We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place our second visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Marie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Marie to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Marie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Provinciale Regina 30, 22019 Tremezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzo
Buckeye, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful place our second visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This was our second time to Villa Marie, I hope I am blessed enough to go again, this is such a charming hotel with exceptional personal service, it was so wonderful to see Andrea, Elisabetta and family again, you feel like family. The location is perfect for taking the ferry around the lake and to other towns it is about a 5 minute walk to ferry terminal, and less than ten minutes to walk to the many restaurants. We had room 4 with a nice balcony and exceptional lake view, last year we had the blue suite which is exceptional also, I don't think anyone would disappointed staying in this charming well kept hotel and it is small enough to feel special.

Room Tip: I have stayed in the main building both times and the rooms are fantastic, don't know what the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    65
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
27
133
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Situated in central tremezzo the hotel is minutes away from the ferry terminal and main strip of restaurants. Be sure to visit the Darsena restaurant. On the riverfront we ate fish from lake como and had the best tiramisu ever.

Back to the hotel! Great underground car park, just what we needed as we drove from the UK. The owners go to great lengths to please, no matter what the request. Very helpful in planning our day trips. Service is excellent.

The hotel is modern and very clean. Although our room may be considered basic, we certainly didn't want for anything. Breakfast was continental with a great variety and priceless when sitting outside overlooking the lake.

We took advantage of the sun loungers and pool.

Would we return? definitely!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We visited this Hotel last week and stayed in a Deluxe Lake View Room for 6 nights.
We arrived early and only had to wait around 30 minutes before being shown to our room which was on the 1st floor and had the most wonderful view of Lake Como.
The Hotel is only a 10 minute walk in to the centre of Tremezzo for restaurants and a few wine bars and is located in the quieter part of the area.
Other reviewers have mentioned road noise .
The main road does run past the front of the Hotel but the double glazing in the room virtually made the traffic noise non existent.
We were given recommendations on where to eat and where to visit and we went everywhere that they mentioned and could not fault any attraction or restaurant.
The owners Andrea and Elisabeth are very much hands on in the running of the place and are very friendly and take time out to ensure that you are having a pleasant stay despite the fact that they seem to be always on the go managing the Hotel very efficiently.
They have had the Hotel now since 2001 and it is a credit to them that they are also bringing up 2 lovely children whilst running the Hotel.
There is a small swimming pool,bar and roof terrace affording panoramic views over the Lake.
The meal plan is B&B and the Breakfast is Continental although there is a good variety on offer from Croissants,Rolls (freshly made,the lovely smell creeps in to your room around 7am!!),cereals and a selection of meats and cheese.
You certainly would not go hungry.
Cappucinnos/Lattes will cost you extra and there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms.
Ladies there is a hairdryer in each room!!
You will also have to pay a small rental charge for pool towels if you require one.
All in all a very pleasant stay and would definitely recommend this Hotel should you be thinking of a trip to Lake Como.
There were English,French,German,American and Australian nationalities staying there during our visit.
Thank you again for a wonderful stay.
Just a shame about the weather as it rained for 3 of the 6 days we were there!!

All the best

Garry & Wendy

Room Tip: Ask for room 11 on the 2nd floor (Deluxe Lake View). If they are available a Junior Suite would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Villa Marie was all we could have hoped for in a small hotel, small with great service, nothing was too much trouble. Beautiful old building right on the lake, lovingly maintained and carefully modernised to a very high standard.
Coming home at the end of the afternoon to a cup of tea on the terrace was great.

Room Tip: We stayed in room12, in the tower, with an amazing painted ceiling and lake views on two sides. High...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Lovely lakeside villa in a quieter area of the lake. I booked a lake view room which was well worth the extra money, it was a good sized room with modern bathroom and everywhere was spotlessly clean. There was a nice small pool, great for a relaxing day. The owners were friendly and very helpful. This was a great base for exploring the lake with public transport in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at hotel Villa Marie for 5 nights in June 2014. It's a charming hotel, located at the waterfront, run by Elisathetta and Andrea, a very nice couple, that takes great pride to please their customers and keep their proprety in perfect condition. They serve a great breakfast a nice terrasse.The hotel is an very nice maintained old monestry with rooms in the old building as well as in the ajacent dependance with lakeview balconies, has a nice swiming pool and well maintained garden. The hotel has a underground garage and the property is locked during night time. Another great advantage of Hotel Villa Marie is it's location within walking distance to a number of nice restaurants of which we can recommend Helvetia Tremezzo, not only because of the food and service, but especially because the owner drove us back to Hotel Villa Marie when a thunderstorm surprised us one night during dinner. Another reason to stay in Hotel Villa Marie is it's location at a 15 minute walk along the lake to Villa Carlotti and gardens and is close location to the ferry terminal, allowing you to take trips to Como, Bellagio, Varenna and Menaggio (both about a 10-15 min boat ride away), so allowing you to leave your car in the hotel parking !

Room Tip: Book direct at the hotel. Hotel has no elevators, but staff will assist you carrying your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Villa Marie in June. The hotel is located in Tremezzo which is about a 40min boat trip to Como central (by fast boat). However, I think I prefer where we stayed (as compared to Como) as we were very close to Bellagio, Varenna and Menaggio (both about a 10 min boat ride away). If we had stayed in Como central it would have been a long way to see the middle lakes - which were beautiful. We stayed in room 23 which was on the second floor with its own balcony. It was lovely and peaceful to have a drink on the balcony overlooking the lake before heading out for dinner - amazing view!! The room is basic but very clean and suits the purpose. I have to give a special mention to the owners who were so lovely and helpful that they made the stay! We missed breakfast one day (which is served until 10am) and went down at 10.30 for a coffee and cake (which we were going to pay for) but they didn't charge us for it. They were also helpful with recommendations and booking restaurants - and even remembered which day was my birthday and wished me a happy birthday - lovely couple. We didn't use the pool so can't comment. There is parking available at the hotel (underground) which was helpful. Breakfast was simple - with cereal, bread, hard boiled eggs and some cheese and yogurt so we gave it a miss most days. The hotel is also very close to 2 of the water taxi stops which is convenient and also close to Villa Carlotta (which we didn't end up visiting). If I went back to Tremezzo I would definitely stay here without hesitation but if I wanted somewhere different I would stay in Menaggio as it has a very cute square and more restaurants. Tremezzo doesn't really have a 'main' area or square. .

Room Tip: Would recommend a room with a balcony on the second floor. The ones on the ground floor are close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Marie

Address: Provinciale Regina 30, 22019 Tremezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nineteenth century villa in Tremezzo turned into a comfortable and charming family-run hotel, that offers warm drawing-rooms in liberty style with big windows and ancient frescoes, bedrooms with every comfort, garden with lake view swimming-pool, panoramic wi-fi terrace, bar, private parking and garage, boat-moorage on request. The Villa Marie is an delightful friendly hotel set in a enchanting schenary in the gulf of Venus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marie Hotel Tremezzo
Hotel Villa Marie Tremezzo, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.