We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Darsena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Darsena to your Saves list
Hotel La Darsena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina, 3, 22019 Tremezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzo
Victoria Australia
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“A little piece of Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

What a deightful place to stay. My husband and I chose to stay here in early October and on our early arrival were taken into the dining room overlooking the lake and given the best cup of coffee we had had in days! (or should I say, since we were last in Italy). Our room wasn't ready but they looked after us with a smile and coffee and that in itself is enough to give them a big wrap!
Wonderful hosts, delightful corner room with two balconies and comfortable bed. What more could you ask.
We had dinner on the Sunday evening in the hotel and it was very good. The local wines are lovely as well. Stay here and you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms in this establishment and ours was great. Corner room up the stairs overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    82
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
54
374
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at La Darsena in September and loved every moment. La Darsena is right on the shore of Lake Como. We stayed in a room with twin balconies and were able to feed the fish and ducks from the balcony immediately above the lake.

We were made to feel welcome by Ezio and Titiano from the moment we set foot in the door and they and the staff continued to look after us all through our stay.

We took the room on a half-board basis and were really impressed with the quality of the food. - You can't do better and we would really recommend that you do the same.

Thanks to all the staff for making us feel welcome and looking after so well. We will certainly return to La Darsena on another occasion.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms facing the lake and away from the road. The end rooms with two balconies ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel should be your number 1 choice at Lake Como. If you want one of the best locations on the whole lake; top notch service from a very friendly staff; clean, functional rooms; a magnificent view; and an onsite restaurant, then there are very few competing hotels which can match Hotel La Darsena. This is the only hotel in the greater Tremezzo area that is smack on the lakefront. I have stayed on Lake Como several times in the past, and in my opinion, the area around Tremezzo is the most convenient to the most interesting attractions. Villa Carlotta is one of the highlights, and it is just up the road. The lake ferries going to Bellagio, Menaggio, and Varenna, or the ones headed north or south to all of the towns in either of those directions, all leave from the terminal a short walk from the hotel. There are several restaurants and cafes a short walk away as well. But you must definitely eat dinner at least once at the hotel. It is wonderful. Terrific views from the porch tables looking across the lake, or the cozy, attractive furnishings in the room inside, make either dining option a wonderful setting for the delicious and innovatively prepared food offered. Oh, and we loved the breakfasts too. They were better than in some 4 star hotels. I can't recommend this hotel enough. But my suggestion is to choose a room overlooking the lake. We rented the south corner on the first floor for our daughter and her husband, and one of the balcony rooms for ourselves. Loved them!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Boutique hotel on the water's edge. My husband and I enjoyed 3 nights in a balcony room looking across to Bellagio. Everything was just perfect! The hotel is spotlessly clean and the service excellent in every way.
On the first evening we enjoyed a meal in the restaurant. Food was delicious and reasonably priced.
A great place to stay or enjoy a meal!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We loved this hotel - the staff were lovely - very helpful! We had chosen this hotel because it was a small family run hotel, and it was perfect. The room was wonderful, with a view overlooking the lake, and a balcony. It was a lovely light and airy room. The food was fabulous - we ate there both nights we were there. The dining room also had a wonderful view overlooking the water of Lake Como, and was a bright and well presented environment. I would certainly recommend this hotel, and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room overlooking the lake - we requested the corner room which had two balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have been looking to stay at the Darsena for some time, when we spotted a booking possibility late Sep/early Oct. Stayed six nights half board. Wonderful hospitality from the family, really excellent food and service, both dinner and breakfast. Very clean comfortable room overlooking the lake, with the ferries passing close to the window and a wonderful view across the lake to Bellagio. Location excellent for the ferries and local buses, we forsook a hire car for a change. Access from Linate easily accomplished, using buses and trains. Beautiful area, we will be going back to explore further some time in the future.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is that everything you read in previous reviews is true. It is an impeccably run boutique hotel and restaurant right on the waters edge. We stayed 4 nights and dined in 3 of those, it is best to reserve a table early because even though the restaurant is quite large it is often booked out by locals or other tourists, it's that good. It is family run and nothing is to much trouble, the included breakfast is a delight, the free wifi is good, the bed was very comfortable, the room was spacious and very clean. The bathroom was a little bit tight in a wheelchair, it had a wheel in shower with a shower stool, a good vanity basin and toilet but there were no grab rails. Unfortunately there is only the one wheelchair accessible room (room 109) and it is at the rear with a double glazed window on to the road, you do get a little bit of noise but not enough to make it uncomfortable or stop you sleeping. The ferry stop is only about 150 metres from the hotel and is accessible via a footpath which is very narrow in parts. Villa Carlotta is about 500 metres away and is completely wheelchair accessible if you have a narrow chair. In all our stay at Hotel La Darsena was a highlight of our holiday in Italy and we would love to stay here again. The only other advice I can give is book in early.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Darsena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Darsena

Address: Via Regina, 3, 22019 Tremezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Darsena 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Darsena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Darsena Hotel
La Darsena Tremezzo
Hotel La Darsena Tremezzo, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Darsena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.