We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Gelateria Helvetia

Bar Gelateria Helvetia
Via Portici Sampietro, 16, Tremezzo, Italy
0344 40409
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Tremezzo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Went here for our last night dinner while at lake Como. The food was so so and the noise from the road was a little loud. They allow smoking if you sit outside so this made our dinner bad. The waiter was really nice and checked on us often but when we asked for the check, it took almost 10 minutes for him to come back over. Overall it was ok and had some good views but we probably wouldn't go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    33
    12
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant in Tremezzo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was the place we returned to several times because of the choice of food, how tasty it was and because of the great atmosphere. Everything about this place was perfect. I can highly recomend the lasagne - it was perfect. All the staff spoke english and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“We didn't want to go anywhere else!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This restaurant may not look very special from the road, but we were so impressed with it that we ate there most nights during our stay. The food is great and the staff are amazing. They were so polite and attentive, and they all had a great sense of humour. Also the somelier was a revelation! Such a wide knowledge, he was almost wasted at such a small eatery. However, that was our gain! We loved the dining experience, and the governor bought us both a drink on our last visit. Hopefully we'll be back!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Pleasant place to lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have eaten lunch here a few years ago and it is still the same gentleman running it. We called in for a light lunch and a drink, which was salad, prosecco and beer. The staff speak very good English, and remembered us when we passed by a few days later. The meal was very good, pleasantly served and there is a varied menu which is well within budget. The fact that it always seemed to have customers when we passed speaks for itself.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Super Lakeside Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very friendly and pleasant place for lunch or dinner. Very nicely presented food super staff.
My wife and I had lunch here at least 4 times during our stay beside Lake Como.

Highly Recommended

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Gelateria Helvetia also viewed

Tremezzo, Lake Como
Tremezzo, Lake Como
 

Been to Bar Gelateria Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Gelateria Helvetia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.