We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and felt very looked after!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holidays Fico D'India

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holidays Fico D'India to your Saves list
Holidays Fico D'India
Via Aldo Moro, 2, 84010 Furore, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Furore
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great hotel and felt very looked after!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

I stayed here in March for two nights having found it on Trip Advisor. The hotel was lovely but what made it excellent was the care and attention of the owner. He made every effort to ensure my stay went smoothly. I didn't use the hotel transport but I heard him arranging to collect and drop off various other guests in Amalfi, and he advised on trips and travel arrangements.

Every room has a balcony from which you can see the sea. The rooms are clean and have a fridge and small TV, and all are en suite. My room had a shower not a bath but the shower had various options including a hand held ordinary shower, or six shower heads that sprayed water vertically at you, and a built in radio! It would have been good to have a couple more English language TV channels other than BBC world but that is only a small gripe.

Breakfast was the usual continental breakfast. I had yoghurt and two delicious pastries each morning, the pastries were brought warm to the table. I ate dinner both nights in the hotel and again it was delicious. Despite there being few guests in the hotel (it was out of season) there was a good choice on the menu. I had a lovely Caprese salad, followed by white fish on the first night and grilled prawns on lemon leaves on the second. I asked for ice cream on the first night but they had none, but on the second night they had made a fresh and wonderful lemon sorbet.

On my second day there, I returned after a long sight seeing tour, driving around the narrow hairpin bends of the Amalfi coast and asked the owner for a gin and tonic to relax on my balcony. He did not add it to my bill at the end of the stay, and I don't think this was an oversight, it was just one of the little touches that made everything about this hotel lovely.

The hotel is inland but overlooks the bay, too far to walk to the sea and there is no pool. But I relaxed in the sun on the balcony.

Room Tip: Eat in the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    47
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
70
269
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

We planned to stay two days, but then too sad to leave such a nice hotel with 5-star service and views with the sea, so we decided to stay longer. The manager, Pino, is an excellent "host", always with welcoming greetings and caring services! The breakfast, and every dish were so delicious, water mouthing! We do not need to go anywhere for dining, just perfect place for a holiday!

We enjoyed so much! Thank you Pino!!! We hope to come back again and I will still eat the "fresh pasta with eggplant dish"! Keep up your spirit and all the best for you and your family!

Your Mongolian and Estonian customers / friends

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

When you go to the Amalfi coast it is impossible not to be impressed with the sea, the views, the landscape, the unbelievable structures and art and the manner in which people utilize the land. There is no place like it on earth.

However the windy roads and Italian drivers make you less than comfortable going anywhere. This hotel and Pino the owner and Mario his young helper make you feel like you are in heaven. Service is very personal and very caring. Anything to make you happy. And the price is very good.

For a place with only 6 rooms, soon to be 10, you would not expect a fine restaurant, but that is what they have! I am actually amazed that word has not gotten out about the food and the service, because he could easily serve 35 or more people and they normally only have the guests.

I cannot say enough about this place. It has been a family home for almost 100 years. Pino, a relatively young man with children, was born there and his parents still live there and he raises his current family there. It is a fine example of an Italian family and hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

This was our second trip to Fico d'India. This time, Pino organized our wedding on the Amlafi Coast, and our guests styed at Fico d'India and Locanda Ripa delle Janare (run by Pino's cousin, also named Pino) immediately below Fico (private stairs allowed guests to come and go to Fico d'India from Janare.

First, understand that Fico d'India has no equal. Guests from our wedding preferred the hospitality and food at Fico d'India over Ripa delle Janare. Janare is nice, but is cannot be fairly put on a similar level as Fico for the warmth of the owner and the family feeling that you get.

As a Wedding planner, Pino is amazing! He helped us find a location, arrange the civil wedding at City Hall, and the ceremonial wedding at a nearby castle overlooking the Tyrrhenian Sea (see picture). It was amazing.

Most of our guests have told us that they cannot wait to go back to Hotel Holidays Fico d'India for a relxing week or two just on their own.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

We are soooo going back to Fico D'India and the Furore area! What a wonderful stay in a beautiful area. Pino (owner/operator) and his staff were excellent hosts during our 5 days at Fico D'India. Service was excellent, food was incredible, and the B&B itself is beautifully situated on the side of a fiord, overlooking the Med. sea, near the town of Amalfi. Rooms & the main dinning room/terrace have stunning views of the Med. Patio at the entrance of the B&B has a beautiful view of the Fiord. Grounds are luscious and well maintained with fig & olive trees along the entrance. The rooms themselves are of decent size and of tasteful decor. We were fortunate to have a balcony and enjoyed more than a few cappucinos & glasses of wine overlooking the sea! Head down to the town of Amalfi, walk up the road to the closest wine bar, wander along some of the little trails that are mountainside near the B&B, or just relax at Fico and enjoy the hospitality! Lastly, if you are looking for help planning a wedding in the area, Pino is a great contact in terms of coordinating a beautiful location (such as beachside on the Med or in our friends' case - a castle!) and mouth-watering wedding dinner at Fico D'India after the ceremony. Absolutely wonderful experience from start to finish!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

We came to Fico D'India for the last week of our honeymoon and are so glad we did. Pino is an amazing, genuine host and we would love to stay with him and his family again.

We felt very relaxed, welcome and at home - we loved the delicious, generously portioned food, the clean, good sized room and the gorgeous view; the complimentary limoncello, the lovely coffees and the amazing breakfasts; the very useful lifts into Amalfi and Agerola and we enjoyed just sitting around watching the cats!

The free wi-fi in the bar was very useful, as was Pino's local knowledge and suggestions of things to do. We wanted for nothing and had a lovely week. I only wish we could have stayed longer! Thank you Pino and everyone at Fico D'India :)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

I have never felt so instantly relaxed as I did when I arrived at Fico D'India for a week's holiday with my wife and parents-in-law. Pino, the owner, makes you feel like a member of the family and nothing is too much trouble. He offered to drive us to Amalfi to get the ferry to Capri, provided directions and maps for our days out, served breakfast at whatever time we wanted it, and took great delight in providing meals that were "off menu" whenever we wanted them!

Mario, Pino's cousin, runs the restaurant, and just like Pino, nothing is too much trouble. The setting and ambience is exceptional, and being a small (6 rooms) hotel, the level of personal service and attention is second to none.

We booked this hotel having read the reviews on this website, and to be honest, they were so good that I was a little skeptical... Believe every word! This place is one in a million... We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Furore
1.3 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.5 mi away
La Locanda del Fiordo
2.0 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 30 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bacco
Hotel Bacco
#4 of 5 in Furore
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holidays Fico D'India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holidays Fico D'India

Address: Via Aldo Moro, 2, 84010 Furore, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Furore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Furore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holidays Fico d'India was born in 2005. The beauty of the home, which was inherited from the owners grandparents, was the starting point for the new design, keeping one objective in mind: to maintain intact the Mediterranean atmosphere that has always characterized the coast while recuperating antic traditions of the Campagne region. The care of the gardens, rich with exotic plants, lemon and orange trees, shows the love that the new owners have for their property. The choice of names was not difficult. "Fico d'India" or the prickly pear cactus is a plant that characterizes the Amalfi Coast and most all of Furore. Holidays Fico d'India is positioned overhanging the Sea, along the Walloon named " Vottara " that joins the sea at " Fiordo di Furore " , just 6 km from Amalfi center and 14 km from Positano. Holidays Fico d'India permits its guests to enjoy the double image of the coast, one side is characterized with the perfumes and sounds of the wild, rocky surroundings, the other side is the tradition of the warm and friendly hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Holidays Fico D'India reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holidays Fico d`India / Prickly Pear Hotel Furore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holidays Fico D'India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.