We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best we've ever experienced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear to your Saves list
Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear
Via Aldo Moro, 2, 84010 Furore, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Furore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Simply the best we've ever experienced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Simply the best we've ever experienced

That, at first examination and upon even further consideration, is how we would describe our four days and nights at the Hotel Holidays Fico D'India. Pino and his entire family are simply the most cordial, most warm - heck, the most loving - hosts we've ever had anywhere and at any time in some 10 trips to Europe, to Australia, to England, to France. Even to - and my apologies to my previous best-ever - nation of Ireland and the people of Dingle Town.

Located amidst the twisting, heart-churning narrow mountain roads above the Amalfi Coast of southern Italy, and overlooking both the blue Mediterranean Sea and the Fjord of Furore, this is as close to travel home heaven as my wife Barb and I have ever been.

Perched midway above and between Positano and Amalfi - with Sorrento and Ravel
day-trip delights within reach by SITA bus - we paid 90 Euros a night for a 30-meter, Italian-tiled suite with double balcony overlooking the mountain's run to the sea. The room had a queen-size bed withan extra day bed, a desk, satellite television, a fridge and a wonderful Jacuzzi tub to help the legs prepare for the next day's excursion.

Just down the hall on the same level was the Ristorante "Lo Scrivano" where we ate breakfast every day "whenever you want, this is your home," Pino said the first day, and where on three evenings we dined on local special dishes and wine, and where Pino presented Barb a rose and birthday wishes.

Ah, and the Limoncello, the grain-alcohol-fortified, freezer-chilled after-dinner drink that filled the nose and tingled the taste buds.

As you'll be able to tell from looking at the pictures I've attached, Fico D'India is just a beautiful place to stay.

But what sets it apart is Pino, the patron son who has turned his boyhood home into a six-room slice of love that is a familia affair that includes his mother and father, his brother and sister in law, his wife and two boys, and honored guests that when we were there included a young Italian family of four, a couple from Denmark, another from Italy, and another from the United States, along with a couple of middle American Missourians in Barb and me.

I emailed Pino as to the best way to reach Fico D'India once we arrived by train via Naples and Salerno, and then by bus to Amalfi. "I will drive you."

I believed this to be a nice, one-time gesture. It became an every morning occurrence on our way to our starts in Amalfi, and on Italian Liberation Day also included Pino coming to our rescue in the evening when traffic was bumper-to-bumper and fender-to-fender if we had ridden the bus.

Other guests, hoping to arrive at midnight for the start of their stay, ran into travel problems. Pino was there to check them in at 2 o'clock in the morning and was still up to greet us at breakfast.

This is, of course, a review of a place to stay, not of a vacation trip that began for us in early April boarding a cruise out of New Orleans to Rome, and that was extended for a stay in Naples, a trip to Pompeii, and then "Bella Amalfi."

But to show just how extra special our stay at the Hotel Holidays Fico D'India made that trip, consider this.

When it came time to pay the bill at Fico D'India, at a cost of just more than 500 Euros (food, wine, room) for our four days and nights, I did something I have never before done in my life. I put an extra 25 Euros into the protesting hands of our friend Pino, explaining that it was not a tip as much as a thank you.

If you plan a trip to the Amalfi Coast and you do not try to stay with Pino - info@hotelholidaysficodindia.com - then yours is the loss of indelible memories.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinomilo, Owner at Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our Fico d' India Holidays for your holiday in Amalfi Coast and for writing this beautiful review. We are pleased to know that you spent a nice time in our structure. We thank you for all the compliments to the staff and food.
We look forward from hosting you soon for a new holiday in Italy.
Best Regards by the staff of Fico d'India Holidays.
Pino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    44
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
66
253
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

What makes this hotel stand out is the amazing service which Pino and his team provide to every individual customer. He really does go out of his way to make sure you enjoy your stay. Furore is a lovely location, set back into the hills (so not for those who want a beach stay) but the tranquility of the area is just so relaxing. Pino's on site restaurant is delicious, we ate there 2 of the 3 evenings!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinomilo, Owner at Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel Holidays Fico d' India during your stay in the Amalfi Coast and for writing your beautiful review. We really hope to see you again for a new holiday in Furore.

Best Regards,
Pino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

One of the best hotels I ever stayed in on all counts..... Standards way exceeded expectations. Noel and I were welcomed here by Pino the owner, and he was there to say goodbye when we leftt, he even gave us a gift on departure of local jams. This hotel is managed to 5 star standards, and we were made feel like part of the family while we were there. Food was out of this world. Dinner was michlen star quality.. We left gifts behind us in the hotel and Pino was so good to actually drop them to Positano for us that evening - this is something you dont get everywhere.. Hotel is located up in the mountains overlooking the amalfi coast - spectacular views of both the sea and mountains.

Room Tip: We had sea view room with balcony outside.... Exceptional views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinomilo, Owner at Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
It' s a big pleasure to read your beautiful review about our Hotel Fico d'India Holidays and we thank you a lot for the lovely words about it. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in the Amalfi Coast and that you appreciated the hotel, the food and the kindness of the staff. All of us try to do the best to let our guests feel like at home. We look forward from seeing you soon and wish you all the best.

Best Regards,
Pino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Myself and husband stayed here for a week back in May 2012. We paid extra for the deluxe room with sea view and a balcony and it was well worth the money! However, because of a booking system mishap we agreed to move to a standard room for the last night (some other guests were very difficult and moany and we were happy to help out the owner and give them our deluxe room). It turned out the standard room was as lovely and comfortable, only there was no balcony and view was to the village and mountains. The rooms were clean and spacious, no frills, but had a little fridge and a TV with couple of channels (not great TV reception at either room). Breakfast was lovely but more “Italian” than what you usually get in hotels (bread with cheese & meat platter, yogurts, cereals and huge homemade pastries served hot with icing sugar to top all this (and different pastry every day - amazing!). Just note that breakfast was a lazy meal in Fico D’India and could take a while, so keep that in mind or let Pino know when you’re rushing somewhere in the morning. Furore is a sleepy village and hotel is located higher up on the coast with not many restaurants etc nearby. We had a tiny rented car and used the Sita bus only once or twice as it wasn’t very convenient. Very crowded, infrequent service and to get from Positano to Furore you had to take 2 buses (switching at Amalfi), so we preferred to use the car instead. We tried to drive around at evenings to eat at different places (and yes, parking and driving is expensive and not easy but very doable), but we ended up eating in the hotel good few times as their restaurant was sooo great! One of the best foods we tried around Amalfi Coast, all homemade, loads of choice even for vegetarians (was also offered and tried dishes outside of the printed menu). All of the staff were very friendly and the owner, Pino, as already mentioned, is a real star, fantastic host, extremely friendly and accommodating (all those reviews about giving lifts and advice and picking guests up - they’re all real!). I’m trying my best here to be objective but hey, Fico D’India was simply the best choice of accommodation we could’ve made and it really made our stay in Amalfi Coast unforgettable. It’s true it’s only a good B&B standard but the service and warmth of the place is what makes it a 5-star accommodation and still No.1 place for the area. Absolutely loved it!

Room Tip: Deluxe sea view rooms with balcony are very romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinomilo, Owner at Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
It' s a big pleasure to read your beautiful review about our Hotel Fico d' India Holidays and we thank you a lot for the lovely words about it.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in the Amalfi Coast and that you appreciated the hotel, the food and the kindness of the staff. All of us try to do the best to let our guests feel like at home.
We really hope to see you again for a new holiday in Furore.

Best Regards
Pino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in April 2013 while we visited the Amalfi Coast. We had a wonderful experience at this unique inn with great hospitality from Pino and his family, and we highly recommend it!
1) Spacious, clean room with king size bed, large terrace and jacuzzi tub - called the Camelia room - woke up to the most amazing views of the sun shining on the Furore coastline with the sounds of birds chirping, a rooster crowing (not annoying, don't worry) and the stream running to the fjord. One small thing: no separate shower stall in this room, but the jacuzzi has a shower head that you can hold in your hand and it does the trick. If this bothers you, get a different room with a standard shower. But with sooooo much walking up and down stairs during the day as we visited the towns of the Amalfi Coast, an evening soak in the jacuzzi was just what we needed.
2) Fantastic food and personalized dining experience - we are pescatarians and I have a nut allergy so we are a pain when it comes to eating out, but Pino was totally accommodating to our every need! His father is a great cook and dinners both nights were 5 courses of shrimp, octopus, fish, salad, cheese, olives, etc. The local wine selection was great (extra charge) and he also served us homemade limoncello. Breakfast included a plate of cheese and tomatoes, yogurt, fresh fruit, pastries, bread and jams, and I ordered eggs. You will love this unique dining room with its amazing vistas and orange and lemon trees surrounding you. In the morning they open up the windows to feel the breeze and hear the birds - it's lovely.
3) Central location along the Amalfi Coast -- if you have a car -- or we hired a private driver (Rainbow Limos - HIGHLY recommend - see my review) and were picked up and dropped off each day. From here we went south one day to Amalfi and Ravello, and the second day went north to Positano and Sorrento before heading back to Naples. If you are relying on public transport then I can understand why this may not be a convenient place to stay.
Pino is a great host and you really feel like you are staying at his house but with more privacy than a typical B&B. He was quick to reply to my emails and very responsive while we stayed there handling our needs such as extra pillows. Next time I would stay here again but take more time to enjoy the inn and just relax more. As we left, Pino gave us his special no-preserve jams that we will eat asap with fond memories of our great experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinomilo, Owner at Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel Fico d' India Holidays during your stay in the Amalfi Coast and for writing your beautiful review.
It is a big pleasure to read that you spent a beautiful time and that you wish to come back as soon as possible.
We are happy to host you .
Thanks a lot for all the compliments to the hotel, the staff and the food.
We look forward from seeing you soon and wish you all the best.

Kind regards,
Pino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a quick, quiet vacation in February. It was definitely the slow, quiet time of year, as it's the off season. This location is definitely more remote than staying closer to Amalfi but it has spectacular views and fantastic service. Pino is wonderfully friendly and makes you feel at home right away. He takes obvious pride in his property and that gives the whole place a wonderful feeling. The room was comfortable. Not fancy or modern, but clean and cozy. The bathroom was small, which is not unusual, but also clean and perfectly functional. The restaurant was closed when we were there but we had a lovely breakfast each morning and Pino was always there with tips and suggestions and directions. We definitely enjoyed a pleasant, relaxing stay here and would recommend it to anyone who appreciates great service!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinomilo, Owner at Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
It' s a big pleasure to read your beautiful review about our Hotel Fico d'India Holidays and we thank you a lot for the lovely words about it.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in the Amalfi Coast and that you appreciated the hotel, the food and the kindness of the staff. All of us try to do the best to let our guests feel like at home.
We really hope to see you again for a new holiday in Furore.

Best Regards,
Pino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed at the Fico D'india last July and was really disappointed. It's really difficult to get around from there. It's not within walking distance of the town and the buses are really infrequent during the day ( one every 2 hours or so). The buses stop at 9.00 O Clock at night and a taxi is really expensive and so it's difficult to have a leisurely evening meal in Amalfi, especially as the Italians eat late. Getting the bus back from Amalfi isn't easy either as the bus stops and the buses are not clearly signed.You can drive but it's expensive to park and hard to find a parking space. I didn't think the food was good at the Fico D'india and there aren't really places to walk to easily if you want to go somewhere else for dinner. If you go in summer you will also want to sit by the pool after a hot day of sight seeing and unfortunately the pool area is very small and not particularly nice. The sun goes off it in the afternoon and the view is blocked by bushes. I didn't think the accommodation was particularly nice either. It's worth paying more to stay somewhere a bit better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinomilo, Owner at Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear customer, I'm so sorry you are wrong about the place where he wanted to go.
From what I understand from her review she wanted a Center like Amalfi or Positano but Fury and a small village where peace reigns, a paradise.
She perhaps looked at the lower price and then it was angry with the Holidays fico d'india.
This is a place to relax and visit the Amalfi coast.
Surely that we don't love customers like you who seek the deal if we don't know where to go, I think she is a bit naive since I could read all the reviews by other customers that explain well what we are and then in 2013 with google maps, I think it's clear where a person wants to go.
I am sorry that you are coming here from me and others who loved staying here did not find a free room.
For me is not only a question of money but of satisfaction I love being with my customers and assist them throughout their holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear

Address: Via Aldo Moro, 2, 84010 Furore, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Furore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Furore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holidays Fico d'India was born in 2005.This is the family business.The beauty of the home, which was inherited from the owners grandparents, Pino was the starting point for the new design, keeping one objective in mind: to maintain intact the Mediterranean atmosphere that has always characterized the coast while recuperating antic traditions of the Campagne region. The care of the gardens, rich with exotic plants, lemon and orange trees, shows the love that the new owners have for their property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holidays Fico d`India / Prickly Pear Hotel Furore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.