We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could it get any better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear to your Saves list
Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear
Via Aldo Moro, 2, 84010 Furore, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Furore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Berkswell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Could it get any better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have just got back after two wonderful weeks at Fico d'India. When we arrived we were greeted by Pino who straight away offered us a cappucino. We had a beautiful room with a balcony with stunning views. Pino was a perfect host who on more than one occasion took us and picked us up in amalfi. Pino was always on hand to give us advice on the best mode of transport to take and help us with the bus timetable, and a few times even took us in his car to the bus stop, nothing was too much trouble for him. When we went for breakfast we were greeted by acilia (Pino's sister in law) we used to try to have a conversation with her which was fun as her english was better than our italian.The breakfast was really good with fresh figs and grapes from Pino's garden and fresh melon and beautiful homecooked pastries We eat in the restaurant quite a few times the food was excellent (all homecooked by Pino's father)
Pino's hospitality was second to none he would always say don't worry no problem there was nothing he would not do to make your holiday a one to remember. We were told by a tourist guide that Pino was the President of the hotel association (and this was much deserved as he cares very much for his guests comfort). I would definitely recommend this place. Thankyou so much Pino and gabriella (Pino's lovely wife)
Acilia, Manuel and Salvatore (Pino's assistants that were more than just waiters) .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinomilo, Owner at Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Czes and Susanne,
Tank you very much for your review and for have stay in Holidays fico d'india.
I and my staff have the beautiful remember of you , have stay 2 weeks in Holidays fico d'india for me not is the work but is same stay with the friends you is very simpatic and happy guests.
Greetings from the heart :
Ersilia , Gabriella , Salvatore , Manuel and
PINO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    43
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
63
247
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here on the last leg of our honeymoon. The hotel is set in the beautiful amalfi hills. We were greeted warmly by Pino with a yummy coffee and then shown to our room which was lovely with a fantastic balcony. Our room was very spacious and really clean. We felt at home and welcome straight away, Pino and all his staff are so friendly and helpful. We ate dinner here 5 out of 7 nights, the food is great, I would describe it as home cooked Italian and seems very popular with locals too! We had a car but didn't, take it out too often, much less stressful to use the bus which stops just outside the hotel! We did however drive to Pompeii, which was a fairly easy 50 min drive. Pino organised us a great trip to Capri, would definetly recommended. Overall, Pino and the other staff really make this place, we felt sad to leave and miss it now! We had a wonderful week! Thank you to Pino and everyone at fico d'india. Sarah and Jake

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinomilo, Owner at Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Sarah and Jake ,
i have the beautiful remember of you.
Tank very very much for the your review and for have appreciated all in the my hotel.
Again congratulations for your wedding
I hope to see you again soon.
Thank you for the very heart.
Pino ans all staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We were welcomed back like old friends for our second visit to Fico D'India . As we travel without a car, Pino picked us up at The Lover's Fountain in Amalfi, but we also used the local bus service to Furore and these drivers are well experienced to drive the precipitous Amalfi coastline while you enjoy the amazing views. Our lovely room with a small balcony offers a vista of vineyards on the terraced hillside and also the endless blue Tyrrhenian Sea. We chose the half-board option again, and enjoyed our delicious meals on the terrace restaurant so relaxing and peaceful.

The Furore Fjord is near by, just 300 steps down for a refreshing swim, and we were there for the excitement of the annual diving competition. On our first trip we wandered The Path of the Gods which leads you along the narrow mountain track into picturesque Positano. Pino will help you arrange a ferry to the Isle of Capri or an excursion to Pompeii. We enjoyed Amalfi with the Cathedral, the Old Paper Mill, some shopping and coffee and delectable pastries at Dolceria Antico Portico. Jim is going to learn how to make gelato there "next time".

And then, it is such a pleasure to return "home" to Fico D'Indoa at the end of each day with a cheerful greeting from Pino, Gabriella and Celia. Grazie Mille to everyone for your wonderful hospitality, best wishes until we meet again. Leila and Jim, Australia.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinomilo, Owner at Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Jim and Leila,
tank you very very much for have stay for the second time with me.
Tank you for have appreciated the work of my staff , me and my family.
I remember you for all my life.
Tank you heart.
Pino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We will thank owner Pino and his family for a pleasant and comfortable stay in Furore this summer.
Pino & co gets a lot of complements from his guests, and they are well deserved: the hotell is in very good order, rooms excellent, view great, food has a homemade quality and service at a level most hotels would learn a lot from.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinomilo, Owner at Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
It' s a big pleasure to read your beautiful review about our Hotel Fico d'India Holidays and we thank you a lot for the lovely words about it. I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Furore in the Amalfi Coast and that you appreciated the hotel, the food and the kindness of the staff.

Best Regards,
Pino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We reached Furore in the afternoon from Naples and settled in at Fico d'India. We were glad we booked here as this is a view that fits the Amalfi coast, a fantastic view of Vineyards, the sea and the winding highway. Every evening we ate at Fico d'India and we must have tried every recipe in that Menu. Simply amazing food, home cooked(The Chef is the owners DAD, how cool ) complimented with the house wine from Furore. Pino (the owner) and his staff(his family mainly) were friendly, helpful with a service I should say, I would die for! Hopefully till next time !

Room Tip: Just go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinomilo, Owner at Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for choosing our Hotel Fico d'India Holidays for your stay in Furore in the Amalfi Coast and for writing your beautiful review.
I am very happy to know that you spent a pleasant stay here and that you could appreciate the kindness of the staff, the food and the location.
I look forward from hosting you again for a new holiday.

Kind Regards
Pino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Based on the Tripadvisor reviews, we (me and my husband) booked Holidays Fico d`India. We couldn`t have chosen better! We knew everything would be great even before getting to the hotel.
We got lost on the way (we were driving to Furore). I called Pino (the owner and such a nice man) and he came to guide us to the hotel in 5 minutes! it was around 10 pm. We were greeted with nice home wine and some bruschettas.
It was already dark so we couldn`t see a thing. But the next morning, when we opened our balcony door, what a view!!! Then breakfast. A wonderful selection of Italian cold meats, delicious coffee, something sweet to follow. Enough food to keep you going all the day long.
We booked a suite. it`s very spacious, with a huge, comfortable bed, a sofa, a desk etc and a nice balcony with two chairs and a small table (you could spend there hours because of the view; sorry I`ve already mentioned the view but saying the word "view" a million times won`t be enough, you just have to see that with your own eyes!). The bathroom is big enough, clean with everything you need (I`d rather have a shower instead of a huge jacuzzi; a simple hook on the wall for the shower would do, I think). It`s a small family business but even nice slippers with their logo are provided.
After each wonderful day driving along the cost, we couldn`t wait to have dinner. Delicious, home-made food. There is a menu but nobody uses it. You tell Pino what you want and he`ll get it for you. I love octopus (I can`t eat it fresh in Poland where I live so I eat it when we travel) so every evening as my starter I had a lovely plate of octopus. Home-made, enormous delicious ravioli, nice fish, pasta with clams, you name it. To drink - a nice selection of local wines and liquors made locally as well. Not only the famous limoncello but other flavours that nobody knows what their names are in English. Yummy!!!
Pino treats his guests as friends. You get that feeling all the time. You can also buy the wine and liquors at the hotel. The prices are good. So nice you can take some of those flavours home. We got a box of fresh, delicious lemons back home with a recipe to make limoncello at home and we did it. With every sip of our limoncello we can feel as if we were sitting at Fico and chatting with Pino. I didn`t mention the view from the restaurant. You already know - it is gorgeous!!!
The location of the hotel is really good. Close to all interesting places to see along the Amalfi coast. Pino arranged a Capri trip for us (a waste of time in our opinion, very posh without a unique atmosphere; we think it`s so much nicer at the mainland). Pino took us to the place where the boat departed and picked us up after the trip.
You can see lots pieces of local ceramics all over the hotel. It makes the place so cosy.
You can even park your car under the olive trees!
Im` not putting any photos. The website shows everything.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinomilo, Owner at Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guests,
It' s a big pleasure to read your beautiful review about our Hotel Fico d'India Holidays and i thank you a lot for the lovely words about it.
I' m very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Furore in the Amalfi Coast and that you appreciated the hotel, the food and the kindness of the staff. All of us try to do the best to let our guests feel like at home. I really hope to see you again for a new holiday.
Best Regards,
Pino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Other reviewers have covered the amazing view, concierge-like abilities of Pino and his family,  the warm welcome, total cleanliness and comfort of the rooms, and nearly 24 hour services available (does this staff ever sleep?). 

The true soul of Fico d'india is in the heart of Pino, who was born in this house and has lovingly restored it to a guest house beyond b & b status, but if guest houses could be culinary resorts, this may well qualify. Pino has redone the house for our benefit. The 6 rooms are decorated in similar style with tasteful draperies, firm beds, colorful tile floors and in suite bathrooms. They vary both in room size, balcony size and bathroom features. If you want a tub, shower, balcony, extra bed...just ask. You have options when you book your room. There is also a sun terrace and large jaccuzi hot tub and sauna for guests to use and Pino has two scooters which are available for rent.

If you have ever visited a relative in another county, you have the sense of what it would be like to stay here. Pino makes you feel like family. In this region, there are many options for staying overnight...small family run places, large luxury hotels, and even convents converted to hotels. If you want to immerse yourself in the life of the Amalfi coast, stay at Fico d'india and learn why the people who live here love this life and continue to stay for generations.

Breakfast is served anytime after 7 a.m. in the scenic dining room overlooking the Bay by Pino's ever present sister in law, Antonia.  The table looks like a still life picture! (see photo). Juice, coffee, tea, milk for beverage, sliced bread, ham and cheese plate, bowl of fresh seasonal fruit, variety of cereals, and the freshest, flakiest breakfast pastries ever made! Most guests take some back to the room, storing them in the mini-fridge for later.

Fico d'India  is off the  beaten path.  Choose to stay here if you prefer quiet at night, want to be treated like special family, and desire amazing views of the coast.

Tip: Although the bus does run nearby, a car is useful if you want complete freedom to come and go as you please. Otherwise you are tied to the bus schedule and its hours of service which could take some of the spontaneity out of touring the coast.

As an added bonus there is a great restaurant (serving both lunch and dinner reviewed under Restaurante Holidays Fico d'India) that is locally known for fresh, seasonal food and giving guests the feeling of having just come home.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. There are only 6 rooms and at least 5 have balconies with all the sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinomilo, Owner at Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
DEAR GUESTS,

thank you so much for your wonderful review.
You described everything perfectly, giving to other future customers a quick summary of what they might find when you visit us at Fico d'India Holidays. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Furore in the Amalfi Coast and that you appreciate the hotel, the food and the kindness of the staff.
Best regards from all the staff of the Fico d'India Holidays,
Pino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear

Address: Via Aldo Moro, 2, 84010 Furore, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Furore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Furore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holidays Fico d'India was born in 2005.This is the family business.The beauty of the home, which was inherited from the owners grandparents, Pino was the starting point for the new design, keeping one objective in mind: to maintain intact the Mediterranean atmosphere that has always characterized the coast while recuperating antic traditions of the Campagne region. The care of the gardens, rich with exotic plants, lemon and orange trees, shows the love that the new owners have for their property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holidays Fico d`India / Prickly Pear Hotel Furore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holidays Fico d'India / Prickly Pear, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.