We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Tremezzo

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Tremezzo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina 8, 22019 Tremezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Tremezzo
Herts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Stunning location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have just returned from 3 days at the beautiful Tremezzo. It takes your breath away on arrival, definitely the Grand Dame of Lake Como! We had taken the Centenary package so received prosecco, chocolates and a goodie bag on arrival. We also had complimentary cocktails on the terrace and an evening meal in the Fondue restaurant.The hotel also gave us a bottle of wine to celebrate my husbands birthday. All nice touches.

The pools are stunning although we felt the spa was a little tired and needed a bit of tlc. The lake pool was great fun even if it did make you feel a bit green when a boar when past!

The staff were wonderful, so friendly and attentive.

The food was great, we had a particularly good night in the Fondue restaurant. Alberto was a wonderful host (and entertainer) as were his staff. It was great fun and a nice relaxed atmosphere compared to the main restaurant, which we felt was a bit stuffy and very over priced! One niggle in the main restaurant was that the men are given blue menus with prices on and the women pink, without prices. How do they know I didn't pay?! A bit last century!

And the breakfasts were amazing! Every possible taste is catered for.

You definitely need a lake view room, as that is the best thing about the hotel! Not sure I would have been too happy if I'd been overlooking the gardens. They're beautiful but surely you're there to see the lake?

The highlight of our trip was the boat trip in the Tremezzo boat (part of centenary package as well) It was just stunning to be taken along the coastline. Our driver didn't speak much English but was a wonderful guide and with much sign language, we understood everything he was pointing out to us. Just perfect.

The hotel isn't cheap but for a special break, there is no other place to stay on Lake Como.

Room Tip: Room 206 is a lake view corner room with stunning views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    537
    137
    33
    18
    13
See reviews for
85
452
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corona del Mar, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent the last 5 days of our honeymoon in this beautiful location and couldn't have been more pleased. We had a front facing Rooftop suite, that had spectacular views of beautiful Lake Como. Really, it is simply breathtaking. We found the service to be outstanding - from the porters, to the doormen, the front desk and the concierge (main desk and private concierge), wait staff, bar staff, and spa staff. The service is very warm and friendly, not stuffy at all. The staff made you feel like they knew and remembered you. We loved the main restaurant and ate dinner there twice. The service was excellent and our seafood entrees were wonderful. We were less enthralled with the Fondue restaurant; although probably just a preference. The quality was good, the wine list extensive and the service was very attentive and enthusiastic, so we enjoyed the experience itself. The amenities are plentiful at the hotel, making this an ideal place to decompress and relax. We loved the Pizza Restaurant and theTBar, where we enjoyed some wonderful lunches and probably too many glasses of wine and nightcaps. The service in the TBar was outstanding, we really enjoyed the staff there. We loved the beach location and floating pool. We were less enamored with the restaurant at the beach; although, it was Ok -- we just found the service and food was better in the other locations. The breakfast buffet is extensive and very good. We rented the spa suite on our last day, which was wonderful. Also recommend doing a boat tour on Ruy, their private boat. It's a wonderful and relaxing way to see the Lake. We will definitely be back again and again!

Our only suggestion to the hotel, is to consider smoking sections in the outdoor terrace seating areas. While we recognize this is Europe and many more people smoke there, than in the states, it would be lovely to enjoy a drink or a meal without being surrounded by cigarette smoke, which unfortunately happened nearly every time we were seated on the terrace. Several times we ended up moving inside, which was disappointing for us, since we were enjoying the scenery. Creating a section - or dividing the terrace a bit -wouldn't solve it entirely, but would allow smokers and non smokers access to the beautiful views, and might be a worthy consideration to ensure all have a wonderful experience in such an incredible location.

It's an expensive hotel, but in our opinion worth it.

Room Tip: The Rooftop Suites, while expensive, are very special if there is an occasion worthy of a splurge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I spent a relaxing weekend here with my wife, and absolutely loved the atmosphere. The artificial beach over the lake is quite stunning, and the pizzaiolo in the backyard pool makes the best pizzas ever. The rooms are quite old fashioned, but yet comfortable and very clean. The only thing we didn't like was the hotel's main restaurant. The menu was not very appealing and too expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Arriving 23.30 on a Friday night we were told no hot food just room service available should have given us a clue . Then given room 121 at a fraction under€500 a night one would expect a decent room . I was given room 121 which was barely bigger than a box room. For the first time in a long time I asked to be moved which they duly did to a reasonable room with two single beds not the double i had booked but so tired took it. The hotel give them their due moved me to a decent room next day 3 rooms in 24 hours not bad.

Bt for the location there must be better modern and value hotels within the region another hotel which relies on reputation instead of service

Room Tip: Avoid room 121
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great hotel, with highly qualified staff, excellent service from all the staff, especially the maitre Rodolfo, surely the best hotel that I was staying. Amazing panoramic view of the Lake Como and Bellagio from the restaurant and the room in which we stayed. Recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing the lake in the corner of the hotel, very spacious and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, and it was amazing.
Lucky for us the weather was kind and we were able to make use of all of the pools and gardens.
The Lake Pool is special, floating on Lake Como and watching the passing traffic of boats go by as well as Bellagio in the distance.All of the staff at the hotel cannot do enough to help you which is always nice. Breakfast was included and it is excellent, a good meal to start your day of relaxing or seeing the sights.
Bellagio is only a short trip by ferry which runs hourly so easy to make the trip to visit, as are the other towns on the Tremezzo side of the lake.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here and just fell in love with the place, it is in a wonderful location of course and the staff are very professional and attentive. The rooms are wonderful and spacious with luxurious furnishings, as is the hotel itself. You have a choice of the spa pool and two outdoor pools. The views are stunning and the italian cuisine on par, the wait staff provide some good banter during meal times and we enjoyed this. We hired a boat through the hotel and were assisted in activity planning. Lake como is wonderful in it's own right, but if you are in Tremezzo, stay here! Best hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Tremezzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tremezzo

Address: Via Regina 8, 22019 Tremezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Tremezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Tremezzo 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One hundred windows overlooking the blue of the Lake or the green of the secular park: this is Grand Hotel Tremezzo. Celebrating a century of charm in 2010 on one of the most beautiful locations of Lake Como, directly facing Bellagio, this is a real Palace steeped in history and a sense of mellow luxury. With three pools, of which one floating on the Lake, and a panoramic SPA, it’s the ideal spot to savour a real holyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Tremezzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tremezzo Palace
Grand Hotel Tremezzo Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Tremezzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.