We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Veluu Ristorante & Suites

Al Veluu Ristorante & Suites
Via Rogaro 11, 22019 Tremezzo, Italy
0039-034440510
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 19 Restaurants in Tremezzo
Price range: $44 - $87
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Far Hills, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“fantastic view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Request outdoor seating to really enjoy this restaurant. Food was good but you are charged for everything, including bread on the table.
We had veal milanese and eggplant parm both were good. We had a green salad - straight from the restaurant's garden We also enjoyed a 1/2 bottle of red wine . The staff was a bit slow and seem more interested in chatting with the local guests.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    40
    18
    22
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Shame poor main course ruined evening”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This restaurant has a wonderful location with its views over Lake Como and we thought we were going to have a really special evening. The first courses were fine but when the main course arrived it looked unappetising and was in fact completely inedible. Sadly our complaints were not treated sympathetically and we were made to feel that we were complaining unnecessarily, and so we left feeling very let down.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“0utstanding food, view and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 wonderful nights in Tremezzo, what a very special treat it was to dine in such a special restaurant and to sit in the terrace and experience food that tasted perfect, we both had filet steak cooked exactly the way we wanted and the owner recommended wine from the region-excellent choice! Adding to the food we enjoyed a blissful, relaxed, romantic evening and to top it all, fabulous views as night fell!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

To get a table outside with a lake view we were advised to book a table in advance which seemed to be a good idea as all outdoor tables were almost full when we arrived. When making the reservation remember to request a table with a lake view, the view is so fabulous you definitely don't want to miss that!

We ordered goat cheese and mozarella/tomato salads for starters and for main course we ordered veal chop for 2 cooked in a coal grill + fried zucchini. For a dessert we shared a house tiramisu with fresh berries. I'm not going into details but the food (and wine) was simply fantastic. Service was very professional and attentive, however, the only complaint was that we had to wait for the bill for a long time. The setting is intimate, almost magical. The overall experience; atmosphere, views, food, wine and service was one of the best we've ever had in a restaurant.

Not the cheapest place to have dinner but definitely worth the price. Aperitives, starters, mains, 1/2 bottle of wine, water, 1x dessert and espressos ~150e for 2 persons.

Note that the restaurant is located in the hills above the Via Regina "main street" and lake shore hotels of Tremezzo. Roughly a 30min walk from the lake shore, easiest to reach by own car.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“Wow what a location, shame the food just doesn't quite match”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

What a location, perched up high overlooking lake Como towards Belagio and Tremezzo and beyond. On a clear warm night, eating out on the terrace is just a fabulous, and I mean a fabulous way to dine.

The host was friendly and attentive. We ate with friends and had a great evening. The food was in the main very nice, I had Veal scallops, which dissapointingly had two large bits of grizzle which made it difficult to cut. Tasty but you don't expect Veal to be tough. The service was polite, but a little bit hit and miss. We ordered two bottles of water, which we only realised as we left the restaurant we had only had one glass from each bottle as the waitress had put them on a serving trolley and had served them to other tables. We also were at first served the wrong entrees. The wine recommend by the owner was great and complemented the food very well.

Overall a stunning place to dine, we have eaten in many iconic restaunts but there is very few which can match this place for location and view. It just has the wow factor. The food is fine, but just does not match the view. I'd still go again, the view is worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Veluu Ristorante & Suites also viewed

Tremezzo, Lake Como
Tremezzo, Lake Como
 
Tremezzo, Lake Como
 

Been to Al Veluu Ristorante & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Veluu Ristorante & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.