We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Tremezzo

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Tremezzo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina 8, 22019 Tremezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Tremezzo
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Honeymoon stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Honeymoon we spent in this beautiful classic hotel on the shore of the lake. The room was smaller, but comfortable, breakfast was very good, it was possible to have breakfast on the terrace or inside. Atmosphere is very pleasant. A must go to the pool, while across the road, but it did not bother us. I can definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    543
    137
    33
    18
    13
See reviews for
85
453
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in July 2012. I had never used TripAdvisor prior to this vacation but we were in Italy and needed some suggestions on where to stay in Lake Como. Based on the ratings on TripAdvisor we decided to stay at Grand Tremezzo. Thank you to TripAdvisor!!! The hotel was absolutely first class. The rooms were lovely, the pool was unbelievable and sits on Lake Como but above all the service was the best we have ever received. In fact, the experience was so good I would have to say it was the best hotel experience we have ever had. We travel often and stay at very good hotels world wide. At Grand Tremezzo we felt special, as I am sure every other guest did!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina_De_Santis, Marketing Manager at Grand Hotel Tremezzo, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dearest Mrs Cathy,

we can't thank you enough for having inaugurated your TripAdvisor account especially for the Grand Hotel Tremezzo!
Your words touched all our hearts, especially considering that they come from south a well travelled couple from Australia.
We really hope you'll have the chance to come back to Tremezzo soon, maybe next July? We'll have special celebrations for the hotel's birthday and the new official rank as Five Star Deluxe... You'll receive news from us soon!

We are all so looking forward to welcoming you back soon and to making you feel so special for us once again!

With all our best,

Valentina De Santis
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We are a couple from Australia that got married at Lake Como.
It is with the pleasure that we are able to express our thoughts and experience from Grand Hotel Tremezzo.
It will always stay in our hearts and memories, the most charming and magical place that we choose to stay at.
Everything for our wedding was organized by the concierge, manager and the staff of the hotel that made us feel like we belonged there, we felt so comfortable and important to them not even noticing that we were there on our own on our special day without our family. Hotel itself is just divine but what compliments it to the perfection is the big united family that runs it and treats everyone as a very important individual and gives 100% to make your stay an unforgettable experience. All other services that hotel offers are the top of the range, food, breakfast with champagne, breakfast terrace, you just want to sit there all day long and enjoy the amazing views of the lake and the mountains around it. Beauty and spa facilities with indoor pool, outdoor spa are fantastic. The interior, the rooms, the back and front gardens give a very welcoming and inviting feeling. There are not enough words to describe this absolutely magnificent place and the way we felt during our five days stay.
We would recomend to everyone to at least once in their life visit and stay at this spectacular place in every way.


Ana and Carter

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina_De_Santis, Marketing Manager at Grand Hotel Tremezzo, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dears,

first of all it is on behalf of all my family and all the staff that WE thank YOU for choosing our beloved Grand Hotel Tremezzo for such a special and unique day and occasion of your lives.
We are so happy to know that we have been able to make some magic for your wedding!
We hope that the Grand Hotel Tremezzo will remain in your hearts forever.
And also we hope to see you soon to celebrate your love and your anniversary on the beautiful shores of Lake Como...

Valentina De Santis
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I went to a wedding here at the hotel is just stunning. Proper old-world glamour, amazing food and a beautiful pool the stretches alongside Lake Como with magificent views of the lake and Bellagio. Recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina_De_Santis, Marketing Manager at Grand Hotel Tremezzo, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Madam,

thank you for your wonderful review and for recommending an experience at the Grand Hotel Tremezzo here on Tripadvisor!

We are looking forward to welcoming back you very soon

Valentina De Santis
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor, MI
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have visited nearly 70 countries around the world and have had the privilege of staying in some remarkable places. My wife had a conference in Genoa in late June, just before our 20th wedding anniversary so we decided to go to one of of favorite places, Lake COmo, and more specifically Tremezzo. We first had lunch here in 1999 while staying at the Villa Serbolini in Bellagio, but after eating here and seeing the view of Bellagio we decided next time we would stay here so in 2006, we did just that. It was a fine grand hotel then, but somewhat tired. You could tell it was feeling it's age; however, the area with the Villa Charlotta just next door, Bellagio in your view from a balcony and easy ferries to Cernobbio or Varenna made this a place to consider for a return visit. Well, this grad old lady has had a marvelous facelift. The rooms are great, the pool floating in the lake attracts the beautiful young people, the service and food at the restaurant are still wonderful and the land pool and gardens have all been refreshed. This place is not cheap (although half the price of Villa d'Este further south) but it has a charm we love and was the perfect setting for our special celebration. Take the ferry to Cernobbio and have lunch at Villa d'este to enjoy the beautiful gardens and on other days go to Bellagio or better yet Varenna. Just a magical spot in one of the most magical areas in Europe.

Room Tip: splurge for a balcony with a lake view, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina_De_Santis, Marketing Manager at Grand Hotel Tremezzo, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dears,

we can't thank you enough for your third visit to the Grand Hotel Tremezzo, especially considering that this time was in occasion of the very very special celebration of your 20th wedding anniversary!
We are so happy to know that you found our centenary Palace in great shape, and we really promise you we will keep on working in this direction to make our Grand Hotel every year more beautiful and more fascinating.
In occasion of your next visit (hopefully very soon!) you won't be disappointed, as long as we are preparing many other news for you.
We work to surprise every time our beloved Guests!

We are looking forward to having you here with us soon.
With all our best,

Valentina De Santis
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Well, what can I say. The Grand Hotel Tremezzo (GHT) welcomed my husband and I plus our guests on the 1st of September 2012 for our wedding reception.

As a gift, my parents paid for I to stay in the hotel the night before my wedding and then spend a the wedding night there with my new husband.

Before we even got to the hotel, Elena de Santis (the GM) and her whole team made planning a wedding from the UK so simple. Emails were quickly responded to and nothing was ever too much trouble. Things which I panicked about (table menus for example) had been sorted before I even had to ask.

Upon arrival at the hotel, we were pleased to hear that I had been upgraded to a lake view room, and the reception staff discreetly went to get Elena for her to greet us herself. From the moment we arrived, until the moment we left we were treated as though family members.

The room was stunning and the views breathtaking. Everything you may need is available in the room, but if anything isn't there, the staff are ever so quick to bring you all you may need.

On the morning of the wedding, I woke up with no appetite at all due to the nerves which is a shame as the breakfast buffet looked simply amazing. Sat on the terrace taking in the views all I could manage was a croissant... and a glass of prosecco to calm the nerves!

The hotel's boat took myself, my father and my bridesmaid off to Villa Balbianello where the ceremony was being held, once again waved off by the lovely Elena. It also picked us up and took us on a detour as man and wife on the way back. Once there, a wonderful drinks and canapes was laid out and this gave us a taster of things to come. The food was absolutely beautiful, out of this world. The pasta was amazing so much so that everyone asked for second helpings, the fillet of beef melted in your mouth. And I did not think that I would be a lover of the wedding cake as this was a traditional Italian cake with lashings of cream but the pastry chef at the GHT is wonderful and I loved the cake so much so that I asked for it to be included on the breakfast tray for the breakfast in bed we had the following morning.

I simply cannot fault this hotel and the service we received. As I said, being a family run hotel, we really were treated as though we were members of the family. I would maybe have liked to have a bath tub in the bathroom, but hey, I know some rooms do have bath tubs and you don't go on holiday for a bath... This was not a problem at all.

Just wishing I could afford to go back every year for my anniversary.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are slightly more expensive, but definitely worth it for the views of the lake and B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina_De_Santis, Marketing Manager at Grand Hotel Tremezzo, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Ana & Craig,

we have so many reasons to thank you..
For this and all the others amazing reviews, for choosing our Grand Hotel for such a special celebration, for actually having been part of our family in those days, for sending us the beautiful memories and wonderful pictures of that unique day and for having been one of the most amazing GHT newlyweds ever!!
We will never forget the smiles on your faces and the happiness in your eyes... These are the biggest satisfaction that we can have for our work.

We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you every 1st of September of your life to celebrate together with you your special day.

With all our best,

Valentina De Santis
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Line of Philadelphia, PA USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Grand Hotel Tremezzo (GHT) is the perfect place to experience the paradise of Lake Como.
GHT has all the luxury and service of Villa d'Este (where I stayed several years ago), but it's much better located, about halfway up the western side of the lake, with exceptional views of Bellagio. (And, trust me, it's much better to look over at beautiful Bellagio than to stay in busy Bellagio!)

Because we booked only a month before our travel, we were assigned a park-view room, as there were no more available lake-view rooms, and we were not the slightest bit disappointed. Our room was really spacious with a large closet and a large beautiful marble bathroom. The decor was lovely, light and airy, and appeared fresh and unworn. We saved quite a bit of money without the lake view, and we loved our little balcony with a view of their beautiful back yard with swimming pools, tennis court, and gorgeous gardens.

We spent all day long looking at the lake, any way, and there is so much to do in the area. The ferry to Bellagio and other villages on the lake is just a short walk from the hotel, and the ride over to Bellagio takes only about 10 minutes. The Villa Carlotta with its famous botanical gardens is right next door. We took a nice boat tour of the lake with Luca from Bellagio water taxis, but we noticed the hotel actually has its own wooden boat available, too.

Breakfast at GHT is quite nice, with efficient, friendly service, and while you sip your coffee, you get to blink with sleepy eyes at the shimmering lake, with the hotel's floating pool bobbing gently every time a ferry passes.

And about that pool... it was the highlight of our stay on Lake Como. The pool is large enough for lap swimming and about 5-6 feet deep. The body of the pool is filled with fresh, chlorinated water, submerged in the lake, and surrounded by floating wooden decks that attach to the adjacent "beach" with two gangplanks. The pool water was chilly and refreshing, and we loved the delightful sensation of gentle waves in the pool every time boats passed by. We spent a heavenly afternoon sunbathing on huge bean bag loungers on the pool deck, dipping into the pool to cool off, and savoring a simple, delicious lunch on the little man-made "beach" by the pool.

I cannot recommend Grand Hotel Tremezzo highly enough. It's one of my very favorite places I've ever stayed anywhere in the world, and it's the right choice if you are looking for luxury on Lake Como.

Room Tip: If you're not determined to have a view of the lake, we found our park-view room to be outstandi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina_De_Santis, Marketing Manager at Grand Hotel Tremezzo, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dearest Cindy,

we feel so honored reading your amazing feedback about your stay with us at the Grand Hotel Tremezzo last season.
We are so happy that you loved your room and that you had a great time both exploring the beauties of Lake Como and enjoying the park and the pools of our Grand Hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon, we have so many surprises for you: a new collaboration with ESPA at our T Spa, a fully renewed restaurant and cocktail bar at our T Beach, and last but not list the new official rank as Five Star Deluxe!

With all our best,

Valentina De Santis
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Tremezzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tremezzo

Address: Via Regina 8, 22019 Tremezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Tremezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Tremezzo 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One hundred windows overlooking the blue of the Lake or the green of the secular park: this is Grand Hotel Tremezzo. Celebrating a century of charm in 2010 on one of the most beautiful locations of Lake Como, directly facing Bellagio, this is a real Palace steeped in history and a sense of mellow luxury. With three pools, of which one floating on the Lake, and a panoramic SPA, it’s the ideal spot to savour a real holyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Amex, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Tremezzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tremezzo Palace
Grand Hotel Tremezzo Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Tremezzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.