We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning place and Service is Bar None!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear to your Saves list
Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear
Via Aldo Moro, 2, 84010 Furore, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Furore
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stunning place and Service is Bar None!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Amalfi coast has been on my must see list for years and finally made it last week and stayed here for 5 nights. This magnificent place is already received wonderful reviews but I have to say, Pino's hospitality (the owner) is bar none. The place is in between Amalfi and Positano and close to bus stop so convenient to go either direction on the coast.

Fico d'India is small family run place and you feel you're at home. The breakfast was delicious, rooms clean and large compared to rest of Europe. There were 4 of us (2 rooms) and I ended up extending my stay another night. But what made this so great was Pino, his family and how he went totally out of his way to make your stay enjoyable. I cannot say enough good things about this beautiful place, the food and especially Pino himself. Great value too!

Its people like these that make your trip! Thank you Pino!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinomilo, Proprietario at Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Smeeta,
Thank you so much for visiting our Hotel you and your friends and for describing it with such beautiful words.
It's a big pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your time in the Amalfi Coast and appreciated the beautiful landescape, the room and the italian food.
I look forward from hosting you again for a new stay, greetings from all the staff of Fico D'India Holidays,
Pino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    40
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
58
242
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have just returned from our trip to Italy, which included 3 nights at Fico D'India. I am very keen to highlight this great small hotel. The owner, Pino, is absolutely committed to ensuring that his clients enjoy their holiday...always attentive and pro-active to clients' needs. Our bedroom was spacious and enjoyed fabulous sea views. The food in the hotel restaurant, prepAred by Pino's father, was fantastic and a real taste of Italy....I would definitely recommend eating in the restaurant and don't be frightened of asking for something which is not on the menu as they will aim to meet your requirements and we were never disappointed. Breakfast is super too. The only downside for us, was the location....although it is in a great spot for sea views etc, it is isloated and we struggled as we didn't have a car. Popular with cyclists and Trekkers and perfect for those with their own transport.

Room Tip: We had the Camelia room, which was spacious and although we had a double and single bed in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinomilo, Proprietario at Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for visiting our Hotel and for describing it with such beautiful words.
It's a big pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your time in the Amalfi Coast and appreciated the beautiful landescape, the room and the italian food.
I look forward from hosting you again for a new stay, greetings from all the staff of Fico D'India Holidays,
Pino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Fico d`India is just as described in its website. A small friendly hotel, in Furore some 4 miles inland from the coast road. This 4 miles will take you about 15 minutes by car and the coast road itself is a nightmare to drive narrow with lots of parked cars, tourist coaches and buses.
We had a room with a balcony(small but what a great view) it had a small table and 2 chairs, TV(we could only find news channels in English), air conditioning and a small fridge. The shower room was small but adequate (it did not worry us not having a bath). Everything was very clean and toiletries were supplied.
If you could eat all of the first class food they gave you for your breakfast I would be surprised. The croissants were particularly good. The restaurant is away from the rooms through what we called `the cave` and served good evening meals.
The small terrace with sunbeds did not get much sun in the afternoon but this could be a bonus when the weather is very hot. There was a Jacuzzi/hot tub on the terrace.
The owner went out of his way to make your stay a pleasure ask him for sightseeing/parking tips.
Furore is not the place if you want nightlife but Fico d`India is certainly a good place to unwind.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinomilo, Proprietario at Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for visiting our Hotel and for describing it with such beautiful words.
It's a big pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your time in the Amalfi Coast and appreciated the beautiful landescape, the room and the italian food.
I look forward from hosting you again for a new stay, greetings from all the staff of Fico D'India Holidays,
Pino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Targu Mures
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

It was my first experience in Italy and after my stay at Fico d'India my filling was that I was visiting the family of an old friend.
Excellent service and support from the hotel personnel (clean rooms, best local Italian traditional food, flex services)!
Location with very nice views and placed strategically on the Amalfi coast.
Daily trips arrangements were solved by Pino (the owner and manager) and when we had an initiative, his advice was appreciated.
I'll recommend to everybody that Fico d'India is one of the best locations to start your first experience on Amalfi coast!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinomilo, Proprietario at Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for visiting our Hotel and for describing it with such beautiful words.
It's a big pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your time in the Amalfi Coast and appreciated the beautiful landescape, the room and the italian food.
I look forward from hosting you again for a new stay, greetings from all the staff of Fico D'India Holidays,
Pino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We just came back from an unforgettable Southern Italy tour. While visiting the Amalfi coast we stayed 3 nights at Fico d'India, located in the village of Furore. We had a nice and simple room, with air conditioning, widescreen TV, and a balcony with an amazing view. This place is really special because of its location, the people and the food.

The hotel has a great location. The picturesque Fiordo, which is the main tourist attraction for the village of Furore, is right below the hotel. You can walk down the 900 steps, sunbathe and swim in the clear waters of the Mediterranean Sea. You can take a boat back to town to avoid climbing up the stairs. You can take long drives along the Amalfi Coast that have breath taking views for miles. You can take a boat ride to visit Capri.

Fico d'India Holidays is a family run business and they make sure that every single guest is treated like a family member. The friendly staff makes you feel like home. They really do.

The restaurant overlooks the spectacular Fiordo by the sea. They serve fresh and tasty food every day. We mostly enjoyed the freshly baked pastries, the seafood and the lemon liqueur.

Overall, this place was an awesome retreat and it felt more like spending time with family at a country home. If we ever go back in that area, we will definitely stay there.

Room Tip: Rooms are a little plain but very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinomilo, Proprietario at Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Mary,
Thank you so much for visiting our Hotel and for describing it with such beautiful words.
It's a big pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your time in the Amalfi Coast and appreciated the beautiful landescape, the room and the italian food.
I look forward from hosting you again for a new stay, greetings from all the staff of Fico D'India Holidays,
Pino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I could actually rewrite my previous review adding a few more nice adjectives. We could stay in the same room as last year. The welcome, the breakfasts, the dinners, the atmosphere and what`s most important Pino - the owner - fantastic!!! I could actually live there if only the driving wasn`t that challenging ....
Pino is a great host. I didn`t have to say a word and he knew what I wanted for dinner (obviously he remembered from last year that I love octopus). It`s a family-run business and every single guest can feel as a family member. We (me and my husband) can`t wait to go back there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I'm going to keep this short since I feel like I'll just end up repeating all of the other rave reviews. This Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear hotel is a fantastic place to stay. From the moment you step onto the property, Pino and his family treat all of the guests like long-time friends...We spent 3 nights with Pino at this hotel in Prickly Pear. The service and attention to detail was second to none. I can't emphasis how much care and attention Pino the proprietor gives to all his guests it really was impressive. The hotel is in the quieter village of furore away from the tourist hot spots.

Room Tip: Room on south side is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear

Address: Via Aldo Moro, 2, 84010 Furore, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Furore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Furore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holidays Fico d'India was born in 2005.This is the family business.The beauty of the home, which was inherited from the owners grandparents, Pino was the starting point for the new design, keeping one objective in mind: to maintain intact the Mediterranean atmosphere that has always characterized the coast while recuperating antic traditions of the Campagne region. The care of the gardens, rich with exotic plants, lemon and orange trees, shows the love that the new owners have for their property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holidays Fico d`India / Prickly Pear Hotel Furore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.