We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Tremezzo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Tremezzo to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina 8, 22016 Tremezzina, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

If you are going to Lake Como This is the hotel I would stay at.
The most of the staff are wonderful, you get the odd one but you get that everywhere.
You need a room at the front overlooking the lake just so you can sit there and watch the changing colours of the mountains and the reflection on the lake. Just lovely
Rooms need to be updated, but how long are you in the room! It the view you are paying for.
The breakfast in the morning is just brilliant. Too brilliant you can see your waistline expanding each day.
Good tip if you like small bars with good music, walk out of the hotel turn right and stroll up to the park on the lake. There is a small bar at the far end where you can sit look at the view and enjoy a drink and good music from local musicians.

Room Tip: Must be at the front for the lake views and high as possible Oh, yes take a ride in the RIVA Boat j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    167
    35
    21
    14
See reviews for
131
591
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have just returned from 3 days at the beautiful Tremezzo. It takes your breath away on arrival, definitely the Grand Dame of Lake Como! We had taken the Centenary package so received prosecco, chocolates and a goodie bag on arrival. We also had complimentary cocktails on the terrace and an evening meal in the Fondue restaurant.The hotel also gave us a bottle of wine to celebrate my husbands birthday. All nice touches.

The pools are stunning although we felt the spa was a little tired and needed a bit of tlc. The lake pool was great fun even if it did make you feel a bit green when a boar when past!

The staff were wonderful, so friendly and attentive.

The food was great, we had a particularly good night in the Fondue restaurant. Alberto was a wonderful host (and entertainer) as were his staff. It was great fun and a nice relaxed atmosphere compared to the main restaurant, which we felt was a bit stuffy and very over priced! One niggle in the main restaurant was that the men are given blue menus with prices on and the women pink, without prices. How do they know I didn't pay?! A bit last century!

And the breakfasts were amazing! Every possible taste is catered for.

You definitely need a lake view room, as that is the best thing about the hotel! Not sure I would have been too happy if I'd been overlooking the gardens. They're beautiful but surely you're there to see the lake?

The highlight of our trip was the boat trip in the Tremezzo boat (part of centenary package as well) It was just stunning to be taken along the coastline. Our driver didn't speak much English but was a wonderful guide and with much sign language, we understood everything he was pointing out to us. Just perfect.

The hotel isn't cheap but for a special break, there is no other place to stay on Lake Como.

Room Tip: Room 206 is a lake view corner room with stunning views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent the last 5 days of our honeymoon in this beautiful location and couldn't have been more pleased. We had a front facing Rooftop suite, that had spectacular views of beautiful Lake Como. Really, it is simply breathtaking. We found the service to be outstanding - from the porters, to the doormen, the front desk and the concierge (main desk and private concierge), wait staff, bar staff, and spa staff. The service is very warm and friendly, not stuffy at all. The staff made you feel like they knew and remembered you. We loved the main restaurant and ate dinner there twice. The service was excellent and our seafood entrees were wonderful. We were less enthralled with the Fondue restaurant; although probably just a preference. The quality was good, the wine list extensive and the service was very attentive and enthusiastic, so we enjoyed the experience itself. The amenities are plentiful at the hotel, making this an ideal place to decompress and relax. We loved the Pizza Restaurant and theTBar, where we enjoyed some wonderful lunches and probably too many glasses of wine and nightcaps. The service in the TBar was outstanding, we really enjoyed the staff there. We loved the beach location and floating pool. We were less enamored with the restaurant at the beach; although, it was Ok -- we just found the service and food was better in the other locations. The breakfast buffet is extensive and very good. We rented the spa suite on our last day, which was wonderful. Also recommend doing a boat tour on Ruy, their private boat. It's a wonderful and relaxing way to see the Lake. We will definitely be back again and again!

Our only suggestion to the hotel, is to consider smoking sections in the outdoor terrace seating areas. While we recognize this is Europe and many more people smoke there, than in the states, it would be lovely to enjoy a drink or a meal without being surrounded by cigarette smoke, which unfortunately happened nearly every time we were seated on the terrace. Several times we ended up moving inside, which was disappointing for us, since we were enjoying the scenery. Creating a section - or dividing the terrace a bit -wouldn't solve it entirely, but would allow smokers and non smokers access to the beautiful views, and might be a worthy consideration to ensure all have a wonderful experience in such an incredible location.

It's an expensive hotel, but in our opinion worth it.

Room Tip: The Rooftop Suites, while expensive, are very special if there is an occasion worthy of a splurge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I spent a relaxing weekend here with my wife, and absolutely loved the atmosphere. The artificial beach over the lake is quite stunning, and the pizzaiolo in the backyard pool makes the best pizzas ever. The rooms are quite old fashioned, but yet comfortable and very clean. The only thing we didn't like was the hotel's main restaurant. The menu was not very appealing and too expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Arriving 23.30 on a Friday night we were told no hot food just room service available should have given us a clue . Then given room 121 at a fraction under€500 a night one would expect a decent room . I was given room 121 which was barely bigger than a box room. For the first time in a long time I asked to be moved which they duly did to a reasonable room with two single beds not the double i had booked but so tired took it. The hotel give them their due moved me to a decent room next day 3 rooms in 24 hours not bad.

Bt for the location there must be better modern and value hotels within the region another hotel which relies on reputation instead of service

Room Tip: Avoid room 121
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great hotel, with highly qualified staff, excellent service from all the staff, especially the maitre Rodolfo, surely the best hotel that I was staying. Amazing panoramic view of the Lake Como and Bellagio from the restaurant and the room in which we stayed. Recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing the lake in the corner of the hotel, very spacious and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, and it was amazing.
Lucky for us the weather was kind and we were able to make use of all of the pools and gardens.
The Lake Pool is special, floating on Lake Como and watching the passing traffic of boats go by as well as Bellagio in the distance.All of the staff at the hotel cannot do enough to help you which is always nice. Breakfast was included and it is excellent, a good meal to start your day of relaxing or seeing the sights.
Bellagio is only a short trip by ferry which runs hourly so easy to make the trip to visit, as are the other towns on the Tremezzo side of the lake.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
1.6 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
#1 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 977 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 stars 573 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Villa d'Este
Villa d'Este
#1 of 7 in Cernobbio
4.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#2 of 7 in Gravedona
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bazzoni et du Lac
Hotel Bazzoni et du Lac
#8 of 8 in Tremezzina
3.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tremezzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tremezzo

Address: Via Regina 8, 22016 Tremezzina, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Tremezzo 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be part of the next century of Lake Como tradition and take in the stunning lake views at the iconic Grand Hotel Tremezzo. This art nouveau landmark, which sits adjacent to Villa Carlotta's famed gardens, just marked its 100th anniversary. In celebration, it joined forces with Maestro Gualtiero Marchesi, an icon of the Italian culinary world; taste his haute cuisine on La Terrazza's lovely terrace or in one of its 5 upscale dining venues. Its unique lakeside positioning offers unparalleled views of Bellagio, the Riviera delle Azalee and the stunning Grigne mountains. With its 100 windows overlooking either the blue waters of the lake or the flowering greenery of the garden, the hotel offers 76 elegant rooms and 12 splendid suites. Don't miss to experience the ultra-luxe new Rooftop Suites with panoramic views from terraces and outdoor Jacuzzis - A "must stay" in Lake Como. Other delectable delights: the luxurious and panoramic T Spa, offering exclusive ESPA treatments, the super private T Spa Suite, three pools - including one that floats on the lake! - And a private beach, private tours in the hotel's period Venetian motor launch, and over 5 acres of lush secular park incorporating a panoramic path, a floodlit clay tennis court, fitness and sauna. Other signature features conjure up to the unique appeal of this family-owned property, benefiting of a strategic location that blends exclusivity and proximity: Milan with its boutiques and nightlife is only 1-hour driving distance. Boasting over a century of ageless allure and traditions, the Grand Hotel Tremezzo is today a vintage symbol of Italian hospitality and a place-to-be to enjoy the flavor of real vacation. Discover a world of temptations and the unique atmosphere you'll only find at Tremezzo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Splendia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Tremezzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tremezzo Palace
Grand Hotel Tremezzo Tremezzina, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Tremezzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.