We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Marie

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Marie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Villa Marie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Provinciale Regina 30, 22019 Tremezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Tremezzo
Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our final leg of our trip. We stayed at this historic and beautiful Hotel. Full of character. The family that own this hotel are professional and friendly. Rooms are clean and the continental breakfast was good. we have had worse in Italy.

Stunning gardens and lovely pool. Just a bit to cold for a swim as the weather started to turn.

Room Tip: Try and get a Lake view room. Worth the little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    60
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
23
114
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Villa Marie for 4 nights. Everything about this hotel is great. Amazing views, rooms, amenities, breakfast. Location is perfect for exploring central towns of Lake Como. Owners and staff of the hotel are always there and extremely pleasant and helpful. Wish we could stay there longer. Excellent end to a 2 week long trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building which provided with better views of the Lake. There is also an annex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed 6 nights ( five nights in an upstairs and one night in a downstairs annexe room). This is a very friendly hotel with the operators actively involved in the day to day operations. Staff are very friendly and helpful.The rooms and grounds are immaculate. The hotel is well located and within reasonable walking distance of the tremezzo ferry station. The main road is located in front of the hotel and creates some road noise when outside. Rooms are well sound proofed.

Room Tip: Our preference is for an upstairs room in the annexe. Rooms are brighter, better airflow and better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at VillaMarie for 5 nights. To say we were welcomed and felt part of the family is an understatement. The staff, for the owners Andrea and Elisabetta through to Sara, the cleaners, everybody was always welcoming friendly and willing to give good advice on where eat, how to get somewhere, where to hire a speedboat for the lake and not to, etc they couldn't have been more helpful. As per other reviewers, everything is spotlessly clean. When we return we will definitely stay here again. Mille Grazie a tutti at Villa Marie.
PS. If you come to Tremezzo, do yourself a favour and hire a boat. It's the best way to see and appreciate the grandeur of the lake.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Villa Marie for 10 days and absolutely loved it. The owners, Andrea and Elizabetta made us so welcome during our stay, it felt like we were staying with friends. The hotel is ideally located for exploring the lakes, with the Tremezzo ferry port a 10 minute stroll away, through a beautiful lakeside park. Our room was at the back of the hotel, which reduced the sound of the traffic, but when we go again, we'll choose a lake view room. The view from the terrace is most delightful and breakfast there is idyllic. The pool area and gardens are spotlessly clean, as is the hotel. There were always plenty of sun-beds around the pool, if you wanted a lazy day. Villa Marie is conveniently located for visiting several good local pizzerias and restaurants and we're looking forward to returning there

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Although we went with Thomson Lakes and Mountains (Crystal) we still chose the smaller Villa Marie in Tremezzo (Lake Como) rather than one of the bigger hotels in other resorts along the lakeside. We were so glad that we did. Not only was the accommodation so good, (although it was only B & B) the area around had a wonderful choice of very good trattoria and pizzeria, which we would have missed out on had we gone for the half board or all inclusive option.
The hotel has recently been refurbished and we chose a room with lake view and balcony - this is a must. A rather noisey road does run in front between the hotel and the lake but you get used to this and excellent double glazing cuts out all the noise at night.
Breakfast was a buffet, out on the terrace overlooking the lake - a view to die for!!!.
There was also a good pool and lounge area if you wanted to totally relax.
The rooms were spacious and exceptionally clean and the proprietors friendly and helpful. The hotel is also in Tremezzo, which has more to do than some of the other resorts, and is easier to get to other places on the lake from.
Although it was small - probably only 20-30 rooms, it was, in my opinion the better option.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, pay the extra for a lake view. Lake Como is very quiet - there is not much if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

For a three star hotel vill Marie has good facilities, a pool (small but well formed) a small sun bed area with another across the main road actually on the side of the lake. Car parking is available foc as in Internet access. Staff are helpful and friendly, we stayed in the annexe which abuts the main building. Recently built with air conditioning and italian sky tv rooms are comfy and light.

Breakfast terrace is pleasant and continental breakfast is served from 8 on, bar is well stocked and its a pleasant place to sit on an evening.

At 160 euros a night it is more like 4 star prices and at that level there are a few flaws:

There is no restaurant on site, and within walking distance there are only a couple of restaurants, on the day we couldn't get into one we had recommended and ended up walking to a road side pizza place which was cheap but not particularly cheerful.

Breakfast is buffet and whilst generous uninspiring,

All in all a decent place to stay but at the price we have stayed at better

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs for the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Marie

Address: Provinciale Regina 30, 22019 Tremezzo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Tremezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Marie 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nineteenth century villa in Tremezzo turned into a comfortable and charming family-run hotel, that offers warm drawing-rooms in liberty style with big windows and ancient frescoes, bedrooms with every comfort, garden with lake view swimming-pool, panoramic wi-fi terrace, bar, private parking and garage, boat-moorage on request. The Villa Marie is an delightful friendly hotel set in a enchanting schenary in the gulf of Venus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marie Hotel Tremezzo
Hotel Villa Marie Tremezzo, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.