We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel and will definitely return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Tremezzo

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Tremezzo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina 8, 22019 Tremezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Tremezzo
Corona del Mar, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel and will definitely return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent the last 5 days of our honeymoon in this beautiful location and couldn't have been more pleased. We had a front facing Rooftop suite, that had spectacular views of beautiful Lake Como. Really, it is simply breathtaking. We found the service to be outstanding - from the porters, to the doormen, the front desk and the concierge (main desk and private concierge), wait staff, bar staff, and spa staff. The service is very warm and friendly, not stuffy at all. The staff made you feel like they knew and remembered you. We loved the main restaurant and ate dinner there twice. The service was excellent and our seafood entrees were wonderful. We were less enthralled with the Fondue restaurant; although probably just a preference. The quality was good, the wine list extensive and the service was very attentive and enthusiastic, so we enjoyed the experience itself. The amenities are plentiful at the hotel, making this an ideal place to decompress and relax. We loved the Pizza Restaurant and theTBar, where we enjoyed some wonderful lunches and probably too many glasses of wine and nightcaps. The service in the TBar was outstanding, we really enjoyed the staff there. We loved the beach location and floating pool. We were less enamored with the restaurant at the beach; although, it was Ok -- we just found the service and food was better in the other locations. The breakfast buffet is extensive and very good. We rented the spa suite on our last day, which was wonderful. Also recommend doing a boat tour on Ruy, their private boat. It's a wonderful and relaxing way to see the Lake. We will definitely be back again and again!

Our only suggestion to the hotel, is to consider smoking sections in the outdoor terrace seating areas. While we recognize this is Europe and many more people smoke there, than in the states, it would be lovely to enjoy a drink or a meal without being surrounded by cigarette smoke, which unfortunately happened nearly every time we were seated on the terrace. Several times we ended up moving inside, which was disappointing for us, since we were enjoying the scenery. Creating a section - or dividing the terrace a bit -wouldn't solve it entirely, but would allow smokers and non smokers access to the beautiful views, and might be a worthy consideration to ensure all have a wonderful experience in such an incredible location.

It's an expensive hotel, but in our opinion worth it.

Room Tip: The Rooftop Suites, while expensive, are very special if there is an occasion worthy of a splurge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    541
    135
    33
    17
    12
See reviews for
86
457
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I spent a relaxing weekend here with my wife, and absolutely loved the atmosphere. The artificial beach over the lake is quite stunning, and the pizzaiolo in the backyard pool makes the best pizzas ever. The rooms are quite old fashioned, but yet comfortable and very clean. The only thing we didn't like was the hotel's main restaurant. The menu was not very appealing and too expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Arriving 23.30 on a Friday night we were told no hot food just room service available should have given us a clue . Then given room 121 at a fraction under€500 a night one would expect a decent room . I was given room 121 which was barely bigger than a box room. For the first time in a long time I asked to be moved which they duly did to a reasonable room with two single beds not the double i had booked but so tired took it. The hotel give them their due moved me to a decent room next day 3 rooms in 24 hours not bad.

Bt for the location there must be better modern and value hotels within the region another hotel which relies on reputation instead of service

Room Tip: Avoid room 121
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great hotel, with highly qualified staff, excellent service from all the staff, especially the maitre Rodolfo, surely the best hotel that I was staying. Amazing panoramic view of the Lake Como and Bellagio from the restaurant and the room in which we stayed. Recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing the lake in the corner of the hotel, very spacious and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, and it was amazing.
Lucky for us the weather was kind and we were able to make use of all of the pools and gardens.
The Lake Pool is special, floating on Lake Como and watching the passing traffic of boats go by as well as Bellagio in the distance.All of the staff at the hotel cannot do enough to help you which is always nice. Breakfast was included and it is excellent, a good meal to start your day of relaxing or seeing the sights.
Bellagio is only a short trip by ferry which runs hourly so easy to make the trip to visit, as are the other towns on the Tremezzo side of the lake.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here and just fell in love with the place, it is in a wonderful location of course and the staff are very professional and attentive. The rooms are wonderful and spacious with luxurious furnishings, as is the hotel itself. You have a choice of the spa pool and two outdoor pools. The views are stunning and the italian cuisine on par, the wait staff provide some good banter during meal times and we enjoyed this. We hired a boat through the hotel and were assisted in activity planning. Lake como is wonderful in it's own right, but if you are in Tremezzo, stay here! Best hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights and each day was perfect. Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, amazing pool on the lake, not to mention the three other pools at the hotel. We had a beautiful deluxe room with a view of the lake and received a complimentary wine tasting in the wine bar on the 1st floor. This was a great, fun night..full glasses of wine with delicious cheeses, pasta and prosciutto. The food at the beach bar and restaurant is incredible- fresh and delicious. The breakfast buffet has a huge variety of food, along with an omelet station. An overall great stay and we will definitely be back!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Tremezzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tremezzo

Address: Via Regina 8, 22019 Tremezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Tremezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Tremezzo 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One hundred windows overlooking the blue of the Lake or the green of the secular park: this is Grand Hotel Tremezzo. Celebrating a century of charm in 2010 on one of the most beautiful locations of Lake Como, directly facing Bellagio, this is a real Palace steeped in history and a sense of mellow luxury. With three pools, of which one floating on the Lake, and a panoramic SPA, it’s the ideal spot to savour a real holyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Tremezzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tremezzo Palace
Grand Hotel Tremezzo Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Tremezzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.