We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small relaxed hotel with delightful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear to your Saves list
Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear
Via Aldo Moro, 2, 84010 Furore, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Furore
Oxford
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Small relaxed hotel with delightful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

The outstanding point of this hotel are the people who run it. Pino the owner will do just about anything to make sure you get the best out of your holiday. Run you along to the bus stop, take you to where a good walk starts from and even the 5 miles to Amalfi to catch the ferry. The restaurant is run by Mario (Pino's nephew) and he is equally pleasant and helpful. The hotel is small relaxed and delightful.

There are few restaurants or other points in the direct area so you will need to use a bus to get around. We had a car there but found it very difficult to find anywhere to park in the local towns so resorted to the busses.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    43
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
63
247
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

we stayed here for 3 nights after having seen so many good ratings in tripadvisor, so our expectations were high. Nevertheless we were absolutely happy to have stayed here. The place is well up on the coastline so you'll better have a car to get there but this makes it good for two reasons: the place (at least in October) was not overcrowded, and you have a spectatcular view of the sea and the coast for breakfast and lunch.
The food is great, both in the evenings and for breakfast. I coul imaging staying there for several days again just taking some books and not even leaving the place!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Fico d India is a family business. Pino is the owner and really friendly and helpful. He doenst speak so much English but he tries to make every dream come true. The rooms are large enough and nicely furntied. The situation is quite and with a nice view over the sea. You can really good relax from all the stress at Amalfi coast. The breakfast is good - really nice pastry, good cappuccino. The dinner is very good. Fresh seafood. Pino's father is responsible for cooking. Vine selection is sufficient and good. You really get a good deal for your money. Only 3 min drive is a small supermarket which sell on a good price - cheese, fruits, vine.... it needs 25 min to drive to Amalfi. At Rosarias Boot rent you rent a 5m rubber boat (40Ps) without license for 100EUR per day.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jb0349
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

And here's why:
* Pino (the host) is a legend
* Picked us up from the bus stop when the bus dropped us off at the wrong place
* Free espresso on arrival
* Free lunch on the first day
* Free Limoncello baba as a parting gift
* Free Limoncello (homemade) after each meal in the restaurant
* Pino gave us a lift to Amalfi when we left.
* Sea views from the room
* The best breakfast of our holiday

Our time was fantastic here, even though it rained the whole time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

My partner and I couldn't be more impressed with the wonderful service Pino and Mario had provided for us during our three night stay. Not only was the view from the bedrooms breathtaking, but the ambience of Holidays was calm, relaxing, romantic, and full of awe. After our stay in Amalfi and 3 hours in Sorrento, I was tempted to go back to stay a few more nights! This is by far the best deal you could ever dream up for such a beautiful place. Pino was beyond generous to recommend places to see and even drove us and even offered to pick us up! I fell in love with this quaint bed and breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

We stayed at Pino's for 5 nights, it was wonderful. this was the 2nd time i had stayed at Fico d'India, but the 1st time for some of my family, they loved it. The views from the rooms are amazing, it's quite and the best place to relax. although you are 20mins from Amalfi we had everything we needed restaurant, outdoor spa, walks and Mario took us in to Amalfi when ever we needed. the service is one of the best in Italy, nothing is too much trouble.
Pino is a fantastic host, always greeted us with a smile and warm welcome. the freashly made pastries in the morning were a delight. well worth staying a great spot to explore the amalfi coast from but also relax when hustle gets too much.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Fico d'India for 3 nights in mid May wtih 2 other couples. We were celebrating our 25th anniversary and Pino had a lovely bottle of Prosecco waiting in our room upon arrival. In addition, he also provided our group with the most delicious yet simple bruschetta I have ever had, and a drink of our choice when we first pulled up. We were all immediately taken in by Pino's warmth and generosity. We ate in the hotel dining room all 3 nights and enjoyed the best meals we had during our 2 week stay in southern Italy. The house wines, both the red and white, were terrific. Pino could tell we had an affection for wine after we finished off the cask the first night and graciously arranged a tour of a small award winning winery in the town of Furore. We also greatly enjoyed the young waiter, Mario, at dinner each night. Pino seemed to take it as a personal affront that we had a day of rainy weather and apologized profusely! As others have indicated he happily insisted on picking us up and dropping us off at various locations along the coast. He even drove one of our group to the church in town on Sunday morning. The rooms are simple but nicely decorated and spacious. My husband and I had a room with a jacuzzi tub (I think we were given that room because it was our anniversary!) but probably would have preferred a room with a regular shower as we rarely take baths. But again it was a very sweet gesture and certainly using the hand held shower wasn't an issue. Furore itself is very different from the towns located closer to the sea (eg. Amalfi) and we enjoyed wandering up towards the town.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear

Address: Via Aldo Moro, 2, 84010 Furore, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Furore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Furore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holidays Fico d'India was born in 2005.This is the family business.The beauty of the home, which was inherited from the owners grandparents, Pino was the starting point for the new design, keeping one objective in mind: to maintain intact the Mediterranean atmosphere that has always characterized the coast while recuperating antic traditions of the Campagne region. The care of the gardens, rich with exotic plants, lemon and orange trees, shows the love that the new owners have for their property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holidays Fico d`India / Prickly Pear Hotel Furore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.