We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic gem with a heart of Gold!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Finzi B&B

Save Saved
You added Villa Finzi B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Finzi B&B
Colle S. Agapito 5, 00036 Palestrina, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Palestrina B&B and Inns
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Rustic gem with a heart of Gold!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

While possibly not a concept that Europeans are used to, this is a B&B in the truest sense. Marcello & Francesca were hosts in the finest traditions of the word, doing whatever they realistically could to make our stay both relaxed and memorable. Having spent a good few weeks driving through Europe and staying at B&B's that were more akin to mini hotels (also good, but not B&B's as we knew them) we arrived at this haven.
Francesca spent over an hour on phone & internet helping us with bookings for our trip into Rome, Marcello regailed us with some of the history of the Villa and previous (namesake) owners, and the opportunities to see Hadrians Villa etc, and all the while they made us feel at home. In the evening they helped us set up chairs & tables in the garden where we could partake of the provisions we had for our light supper, in the morning - Ahh! the breakfasts!
The beds were comfortable, the facilities - just what we were looking for, and the ambiance excellent. Being invited to join them for dinner (for Marcello's special pasta dish) one evening was very special, and we so appreciated the welcome into their home.
This is a spot that would be best served if you have your own car, but as you will see from other comments, that is not an absolute, as they would seldom say no to any request for assistance.
It is not a B&B that will boast the stark modernism of the 'Ikea' look, but is rather a home that has seen love & life over a number of generations, and is the better for it - it has Character!

Room Tip: Trust in Marcello & Francesca to look after you - you will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
27
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cotati, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My wife and I visited many of the 'major' places in Italy (Rome, Pompeii, Florence, several Tuscan hill towns and Venice) 4 months ago. After these months have passed I still look back at our two days in Palestrina at Villa Finzi as my favorite of the trip. We stayed at VF to start our trip to help us adjust to the 9 hour time difference and this idea worked incredibly well.

There are two reasons for my feelings about our stay. First, Francesca and Marcello are wonderful people that make their guests feel very welcome and comfortable in their home. I really enjoyed my time with them and wish that they lived nearby so that we could see them often. If you want excellent communication prior to your visit, superb hosts and a very relaxing spot that's close to interesting places, Villa Finzi is your spot.

The second reason I loved our stay here is that Palestrina has the wonderful feel of the 'old' Italy. I stayed in Northern Italy for 2 months about 40 years ago and really enjoyed the charm of the country, including the big cities. Palestrina is the only place in Italy that we visited where I felt this same thing on our recent trip. The town also has an amazing Greek ruin that shouldn't be missed -- the Temple of Fortuna, viewed from up-close and from a distance, is incredible. And, it's not well known at all although it should be, in my opinion.

Do yourself a big favor and schedule at least a couple of days at the Villa Finzi -- you will be VERY glad you did!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I was supposed to stay two nights here, but ended up only staying one, which was a real shame. The room I stayed in was beautiful, and Marcella and Francesco were both amazingly helpful, picking me up from the train station even though I arrived a little late and driving me back to the station early in the morning so I could catch my plane. I loved that I could see so many stars from their backyard--hard to do that in the big cities sometimes.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We were looking for 2 nights to spend in the Palestrina/Tivoli area as a break on our trip from Tuscany to Amalfi. We lucked onto Villa Finzi after reading good reviews on Trip Advisor. The experience was fantastic. We stayed in a beautiful, rustic villa away from the hustle and bustle but close to historic sites such as Castel Gandolfo, Palestrina, Hadrian's Villa and Villa D"EsteTivoli (an absolute must see).
However, the best part was the exceptional service provided by our hosts Francesca and Marcello who were more like a favourite aunt and uncle. The setting was beautiful and we will never forget sitting in the garden at 10 pm sipping Limoncello and watching the fireflies after eating the best pizza in Italy in the little restaurant at the end of the lane.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Great hosts who go out of there way to help you out. We left some documents in our previous accommodation and Francesca tracked it down and arranged for it to be return to us at our next destination. She phoned up to make sure it had arrived and really went out of her way to help.

Both Marcello and Francesca were great hosts, with cups of tea on arrival, lovely breakfasts with great conversation. We got loads of helpful tips on places to visit and got to understand more about life in Italy.

We stayed for four nights and it felt more like we were staying with friends than a B&B.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Our stay at Villa Finzi was most enjoyable, Franscesca makes you feel as though you have found a friend....every aspect of our stay was memorable, we thought the room and facilities were excellent and the breakfast and attention to detail second to none. We would definitely recommend Villa Finza to anyone

Room Tip: Book early and avoid missing out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilat, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Splendid hills north of Rome, rustic chic property of early 20th century, stunning grounds with flowering acacia in April, big (big!) bedroom, big bathroom, hot water aplenty - who could possible ask for more?

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Finzi B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Finzi B&B

Address: Colle S. Agapito 5, 00036 Palestrina, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Palestrina
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Palestrina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historical Villa Finzi is located on a private gated estate, surrounded by olive trees and apple orchards, a park and a wide range of walking trails. It’s only 20 minutes from downtown Rome by train. Its location is ideal to visit the hustle and bustle of Rome during the day and then relax in the countryside in the evening. The small town of Palestrina offers many historical Etruscan sites, 10 km far from Tivoli gardens, Villa Adriana, and villa Gregoriana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Villa Finzi B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Finzi B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.