We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet comfortable 6-night retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holidays Fico D'India

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holidays Fico D'India to your Saves list
Holidays Fico D'India
Via Aldo Moro, 2, 84010 Furore, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Furore
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet comfortable 6-night retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This is the place to stay on the Amalfi Coast if you prefer good value, a quiet retreat from the busy tourist towns, don’t mind driving the hairpin roads (or walking to catch the bus), and love Limoncello (best ever and made by Pino's mamma with home-grown lemons). We loved the terraces, family garden; the patio was a great place to take in views, have conversation and a drink. Room and property has lovely views and is a short walk away from a gorgeous (600 step) stone path to the sea. Had a comfortable bed, though shower was the tiniest we've ever seen and had to wait forever for warm water. I thought the continental breakfast choices were acceptable, spouse did not. We were not impressed with local seafood specialties, especially the octopus and squid dishes. Wife got sick after first meal (suspected food poisoning, possibly from marinated anchovies?) while she was convinced it was the Totani e Patate. However, pharmacist at nearby Pharmacia made it all better. My most memorable and enjoyable meal was the Spaghetti Aglio e Olio ordered "off-menu" on our last night. Restaurant hostess, Antonia, was very pleasant and service oriented. As others noted, Pino was indeed a great host! He was very friendly, made me smile ever time he called me "Michele", generously shared his mamma's limoncello recipe (the local lemons make it special), and was genuinely concerned about making our stay on the Amalfi Coast comfortable and memorable. We would definitely stay there again and highly recommend this B&B to our friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    47
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
70
270
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Pino is very friendly, alwais present, beautiful place, big bedroom, at breackfast better croissant we eat in our life and a delicious "torta caprese". Sun, sea, moon expectaculars !!! Natural masterpiece !!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Honestly, this one of the best stays ever. Pino is just the most amazing host and I couldn't agree more that it's simply the best stay I've ever had. It was definitely like being in paradise with the views in the morning being stunning sea views and the location just perfectly situated between Amalfi & Positano.

Pino's food was fabulous with the fresh seafood best to none (oh the octopus) and pasta/lasagne spot on. The tomatoes on the first day were so good, really what you expected of Italy. Avoid the risotto though, not so good. I would also recommend that the sachets of olive oil and vinegar be replaced with bottles, a bit tacky.

The room was good and basic, no frills but works. The shower was a bit small and lots of gizmos to keep your entertained. TV had lots of channels you wouldn't watch, many didn't work.

Overall, this is the best stay I've ever had and would highly recommend. I would definitely return and I miss Pino to this day - Pino is the sort of guy who should be in hospitality for all the right reasons. Right on Pino Fantastico :)

Room Tip: Make sure you get the sea view - I think most are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Nuestra estadia de 3 noches en Fico d’ India ha sido excelente. Todo muy bien.El comedor restaurant donde se desayuna es espectacular, y el desayuno italiano muy bueno. Como lo indican todos los que han estado en este Albergo, todo estaba muy prolijo y muy limpio. El lugar es muy bello, las vistas muy hermosas.
La Costa Malfitana muy recommendable e imperdible, los caminos muy panoramicos, a cada curva un Nuevo panorama del mar o de la Montana, Amalfi, Ravello, Positano, todas maravillosas.
Pino es el anfitrion perfecto, muy amable y colaborador. Nos hizo sentir como en casa. Gracias Pino, ci vediamo la prossima volta. Recomendamos sinceramente este lugar.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

we spent 7nights at pino's place with his lovely family. the hotel is charming, the room was big, beautifull, convenient, with amazing sea view. the service was great pino was willing to help with everything, tonia in the restorant was charming and helpfull. more than a month has passed and we can't forget the superb vacation we had. ialmost forgot to mention the great breakfat and we ate also 4 dinnrs that were delicious. we will defenetly come back

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Thanks, Pino, for all! Wonderful food, best rooms. Seven happyful days! Can say nothing more than other says.

Room Tip: Chose rooms with balcony, it its available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Pino and his family are the loveliest people and the best hosts I've ever experienced. The hotel, with basic but comfortable amenities were paired with stunning views, like being in Paradise.

Breakfasts were pastries, yoghurt, coffee, fruit and I highly recommend eating dinner there. Pino's father is the chef and cooks up beautiful, stunning seafood and pasta dishes.

I will not consider staying anywhere else if I was in the Amalfi area.

And definitely have a car.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Furore
1.3 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.5 mi away
La Locanda del Fiordo
2.0 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 30 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bacco
Hotel Bacco
#4 of 5 in Furore
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holidays Fico D'India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holidays Fico D'India

Address: Via Aldo Moro, 2, 84010 Furore, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Furore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Furore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holidays Fico d'India was born in 2005. The beauty of the home, which was inherited from the owners grandparents, was the starting point for the new design, keeping one objective in mind: to maintain intact the Mediterranean atmosphere that has always characterized the coast while recuperating antic traditions of the Campagne region. The care of the gardens, rich with exotic plants, lemon and orange trees, shows the love that the new owners have for their property. The choice of names was not difficult. "Fico d'India" or the prickly pear cactus is a plant that characterizes the Amalfi Coast and most all of Furore. Holidays Fico d'India is positioned overhanging the Sea, along the Walloon named " Vottara " that joins the sea at " Fiordo di Furore " , just 6 km from Amalfi center and 14 km from Positano. Holidays Fico d'India permits its guests to enjoy the double image of the coast, one side is characterized with the perfumes and sounds of the wild, rocky surroundings, the other side is the tradition of the warm and friendly hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Holidays Fico D'India reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holidays Fico d`India / Prickly Pear Hotel Furore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holidays Fico D'India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.