We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday in amazing location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Tremezzo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Tremezzo to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina 8, 22019 Tremezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzo
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday in amazing location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed in a lake side room for 10 days and found it amazing. Room was lovely, staff friendly and waking up to see the weather and the lake was great. Lazing around Water on the Water was great and we can definitely recommend the beanbags! Really enjoyed the fondue restaurant, L'Escale, and the poolside lunches we had. I think the rooms would benefit from having tea/coffee making facilities but that is a personal preference as you can order it on room service, obviously there's a cost associated with that. The gym is too small and limited for a hotel of this size and rating. We also felt that the themed beach BBQ evening we attended was expensive for what it was, there was no party element it was purely a meal and whilst the quality was good it was limited. Would definitely stay here again but not for as long.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    149
    35
    19
    13
See reviews for
102
513
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

A five star hotel that shines bright. Attentive staff, lovely rooms, well appointed. Two pools, fabulous lake view rooms. Breakfast is included, but quite boring. Steps away from the ferries that take you across to Bellagio, Verenna, etc. so, you may not need a car, but in order to visit other places, taxi can be expensive. My recommendation is to be brave and rent a car. For peace of mind, rent or bring a GPS with you!,

Room Tip: Book lakefront. Amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina_De_Santis, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Tremezzo, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dearest Rita,
thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really hope to welcome you back soon to our Grand Hotel Tremezzo!

All my best,

Valentina De Santis
Grand Hotel Tremezzo, Lake Como
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

As a large group we popped into the bar for a drink on our way home late at night. Apart from one other table initially, we ended up being the last table there. The staff were great, friendly and very helpful,even when we were a little loud after one too many!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina_De_Santis, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Tremezzo, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear KaMac8,

it was really a pleasure to have you all for a nice drink on our bar terrace to enjoy a lovely evening on Lake Como! We are always so glad to see a group of happy people and we really hope you had a great time with us.
Looking forward to welcoming back you all soon in occasion of your next visit on the lake!

All my best,

Valentina De Santis
Grand Hotel Tremezzo, Lake Como
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Unfortunately we stayed only one night but it was a great experience. First class..and priced like it....in all respects. The atmosphere and view for both dinner and breakfast was unbeatable. The dinner food was good but not outstanding. Breakfast food and selection was excellent. Great atmosphere to have a drink and relax. Staff was very helpful and friendly. It's not really close to much (for walking) in the way of restaurants or shopping but it is a great self contained resort.The room was nicely furnished. I wish we could have stayed longer and hopefully we will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina_De_Santis, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Tremezzo, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Carissimo AJ,

thank you so much for your wonderful feedback about your experience with us, that we really hope was great despite being too short!
We all hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon to our corner or paradise for a longer stay in order to enjoy even more all the wonderful facilities of our hotel and all the amazing beauties of fascinating Lake Como.

With all our best,

Valentina De Santis
Grand Hotel Tremezzo, Lake Como
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

When I visited Temezzo, I paid a visit to the Grand Hotel Tremezzo and had a coffee in the restaurant. This was fine, with good service and a panoramic view..

I then paid a visit to the hotel's reception, as I wanted to know the prices for the rooms at this hotel. I asked the receptionist for the rates charged for room. The receptionist handed me a booklet about the hotel and advised me to look up the room rates on the hotel's website, as identified in the booklet. The receptionist behaved in an 'off hand' manner and gave me the impression that she was not interested in my potential custom and I felt that she was 'looking down' on me and my partner. I found her behaviour to be patronising and offensive.
I will not be recommending this hotel to any friends / colleagues.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina_De_Santis, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Tremezzo, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dearest Mr Peter,

I am so sorry and sad to read your negative feedback about your short experience at the Grand Hotel Tremezzo!
You should really give us another chance because it is not at all in our DNA to have 'off hand' manners or to be offensive with any of our beloved Guests, either staying with us or potentially interested in booking a room.
There was probably a misunderstanding at the moment you asked for the rates, because we do not work with fixed rates and the prices for a room can vary from one day to another, so this is for sure the reason why our receptionist suggested you to have a look at our website (without having already fixed dates in mind it is quite difficult to give precise indications of prices for our rooms).
On behalf of all our Front Desk, I ask you please to accept all our most sincere apologies for giving you the impression of not being interested in you as a potential custom. Rest assured this is not at all the case!
I really hope that I managed to change your mind about the wrong feeling you had of the Grand Hotel Tremezzo and I wish that next time you'll visit Lake Como you'll be our valued Guest in order to cocoon and pamper you and make you really experience what for us means being welcoming!

All my best,

Valentina De Santis
Grand Hotel Tremezzo, Lake Como
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

My boyfriend and I visited the Grand Hotel Tremezzo in May, and had the most wonderful stay. We were made to feel like royalty by the staff, the service was impeccable, the grounds breathtaking, the rooms decadent and luxurious, and their pool is easily my favourite pool in the world! My only gripe (and I do think the hotel should address this) is- 20 euros for a side salad?!? We had pizza in the garden, and while the pizzas were reasonably priced (13-15 euros), a simple side salad (consisting of ice burg lettuce, shaved carrots and a few cherry tomatoes and nothing more- not even dressing) was TWENTY EUROS. Even the Eggs Benedict at breakfast were cheaper!

Luckily every other experience was so wonderful and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: I highly recommend a room with a Lake View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

As if Lake Como wasn’t enough on its own, the Grand Hotel is a real gem that adds even more to the wonderful experience of being there. Excellent, friendly and actually useful service from all staff (but thanks in particular to Alphonso, concierge during our stay), a fantastic restaurant for the view and the food and great amenities and ambience across the hotel and its bars and pools, but above all, a welcoming and special atmosphere that will stay with us for a long time. A real treat.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina_De_Santis, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Tremezzo, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

on behalf of the whole Team I would like to personally thank you for your welcome review. We feel very proud that you truly enjoyed your stay with us in all its aspects.

We really love to pamper all our Guests, paying attention even to the smallest detail, in order to transform a simple holiday in a unique and memorable experience…and we are really glad you appreciated it!

Hoping that this Experience in Tremezzo will remain in your heart forever, we are looking forward to welcoming you back once again!
Alfonso sends his best greetings!

Warm regards,

Valentina De Santis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Tremezzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tremezzo

Address: Via Regina 8, 22019 Tremezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Tremezzo 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One hundred windows overlooking the blue of the Lake or the green of the secular park: this is Grand Hotel Tremezzo. Celebrating a century of charm in 2010 on one of the most beautiful locations of Lake Como, directly facing Bellagio, this is a real Palace steeped in history and a sense of mellow luxury. With three pools, of which one floating on the Lake, and a panoramic SPA, it’s the ideal spot to savour a real holyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Tremezzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tremezzo Palace
Grand Hotel Tremezzo Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Tremezzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.