We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Marie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Marie to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Marie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Provinciale Regina 30, 22019 Tremezzina, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mansfield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The perfect hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in June having the most relaxing chilled time. We paid extra for a room looking out on the lake and it was well worth it. The view was amazing. Breakfast was a free for all buffet style with lots of choice including meat and cheese, fresh fruit, cereal and criossants. Andreas the owner is the perfect host, availalbe anytime for local information and recomendations. We mentioned that we would like to go to Milan for the day and without asking he went and printed off train details for us. He was always the perfect gentleman. The room we had was a good size with a newly furbished bathroom. The location of the hotel was a few minutes from the bus stop and the boat taxi. Restaurants are also within 10 minutes walking distance. The hotel and pool was immaculately clean and there was nothing we did not like about the place.
Overall we had a great holiday and would definitely return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Definitely pay extra for a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    66
    9
    0
    3
See reviews for
28
136
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We recently spent a lovely week at the Hotel Villa Marie whilst in Tremezzo for a family wedding. I had reduced mobility so had a ground-floor room in the new annexe, with a walk-in shower. The room was spotlessly clean as too was the bathroom, and looked out on the immaculately kept garden and swimming pool. The only thing missing was tea/coffee making facilities! Breakfast was buffet style and served on the terrace or dining room and bar snacks were available during the day and evening. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful, even giving us a lift along to the wedding on the Saturday! With views of the lake to die for and reasonable rates what more could you ask for!

Room Tip: There have been many comments about the lake view rooms experiencing traffic noise from the road but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north devon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Visited this hotel for just one night with our children about 23 years ago and decided to go back for longer. Booked the red room as we remembered the lovely painted ceiling and wooden floors. Had a lovely stay and pool and underground parking are a very welcome addition. The road was a lot busier than we remembered. The previous week we had stayed in a lovely three star lakeside hotel with balcony on lake maggiore and paid around 40 euros per night less than the Villa Marie so were a little disppointed with a few things. Mainly the very small thin bath towels, and lack of toiletries, shower cap facial tissues etc. The room was a good size but had the smallest tv we have ever seen and didfficult to see. Know you dont go on holiday to watch tv all the time and perhaps we are being "picky" but did expect a little more for what we paid. Breakfast was adequate but have had better and worse. staff and propriotors very helpful and work very hard. Took their advice on where to go for boat rental and had a fabulous day on a self drive boat. We got it from Ossuccio www.hiringaboat.com and email is hdueonda@libero.it. Mino was very helpful and professional. They do not take credit cards however. Excellent position for exploring.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This delightful hotel has a stunning position overlooking Lake Como within walking distance of Tremezzo. We had a beautiful room with a lake view and balcony with stunning views. The room was attractively decorated and very spacious and had a superb en-suite which was refitted a few months ago. The owners and staff were brilliant and we enjoyed a tasty breakfast on the terrace. We would definitely stay here again, the only downside was there was quite a bit of noise from the adjacent road.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Villa Marie five years ago on our honeymoon. We vowed to return every five years which is exactly what we did ! My previous review of this place still stands and is really a delightful place to stay. The owners are friendly and helpful.

We were even more delighted to note that we had been given the same room we had before but this time it had been updated. The bathroom had been completely refitted and air conditioning added to the room otherwise everything was as before.

This is a good base to explore Villa Carlotta (we did this last time) and Villa del Balbianello (we decided to visit this time). It took about half an hour to walk to Lenno and then another 20 minutes onto the villa. You can walk from Tremezzo to Lenno by the road but be warned in several places there are no pavements so care is needed as the road is very busy.

I cannot fault this hotel as a lovely place to stay, it is a place that seems to make you relax. Both afternoons we spent by the pool with such lovely views who could ask for more !

Compared to a lot of the other hotels in Tremezzo it offers great value for money and is only a ten minite stroll to the restaurants and shops in the town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel is gorgeous and our room (#5) was beautifully decorated with ornate ceiling frescoes, and was very spacious with incredible views of Lago di Como. The bathroom was large and had a spa bath. The owners were very helpful and provided information on local restaurants and attractions. A very romantic place.

Room Tip: Room #5 had a spectacular view of Lago di Como, was huge and had a lounge suite, and beautifully orn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Who: My wife and I (mid 30s)
When: May 9-12, 2013
Why "Very Good" Rating:

-Charming hotel; it's like stepping back in time as you climb the main marble staircase (no elevator; take note if you are carrying refrigerator size suitcases like we were). They also ask you to leave your key at the front desk (yes an actual key, no card here) each time you leave; but they won't yell at you if you forget, like I did :)
-Friendly Family Staff; so pleasant, accommodating and hard working
-Magnificent Room (see photos); stayed in the Red Room Suite, highly recommended. No balcony but four large windows (2 with full view of Lake; other 2 partial views)
-Outdoor Terrace; very nice place to have breakfast or a Aperol Spritz
-Delicious fruit filled croissants and various coffee options (espresso, latte, etc)
-Free wifi (although a bit spotty in our room; but worked great in lobby and outside terrace)
-Short walk (on some cobblestone and tight sidewalks) from Tremezzo port. Exit boat ramp and turn LEFT. Also, very short walk to other restaurants and a beautiful park on the lake.
-Last but not least, excellent VALUE for such a great property with amazing views

Ways Rating Could Have Improved:
-Although croissants & coffe were delicious; the overall breakfast spread was so-so. There are no hot entrees so be prepared if you come looking for that. Mainly European spread, meats, cheeses, boiled eggs and fruits.
-Hotel has beautiful balcony located on top of hotel. It is accessible via the steps but there is really nothing there. Some chairs or a table would make that a beautiful place to enjoy a glass of wine.
-Boosting WiFi signal for the Red Room Suite. But not a big deal, vacation should be a time to unplug anyway
-Just a suggestion here, but a shuttle service from the port would be a nice touch; as the walk with suitcases is a bit challenging.

One particular example of their commitment to guests took place on a not exactly pool weather day. I had decided to take advantage of some sun by the pool as did another couple and I noticed the owner quickly, placing cushions on all the chairs making it look more inviting. Nice touch. Now this may happen at other hotels but it was really something to see the owner himself carrying out the task.

Overall, VERY pleasant stay. It was so nice to take a break away from our normal habit of staying in the chain hotels (SPGs mainly) and stay somewhere where the owners have full investment in the property. They have worked very hard and are proud to have taken this property to its current 3-Star rating. I can see more stars in their future.

Tremezzo, is a great central location on Lake Como and I would highly recommend staying at Hotel Villa Marie if you are choosing this town.

Room Tip: The Red Room Suite is magnificent with two large windows overlooking the lake and a beautiful crysta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Marie

Address: Provinciale Regina 30, 22019 Tremezzina, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nineteenth century villa in Tremezzo turned into a comfortable and charming family-run hotel, that offers warm drawing-rooms in liberty style with big windows and ancient frescoes, bedrooms with every comfort, garden with lake view swimming-pool, panoramic wi-fi terrace, bar, private parking and garage, boat-moorage on request. The Villa Marie is an delightful friendly hotel set in a enchanting schenary in the gulf of Venus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marie Hotel Tremezzo
Hotel Villa Marie Tremezzina, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.