We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Tremezzo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Tremezzo to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina 8, 22019 Tremezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzo
Houston, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

We spent a week at the Grand Hotel Tremezzo Palace. (I've written about Lake Como separately.)

Lake Como takes the shape of an inverted Y. Tremezzo is near the center of the lake and on the west side. We booked the Superior Room Lake View with Half Board. Our room, 419, was on the top floor and had a balcony slightly larger than most. Its large windows and glass door had curtains and a retractable louvre, but we kept them open almost always. We even kept the door open most of the time, even at night. The cool mountain air was wonderful for sleeping. The bed was large and very comfortable.

My wife loves a sparkling bathroom, and this one was that. She soaked daily in the tub, and loved the provided robe and slippers. I prefer a shower, which it also had.

We enjoyed the beautiful common spaces, which include a reading room and The Candles bar and its terrace. The hotel's garden runs up the hill behind, and was well worth an exploratory walk. There's an outdoor pool there, and in season a wood-fired pizza kitchen.

Which brings me to the dining.

The breakfast, included with all rooms, was a delight. Scrambled and boiled eggs, bacon and sausage, roasted cherry tomato, sliced meats and cheeses; an omelette chef; cakes and sweet rolls; a table of fresh and preserved fruits; a variety of breads and rolls; fruit juice of half a dozen kinds; sparkling wine, acqua minerale, coffee, espresso, cappuccino. Breakfast is taken in the terrace dining room, its three glass walls overlooking the morning lake and the green mountains across. We loved the breakfast hours: 7:00 til 10:30.

Dinner, which we took at the hotel every evening, was served between 7:30 and 10:00. The half board allowed us to choose a four-course meal from a daily menu. Usually there were two or three options for each course: antipasto, primo piatto, secondo piatto, dolce. Most evenings the dinner was served in the terrace dining room, now overlooking the lights of lake's boats and towns. The last evenings we were there, dinner was served in the lovely and intimate Contessa dining room, and instead of the daily menu we were to choose the same courses from the main menu.

The food throughout was excellent, and was served by the attentive and courteous dining room staff, headed by Signor Gianfranco, whom we came to think of as Il Falco -- The Hawk. (I hope that has no unfortunate connotations in Italian.) He worked with the others in providing wonderful service, but when given a moment would walk the room looking intently here and there to make sure everything was as it should be. Thank you, Il Falco!

There are three ferry landings near the hotel, so it was easy to get out on the lake, and to visit the other lake towns.

Right next door to the hotel is the spectacularly beautiful and interesting Villa Carlotta, one of Lake Como's best attractions. We spent the fat part of a day enjoying its wonderful variety of plants -- and met a friendly cat!

What's our ultimate evaluation? When we return to Lake Como, we will return to the Grand Hotel Tremezzo Palace!

A word about getting there: we hired a taxi to meet us at Malpensa and drive us directly to the hotel, and the reverse going back. That way we avoided multiple hops involving two or more busses, trains, ferries, or taxis. We used a local transfer service, Lake Como Taxi, which performed flawlessly and was considerably cheaper than another service that was cited on the hotel's website.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    149
    35
    19
    13
See reviews for
101
513
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

This hotel is beautiful. From the al fresco dining room where they serve breakfast, to the gardens in the back, to the outdoor patio overlooking Lake Como, it is amazing. The concierge and front desk were gracious and very helpful. The concierge made accommodations for us to take a car to Switzerland for a day trip of shopping, providing us with several options. Everyone was friendly and professional. They have a service staff member that looks dead on to Sergio Garcia. The rooms are attractively decorated and our balcony overlooked the lake and the town of Bellagio. The beds are the best ... comfy feather beds. We loved it here and did not want to leave. We would definintely go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

Can I live at the Grand Hotel Tremezzo? Unfortunately no, as they've just shut for the winter. Maybe I will when I'm old, at least for a month.

Fantastic hotel in a beautiful location. We visited it for three nights at the end of a month-long Italian holiday for relaxation. It lived up to these expectations easily, providing a very comfortable environment. The hotel is a few minutes walk to ferries going to other towns on the lake, including Bellagio.

We stayed in a lake view room on the 4th floor, which is quite high above the road between the lake and hotel, and had a wonderful view of the lake and mountains. The room was very comfortable and decorated in a similar ornate style as the rest of the hotel. There was a walk-in wardrobe and the bathroom was well-maintained and older-style. Room service was prompt.

The hotel's internal and external appearance is shown accurately on the website. The photos on the website appear to have been taken during summer - a few of the facilities were not open or available in late October.

Staff service was excellent, from the porter at arrival to the waiters at breakfast and dinner, and the hotel allowing us to use their facilities to change outfits a few hours after we'd checked out.

Highlights included the indoor heated pool and spa and the formal dinner restaurant (beautiful food and ambience). Breakfast was excellent.

An amusing element of the hotel was that the full-sized billiard table had a tilt in that balls would go backwards in certain parts of the felt.

The only slight disappointments were that the grill and wine bar L'escale had shut for the winter the previous week (we saw a number of people attempting to find it and the frontdesk staff member gave us vouchers for free drinks at it), the gift shop wasn't open as advertised, and the outdoor swimming pool bar had closed. However, these only slightly detracted from the experience.

It was a fabulous experience overall, as was each part of the experience. Highly recommend staying there when they reopen.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

My husband and I travelled to Lake Como and were not disappointed in our visit to the Grand Hotel Tremezzo Palace. The location is magnificient and the rooms are very romantic with gorgeous views of the lake. The gardens behind the hotel are not to be missed. If you were looking for a place to have a destination wedding this hotel would be perfect. It was very pricey though for October. The area in October is very quiet. Driving there is a challenge but all in all worth it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folly Beach, SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Great location and amenities. Luxurious, just like being in a palace. Everything you would want and expect in a hotel at this level. We had a garden room cause it was less expensive, but it was a corner room so we had a small view of the lake, great views out all window so a great compromise. Great restaurants w/in walking distance. Go to the designer outlets in Switzerland, info at the front desk. Take the boat to Bellagio for shopping and a meal.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

Lake Como is gorgeous, offering vistas you can't get enough of. This hotel allows you to enjoy these veiws from all aspects of your stay: while dining on the patio, sharing a drink at the hotel bar or while sunning yourself lakeside, having breakfast on the terrace, swimming in the indoor pool, walking the hillside behind the hotel and, of course, relaxing in your room. The views are the most compelling reason to stay here.

The service, the opulance of the public spaces, and the courtesy of the staff are what you would expect from a hotel of this calibre. The rooms are quite adequate, but would be a little more comfortable with some smaller furniture. The large chairs don't fit in the room and make it feel more cramped than necessary. The bathrooms are spacious and nicely appointed. And the balcony, although small, serves to widen your vista of the lake's beauty and so is quite welcome. Noise does travel easily through the walls (as some reviewers have noted), but we had gnerally quiet neighbors so it was not a problem.

Our experience with the food was mixed. The breakfast buffet was very nicely done with an especially nice assortment of cheeses and specialty teas. The tables are on the terrace facing the lake allowing you to enjoy the beautiful sunrise. Also the pizza we had in the bar at the hillside pool was quite good.

On the other hand we tried their Escale Grill & Wine Bar on the evenng of our arrival. Their speciality is fondue and they recommended the fish fondue. The fish (tuna, salmon, swordfish and shrimp) came raw to be dipped into the broth in the fondue pot. When it came to the table it smelled fishy. The broth was rather insipid making the resulting fish a pretty tasteless piece of boiled (not very fresh) seafood. There were about 5 dipping sauces that should have corrected this, but with the possible exception of the bernaise, the sauces didn't help. Although hungry, we ate only about half the portion served.

After experiencing this our first evening, we chose to go outside the hotel for our dinners the rest of the week. The good news is that there are some great places to eat in Tremezzo. Also conviently located a 3 minute walk away is the dock for the ferry that takes you to Bellagio and Verenna. Aside from this meal experience, everything else about our stay with satisfactory or better.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

Im well travelled, in all countries and classes of hotel.. There are not many hotels I can put my hand on and say the staff are SO passionate about pleasing their guests, as at the Tremezzo. The rooms are fantastic, all being refurbished to be ready to celebrate their 100th anniversary next year. There is a fantastic spa, lots of choices where to eat, gardens, pools...... Even a floating pool across the minor road from the hotel with a beach club too! The comments made by some visitors on this site make me cringe! Creaky floor boards? Please! You are talking about the original floor boards, and they dont really creak! If you spend so much time worrying about the floor, or squeaky blinds, maybe you should spend your time walking in the fantastic gardens, doing the 'healthy walk' which gives you breath taking views of Como.... relaxing in the spa... that kind of thing! Remember, things that you go on vacation for?!! As for comments on the food not being up to scratch, well, Im sorry but I just don't accept it! The care, attention and presentation of the food is out of this world, let alone the taste. I think some people just like to moan. I feel sorry for them! This hotel is 5* deluxe for a reason. The same reason that GEORGE CLOONEY eats there! Job done!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Tremezzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tremezzo

Address: Via Regina 8, 22019 Tremezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Tremezzo 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One hundred windows overlooking the blue of the Lake or the green of the secular park: this is Grand Hotel Tremezzo. Celebrating a century of charm in 2010 on one of the most beautiful locations of Lake Como, directly facing Bellagio, this is a real Palace steeped in history and a sense of mellow luxury. With three pools, of which one floating on the Lake, and a panoramic SPA, it’s the ideal spot to savour a real holyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Tremezzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tremezzo Palace
Grand Hotel Tremezzo Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Tremezzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.