We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Darsena

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Darsena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Darsena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina, 3, 22019 Tremezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Tremezzo
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in October. Had attic room overlooking lake - lovely views. Hotel very clean and staff couldn't have been more helpful. Food in restaurant excellent but a bit expensive. Hotel is very close to ferries to get around the lake. Would go again if we went to Lake Como again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    378
    77
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
45
331
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed for a few days with our two dogs, no garden but large park next to hotel. Really gorgeous views. No sun terrace if you want to catch rays - but there is so much to see and do its not a problem. Staff friendly and helpful, all speak English. General location excellent - ferry, churches, ferries, villa, landscape gardens, restaurants all close by. This is not a big hotel so it is small and cosy, There's a bit of road noise and a ferry that docks early in the morning- but did not worry us. Breakfast varied and relaxed, and sitting on the terrace with the views is delightful. . Parking can be a bit dodgy - not many spaces - we found a space and left it there for our stay. The Ferry across to Bellagio well worth a visit - would be a good place to stay. If you have large dogs - they will be expected to have a muzzle if you use the ferry. Expensive - but would stay there again. Good things come in small packages

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel La Darsena for 3 nights (9/18-9/20/12) while on our honeymoon and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We requested a room with a balcony overlooking the lake and the views were spectacular! The room was comfortable and the large bathtub allowed for some relaxing baths at the end of the day, though showering took a little bit of maneuvering so as to not end up with a puddle of water on the floor. There was free wi-fi and we had no trouble with the connection. Breakfast was served in the restaurant which also has great views of the lake and a nice breeze when the windows are open. We enjoyed the freshly made pastries (the croissants were delicious!), ham and cheese selections, yogurt, coffee and juices. We also ate at the restaurant--my husband ordered the cheese ravioli which was by far the best pasta we ate during our 2 weeks in Italy! Since we were traveling without a car, we took the C10 bus line from the train station in Como, which dropped us off just in front of the hotel. It was also very easy to take the ferry to travel around the lake since the ferry stop was a few feet from the hotel as well. In terms of hospitality, you can't find anyone nicer or more pleasant than Tiziano and the rest of the staff at La Darsena. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would look forward to a future visit as well!

Room Tip: Reserve a room overlooking the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We chose this hotel on the back of the glowing reviews in Tripadvisor, with the intention of having a memorable stopover on our way to Genoa (where we took a ferry to Sicily). It didn't disappoint, though as elsewhere in Italy, prices seem high - especially given the state of the economy and the problems within the Eurozone. But here you are also paying for location - the hotel hangs over Lake Como, with balconies jutting out over the water and offering lovely views across to Bellagio. The restaurant on the "ground" floor offers a similar balcony where we enjoyed both a lovely evening meal and breakfast. A wonderful setting.

The bathroom in our room (105) was large and well appointed; in fact, proportionately large to the bedroom itself, which was relatively modest but more than adequate. The balcony was small, but it was simply a place to stand and admire the views.

The staff were friendly and very happy to advise on what to do, and because it was raining a little the next morning, we decided to visit the Vila Carlotta (see other review). It's only a few minutes' walk from the hotel. There's also a small park by the side of the hotel where locals gather and use it as an entry point to take a dip in the lake.

There are no real communal areas in the hotel other than the restaurant, though the small size of the place adds to its sense of intimacy. Wifi was included.

There is some parking at the side of the hotel, though I had to jam my car in next to the hotel building because all the regular spaces were full by the time we arrived from Switzerland at around 5.15pm.

We paid 350 Euros for one night including an evening meal at 130 Euros for two adults and a child, including wine. You have to decide for yourself on value, but this is a memorable place to stay. We enjoyed it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night and dined in the restaurant based upon the reviews.

+ Near the ferry terminal so very easy to find
+ Check in staff were very good and friendly
+ Restaurant has a good wine list. Although the wine we chose was out of stock the alternative suggested by the waiter was very good and slightly less expensive
+ Dining and breakfast room have open doors to the lake so great views
+ Breakfast jams are home made and are superb
- There was no shower curtain over the bath so the water can go on the floor
- Hotel is next to the road, it was quite during the night but we got some traffic noise from 6:30/7am
- Restaurant prices are typical of the area (no bargains here); food was good but not outstanding. There are several restaurants within an easy walk of the hotel that good alternatives,
- As mentioned by other reviewers the restaurant staff are efficient but don't expect service with a smile

In summary I would stay in the hotel again but dine elsewhere

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our eighth visit to this hotel to once more relax amongst friends. Maria, Tiziano and Ezio are without exception helpful and accommodating. They always make us feel welcome and we feel that we are arriving at our second home. The hotel is spotless, food wonderful and breakfast offers such a wide variety including many home made products - for exampe, Ezio grows and makes the breakfast jams. All of the staff make us feel so at home that it would be unthinkable not to return next year!
Peter & Barbara Jarman

Room Tip: Lake view rooms offer wonderful views over the lake. All rooms are of a good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We ate here because it was close to our hotel and because we had walked by here on several occasions during our 3 days in Como. Also, TA reviews were very good, so we thought what the hey. Interestingly enough, the menu posted outside had a bolognese pasta dish on there and that was a big reason why my wife wanted to do there one evening - she loves that stuff. Anyhew, we get there and the real menu doesn't have bolognese on there, so, we decide to leave, simple as that...on our way out we are very honest with the folks, and as we exit, the mgr says No Problem, I'll make bolognese for you if that's what you want. That was, my fellow TA reviewers, a great way to start the evening. The night went by really quickly and although we had to sit inside, there are a couple of outside fences (smoking allowed) and a couple of patio tables on the water (no smoking, but semi-outdoors). Overall, I'd say it's a charming place to dine. They were very busy as the night progressed and you could tell that the wait staff were working their tails off. While that didn't provide for poor service, it certainly wasn't service with a smile by any means. The food overall was decent, but nothing out of the ordinary. The bolognese was nice and my pork dish was also just nice - pork is not easy to prepare because it has a tendency to dry out very easily and Darsena probably did the best job of prepping the dish because it wasn't as dry as some of the pork I'd tried in Italy till that evening. The Darsensa dessert sampler was also okay, and I commented to my wife that their pineapple slices smelled like farts...it's true, they did. Candidly this should be a 3 star review, but, because the mgr stepped up and offered us the bolgnese, I've bumped it to 4 stars. I'm really not sure if there are great places to eat in Como, but, La Darsena would be worthwhile if you're in the Tremezzo area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Darsena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Darsena

Address: Via Regina, 3, 22019 Tremezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Tremezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Darsena 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel La Darsena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Darsena Hotel
La Darsena Tremezzo
Hotel La Darsena Tremezzo, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Darsena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.