as we do by gazing at the lake from the privacy of their balconies. We have traveled to scores of countries, yet this homespun hotel beckons us back time and time again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

This family-run hotel in Tremezzo, up a winding road from Lake Como, facing Bellagio, is in a perfect peaceful location, away from the crowds staying at lakeside hotels. The panoramic view is outstanding. The food is also exceptional with plenty of variety. We stayed a week and were satisfied with everything. Bedrooms rather small, but practical, and those with a lake view are winners. Lovely garden to sit in and have drinks, play games or whatever.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Rusall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rusall

Address: | Village Center, 22019 Tremezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Tremezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rusall 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Rusall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rusall Hotel Tremezzo
Hotel Rusall Tremezzo, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rusall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.