We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Family Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holidays Fico D'India

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holidays Fico D'India to your Saves list
Holidays Fico D'India
Via Aldo Moro, 2, 84010 Furore, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Furore
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Family Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We spent 6 memorable days in the Camelia room which has two sets of french doors that open to a magnificent sea view. Fico d'India fitted two twin beds along with a double that comfortably suited my family of four. Our room was cleaned very well each day and we enjoyed a peaceful rest every night. My seventeen year old usually sleeps in, but was eager to start his day with the delicious breakfast offered every morning especially when he discovered the fresh baked pastries were not to be missed.
We originally had a full itinerary planned that included Paestum and Pompeii, but instead our children asked to stay close by to make the most of this relaxing atmosphere. One day we even stayed at the hotel to catch up on reading and sunbathing on the back patio. I took advantage of the hot tub where I soaked in the view while I soaked in the tub. This tired mom was rejuvenated.
Pino recommended Duoglio beach which became our favorite. There are over 400 steps to the cliff-side stairs (so wear good shoes) but the beach makes the descent worthwhile. The beach is very clean and has a nice "snack bar" (the one with bright blue and white trim) with delicious fresh seafood entrees. There is a small boat that will shuttle you back to Amalfi, saving you a climb back to the top at the end of the day. Though I imagine there are many nice restaurants in Amalfi and the surrounding area, we chose to eat all our dinners at Fico d'India that week. There was not a meal that disappointed. Pino picked up fresh seafood every morning so it was a delight to sample his dish of the day for dinner. My twelve year old daughter's favourite was the fresh gnocchi. My son became known as "Mr Steak" because it was what he ordered every night. After dinner, my husband enjoyed a small glass of limoncello while we enjoyed the breathtaking view of the sea at night. We are so fortunate to have found such a lovely place to stay in an unforgettable part of the world. Here, we were able to relax, bond as a family, and as my husband said, "we found our smiles again." We thank Pino and his staff for offering a genuinely friendly and helpful service in an unobtrusive way. We had such a happy and relaxing vacation and we hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Email Pino directly to let him know your specifications. The Camelia room does not have a shower bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    48
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
74
278
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We've just returned from 6 lovely days at Fico d'India. Pino, the owner, went above and beyond to make sure that our stay was wonderful.He answered the many questions my dad asked (my dad asks a LOT of questions!) and was even on hand to give us lifts if needed!

The staff are friendly and helpful, and the views are stunning. The rooms are fairly plain but functional-what is really special about this place are the views, the people and the food! The food was fantastic-my family and I rarely eat in the same place twice on holiday, but it was so fresh and delicious here that we couldn't resist. The breakfasts, as noted by other reviewers, were epic! I love pastries and I love cheese, so to be served both at breakfast time was always going to be a winner in my book! The breakfast was so hefty it kept me going til late into the afternoon.

If you're travelling without a car, be warned that the SITA service to and from Furore isn't that frequent. However, once you get a timetable from Pino, you should be able to plan accordingly. Also, as with everywhere on the Amalfi coast, Furore has steep hills or a good few steps, which can be a problem for those with limited mobility.

But public transport aside, it was a fantastic place to stay in a beautiful part of the world, thanks to Pino and his team. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinomilo, Owner at Holidays Fico D'India, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
I would like to thank you for choosing our structure for your stay in Furore in the Amalfi Coast and for writing a such beautiful review. It's a big pleasure reading your words because they let us understand that you spent a nice time here and that you had the possibility to relax yourself and enjoy the beautiful landscape offered by the nature.
I am very glad to know that everything was ok during your stay. I look forward from seeing you again for a new holiday and wish you all the best.
Kind Regards from all staff of Fico D' India Holidays,
Pino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

From the beginning of our stay to the end, we experienced the best hospitality in which Pino (the hotel owner) went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that our stay at Fico d'India was not only pleasant but one to remember.

The room had a fresh and open feel to it coupled with the bathroom which was always clean and well presented. The view from our room was astounding, capturing not only the sea view but you were also able to take in the magnificence of Furore from dusk till dawn. There was never any noise wherever you were and you always felt at peace and time did not matter.

The restaurant was majestic, hidden away at the back of the hotel, you were able to drink in not only the view but one of their famous local wines whilst you dine in style eating some of Furore's freshly caught seafood, which was fantastically prepared. Not only was the dinner excellent but the breakfast which consisted of freshly baked pastries, traditional breakfast platters consisting of local meats, cheeses and fruit was truly enjoyable.

We felt like this review which could go on and on about the amazing location, food and view would not be complete without a special mention to Pino himself and his family who are the life and soul of Fico d'India and they are an amazing team of people who made our stay unforgettable. Pino, without a doubt, is one of the best hosts we have ever had the opportunity to come across - from morning till night he was more than happy to assist us with anything and his genuine interest and service is a rare trait in a person.

We feel as though some reviews complain about the location being too remote and not as close to Amalfi as they would like, however, Pino more than makes up for this and was extremely insightful with bus information and tourist attractions. The local buses are quite easy to use and although they do not run very frequently, they run until quite late in the night and if you ever ran into any trouble, you could contact Pino who would be more than willing to help you out.

This was an great holiday but what made it special was Pino and Fico d'India, so we would like to thank the Pino and his family for an unforgettable holiday and we recommend this to anyone who wishes to experience the true Amalfi Coast.

From Emilia and Ryan

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinomilo, Owner at Holidays Fico D'India, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our structure for your holiday in Amalfi Coast and for writing this beautiful review. I am pleased to know that you spent a nice time in our structure. I thank you for all the compliments to the staff and food. I look forward from hosting you soon for a new holiday in Italy.
Best Regards by the staff of Fico D'India Holidays.
Pino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have just returned from a short, rainy trip to the Amalfi Coast.
The best thing about the stay was the very accommodating a friendly staff.
The hotel is run by family members who all keen to make the stay comfortable and memorable.

Food is 'just like Mama makes'-although in this case it's Dad and we felt it was a taste of Italy at its best.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinomilo, Owner at Holidays Fico D'India, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear guest,
Thanks for choosing our Hotel for your stay in Furore and for your kind review. I am very happy to know that you spent a nice holiday in the Amalfi Coast and we hope to host you again.
Best regards from all the staff of Fico D'India Holidays,
Pino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were lucky to spend few days last week at Fico d'India. exceptional family run hotel in furore. At first we met Pino the owner who gave us warm welcome, it's service during the entier saty was excellent . the room was in perfect condition. Pino was always there to assist in every request and answer any question. The family are loving and carrying. Pino's father is a great chef and having the magic touch when in the kitchen. The restaurant is perfect both breakfast & dinner were the best we had ever. The location is very good and the view from the balcony keep you speachless.
No doubt ....we'll come again !!!! Thanks to all for a perfect holiday at Amalfi coast.

Room Tip: The room with the balcony "Camilia" was perfect !!!! ask for it and you'll never regre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinomilo, Owner at Holidays Fico D'India, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
I would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel Fico D'India Holidays for your stay in Furore in the Amalfi Coast and for writing a such beautiful review. It's a big pleasure reading your words because they let us understand that you spent a nice time here and that you had the possibility to relax yourself and enjoy the beautiful landscape offered by the nature.
I am very glad to know that everything was ok during your stay. I look forward from seeing you again for a new holiday and wish you all the best.
Kind Regards from all staff of Fico D' India Holidays,
Pino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We recently spent a fabulous week at the hotel holidays Fico D'India and we could not have been happier with our choice . Firstly I'd like to praise the service of Pino who is the owner of this family business , what an absolute diamond he is such a friendly , caring and helpful person. He truly made our stay memorable and we were sad to say goodbye .
Also I'd like to give a special mention to all his family partners , them smile and enthusiasm were infectious .They were friendly , welcoming and hospitable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinomilo, Owner at Holidays Fico D'India, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about our Hotel Holidays Fico d' India and for choosing our hotel for your stay in Furore in Amalfi Coast. I really appreciate your compliments and I am glad to know that you spent a nice time in the our structure . I am really would like to host you again for a new holiday and i take the occasion to wish you the best.
Kind Regards from all the staff of Fico d'India Holidays,
Pino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wonderful setting, exceptional service and charming staff, starting with Pino, who is a great host and makes you feel at home every single time he is around! We really loved the Amalfi coast, but half of the experience was definitely staying at Fico d'India and eating the great food served in the restaurant.

Room Tip: We stayed in two of the rooms with sea view and it was wonderful, but I think any room is great. Mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinomilo, Owner at Holidays Fico D'India, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you so much for your wonderful review
I am very happy that you spent a nice time in Furore in the Amalfi Coast. I am happy to know who you have appreciated the hotel, the rooms and the kindness of the staff.
Regards from all of the staff of Fico D'India Holidays,
Pino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Furore
0.5 mi away
La Locanda del Fiordo
2.0 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 30 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bacco
Hotel Bacco
#4 of 5 in Furore
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#7 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holidays Fico D'India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holidays Fico D'India

Address: Via Aldo Moro, 2, 84010 Furore, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Furore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Furore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holidays Fico d'India was born in 2005. The beauty of the home, which was inherited from the owners grandparents, was the starting point for the new design, keeping one objective in mind: to maintain intact the Mediterranean atmosphere that has always characterized the coast while recuperating antic traditions of the Campagne region. The care of the gardens, rich with exotic plants, lemon and orange trees, shows the love that the new owners have for their property. The choice of names was not difficult. "Fico d'India" or the prickly pear cactus is a plant that characterizes the Amalfi Coast and most all of Furore. Holidays Fico d'India is positioned overhanging the Sea, along the Walloon named " Vottara " that joins the sea at " Fiordo di Furore " , just 6 km from Amalfi center and 14 km from Positano. Holidays Fico d'India permits its guests to enjoy the double image of the coast, one side is characterized with the perfumes and sounds of the wild, rocky surroundings, the other side is the tradition of the warm and friendly hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holidays Fico D'India reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holidays Fico d`India / Prickly Pear Hotel Furore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holidays Fico D'India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.