We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Balbianello

Villa Balbianello
Via Comoedia 5, 22016 Tremezzo, Italy
0344 56110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Tremezzo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in the late 16th century and only reached by boat from Sala Comacina, this magnificent villa is known for its picturesque gardens, which exclusively feature flowers and trees the colors of the Italian flag: green, white and red.
Fleetwood, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We took the Ferry from Vareena to Lenno and since it was not market day, found the water taxi to the Villa. The guided tour was worth it - the grounds and buildings are magnificent. The miniature white fig vine that grows on the Loggia is one plant that is now hundreds of years old. the place has an interesting history.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    689
    122
    21
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The most beautiful place Ive visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I was overwhelmed by the beauty of this villa - it was a stunning location with breathtaking gardens. Well worth doing the guided house tour - it was so interesting and gave an insight into the history and gardens at the location.

Also great to think Ive trodden in the steps of James Bond and Star Wars !

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Don't miss this superb piece of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Take the guided tour. It's well worth it. You can walk there from Lenno lakeside on market day (Tuesday) and on Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays. Otherwise the villa can only be reached by boat from the Lenno water taxi rank.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I got married here on 3rd September 2013 and we could not have asked for a more perfect location. The Villa and grounds are absolutely stunning! We had not visited before the wedding but had seen so many photos that we were reassured we had picked the right place. We had the most perfect day weather wise, as you will see from the photos and we got married on a day when the Villa was open to the public which was lovely as there were only 10 of us in the wedding party. Arriving at the Villa by boat is just breathtaking and I can't even do the gorgeous grounds justice with words. It truly is a magical place and well worth a visit. The photo opportunities in the grounds are amazing too. I am already planning a return visit!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Most beautiful villa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Beautiful gardens right on the water and nice tour of villa. Great views. It is about a 30 minute hike up small hills to get to villa from ferry terminal or you can take a private boat.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Balbianello also viewed

 

Been to Villa Balbianello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Balbianello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.