We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of heaven on lake como” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Tremezzo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Tremezzo to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina 8, 22016 Tremezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A piece of heaven on lake como”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is just flat out gorgeous! There is such an "old world" feel to it, you feel as if Betty Davis should be sitting in the lobby with you. The sitting room off the bar is so delightful, as it is improbably filled with velvet jewel toned couches and chairs. The dining room is in the front of the hotel and has a more than 180 degree view of the lake. The rooms and bathrooms are large and comfortable. There are several pools, indoor and out, including one in front of the hotel sitting on top of the lake.
We took the ferry to bellagio which is directly located across the lake. Como is known for their silks and I only wished I had bought more than four scarves. There also are several unique clothing stores where I could have done some harm. I also remember feeling this way last year when we in bellagio. Hope I get back there....
We hired a guy after lunch to take us around the lake on his boat. His boat sat probably ten and was 150 euros for an hour. It was definitely worth it. He asked if we wanted to see George clooneys house, or see more of the lake. We chose the second option. Our guide was funny and very knowledgable. I highly recommend a tour of the lake.
The staff at the hotel was excellent and friendly. We had no complaints...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina_De_Santis, Marketing Manager at Grand Hotel Tremezzo, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Mrs Kelly,

we thank you very much for the wonderful words and feedback you gave about your experience with us at the Grand Hotel Tremezzo.
We are so glad you found a piece of heaven on Lake Como here with us and that you loved our 'old world' charm combined with our special touches.

We are so looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Valentina De Santis
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    152
    35
    20
    13
See reviews for
107
528
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I have recently returned from a holiday to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Lake Como is really beautiful and Hotel Tremezzo is a lovely hotel in a great location. We returned from our holiday feeling relaxed and rested! We would recommend this Hotel and location to you.

Room Tip: We stayed in a lake view room, which was definitely worth the extra money. we were on the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina_De_Santis, Marketing Manager at Grand Hotel Tremezzo, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dearest Mrs Sandy,

first of all we would like to say a huge THANK YOU for choosing the Grand Hotel Tremezzo as the special location for your 25th anniversary!
We are so happy to know that everything was perfect for this very special celebration..
We are already looking forward to welcoming you and your Husband for many other unforgettable anniversaries with us..

All our best regards,

Valentina De Santis
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Everything about the hotel is like a movie/and or how wealthy Europeans vacation. I'm serious, all the staff appear to be from central casting. That tells you how well thoughtout this perfect villa/hotel is: it fulfills the travelers best hopes for a romantic, old-world hotel on a lake where the Roman aristocracy built homes. And the villa itself- winding staircase with chandelier, antiques in the room, white jacketed waiters, windows everywhere overlooking Lake Como which stretches fjord-like for 50 miles from Lugano to the Bergamo Alps. From our room and the dining room is a view across the lake of everyone's favorite Italian lakeside town, romantic Bellagio. The lovely gardens with tennis court flows up hill behind the hotel; a perfect place to wander "lonely as a cloud" and I did.

Bravo Grand Hotel Tremezzo.

Thanks for the perfect visit,

Ron and Gloria, San Diego California

Room Tip: View of the lake a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina_De_Santis, Marketing Manager at Grand Hotel Tremezzo, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dearest Ron and Gloria,

what an honor for us to read your wonderful words about your stay with us at the Grand Hotel Tremezzo.
We are so happy to know that the amazing beauty and charm of Lake Como literally fascinated you both and that the magic of our Grand Hotel spelled your hearts.
The romantic atmosphere you can breathe in this special spot of the lake is pretty unique, and it is a real pleasure to leave our beloved Guests like you with all these special memories impressed in their minds.

We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon to Tremezzo!

WIth all our best regards,

Valentina De Santis
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Myself and husband stayed here for 3 nights and we absolutely loved it! We went in October so things were 'winding down' around the lakes ready to all close over Xmas so the hotel was lovely and quiet. The staff were wonderful, we got a complimentary bottle of bubbly as we were celebrating a special occasion. The breakfast was fantastic - so much choice. They organised our transfer to and from the airport and the staff could not do anymore for us! It was a lovely trip from start to finish! Thank you!

Room Tip: A Lake view room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina_De_Santis, Marketing Manager at Grand Hotel Tremezzo, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Mrs Joanna,

on behalf of all the team of the Grand Hotel Tremezzo, I thank you very much for your wonderful review !
We are so happy to know that you had a wonderful time while staying with us. October is a wonderful month to discover the beauties of Lake Como indeed..
The compliments to all the staff are particularly appreciated and we all are very grateful for this mention.

We are looking forward t welcoming you and your husband back to Tremezzo soon!

With all our best,

Valentina De Santis
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spicewood
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel was one of our splurges on our recent three weeks in Italy. We absolutely got what we paid for. Beautiful grounds, excellent service plus first-rate dining. If you are looking for something with an old-world feel, Grand Hotel Tremezzo is a great choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina_De_Santis, Marketing Manager at Grand Hotel Tremezzo, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Mrs Lindy,

you can't imagine how happy we are knowing that the Grand Hotel Tremezzo was one of the highlight of your trip to Italy!
Thank you for your lovely words and for your great feedback.

We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to beautiful Lake Como in occasion of your next trip to Italy.

With all our best regards from all the Grand Hotel Tremezzo family,

Valentina De Santis
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trois-Rivieres, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

It was a very short stay 2 nights only but our experience was exceptionnal! The room (a corner) give us a partial view of the lake and a view of the garden (the garden is splendid the lake also).
The hotel is very old that is it charme, we had a dinner at the main restaurant it was excellent (the portions are generous beware! keep place for sweet) the second night we went at the down stair restaurant for diner,we had cheese fondue, the best I ever had the wine suggested to go with it was also excellent. The ambiance is perfect for romantic diner it is like a wine cellar in a cave. The place is just beautyfull it must be paradise in the summer. Staff very fluent in english, service is excellent. My wife made me promise to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina_De_Santis, Marketing Manager at Grand Hotel Tremezzo, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Louis,

it was a great honor for us to have you and your wife at our Grand Hotel and we really hope that you will really be back soon for a second visit!
We are preparing many news and surprises for the next season, and many more will also come in the next years, so that our beloved Guests like you will never get bored to come back in this very special place on earth...
On behalf of all the Grand Hotel Tremezzo family, I thank you again for your wonderful and rewarding words!

With all our best,

Valentina De Santis
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel is a very chic and authentic Italian hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially the porters and car park guys. Hotel itself still retains its charm but has a modern touch to it with its brightly coloured furniture in the lounge. The breakfast is exceptional with a large variety of fresh food on display. The lounge at breakfast is exceptionally good especially if the sun is shinning on the lake. Food is very pricey but if you want a real treat you can have food in the bistro/wine bar which is less formal. The staff are very friendly. Would recommend the bar-b-q food which again was exceptional. We were made to feel very welcome at Hotel Tremezzo and it's 5 star rating is well deserved.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina_De_Santis, Marketing Manager at Grand Hotel Tremezzo, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your experience with us at the Grand Hotel Tremezzo.
It is always pleasing to hear from somebody who fully enjoyed all the pleasures of a stay at our Grand Hotel.
I was happy to read you thoroughly enjoyed the genuine Italian gourmet experience we offer, and especially L'Escale Fondue & Wine Bar that is a real jewel for us.
All the Grand Hotel Tremezzo team took great pride in reading your feedback!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Valentina De Santis
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Tremezzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tremezzo

Address: Via Regina 8, 22016 Tremezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Tremezzo 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be part of the next century of Lake Como tradition and take in the stunning lake views at the iconic Grand Hotel Tremezzo. This art nouveau landmark, which sits adjacent to Villa Carlotta's famed gardens, just marked its 100th anniversary. In celebration, it joined forces with Maestro Gualtiero Marchesi, an icon of the Italian culinary world; taste his haute cuisine on La Terrazza's lovely terrace or in one of its 5 upscale dining venues. Its unique lakeside positioning offers unparalleled views of Bellagio, the Riviera delle Azalee and the stunning Grigne mountains. With its 100 windows overlooking either the blue waters of the lake or the flowering greenery of the garden, the hotel offers 76 elegant rooms and 12 splendid suites. Don't miss to experience the ultra-luxe new Rooftop Suites with panoramic views from terraces and outdoor Jacuzzis - A "must stay" in Lake Como. Other delectable delights: the luxurious and panoramic T Spa, offering exclusive ESPA treatments, the super private T Spa Suite, three pools - including one that floats on the lake! - And a private beach, private tours in the hotel's period Venetian motor launch, and over 5 acres of lush secular park incorporating a panoramic path, a floodlit clay tennis court, fitness and sauna. Other signature features conjure up to the unique appeal of this family-owned property, benefiting of a strategic location that blends exclusivity and proximity: Milan with its boutiques and nightlife is only 1-hour driving distance. Boasting over a century of ageless allure and traditions, the Grand Hotel Tremezzo is today a vintage symbol of Italian hospitality and a place-to-be to enjoy the flavor of real vacation. Discover a world of temptations and the unique atmosphere you'll only find at Tremezzo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Splendia and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Tremezzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tremezzo Palace
Grand Hotel Tremezzo Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Tremezzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.