We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel of our whole trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bacco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bacco to your Saves list
Hotel Bacco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via G.B. Lama, 9, 84010, Furore, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Furore
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best hotel of our whole trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We took a 15 days trip around Italy and this was without a doubt the best hotel we stayed in. The rooms are beautiful. The views of the coast are just incredible from the room and from every place at the hotel. The restaurant is superb and the breakfast delicious. The staff is also very kind. This was an excelent choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plácido P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I cannot speak more highly of Bacco. Although I have not stayed in the hotel yet, if it is anything like the restaurant then I will in the near future. I love this place and have dinned there a few times now. The view is stunning, overlooking the med from high up in the hills of the slice of heaven that is the Amalfi coast. Last time we went it was a full moon and the ocean was golden. The food is some of the best I have had in Italy, and as my fiance is Italian and I live here, that is saying a lot. I always order seafood and it is of the highest quality and cooked to perfection. Match this with one of the world class wines of the nearby wine producer Marisa Cuomo ( I can say that as I have been working in the wine industry for nearly 10 years and I know superbly made wine when I see it!), and you have a match made in heaven. The service is spot on, in the Italian casual and friendly manner. Sure, there are some lovely restaurants in Positano and Bacco may not be as bling as them, but for the price/quality ratio Bacco is as good as it gets. So book a table on the terrace and relax into a wonderful dinning experience that Bacco is. Truly exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisosaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a must for travellers to Amalfi. The view is amazing looking down on the Port of Amalfi from the cliffs of Furore. Yes it is up in the heavens but worth a bus ride down to the ocean. The service was so friendly and the food was of the highest standard. I learnt they subscibe to the Slow Food movement so it ensured every meal was delicious.
Their own Limoncello is the best made from Amalfi lemons-unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Any room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarmenA53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed in Furore for a week in early October 2012 and ate dinner every night on the sea view patio of the Hotel Bacco. The food was excellent and some of the best we have had during several trips to Italy in recent years. Management and staff went out of thier way to make sure our dining experience and our stay in the area (we did not stay at the hotel) was most enjoyable. They also had free wi-fi and sold bus tickets for local buses. Our waiter (Ahsuz-sp?) from India who waited on us every night was fantastic and made sure we lacked for nothing. He even arranaged for a local mistro to sing at our table one night! All in all, outstanding find and highly recommend it to others who visit Furore. Congratulations to the Bacco for a job well done!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoersholm, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We found this restaurant a little off the beaten track due to the fact that it was a 'Bib Gourmand' restaurant in the Michelin Guide 2012 (good food at reasonable prices). We didn't stay at the hotel, so we can only write about the food. It was excellent - a choice of superbly cooked fish dishes as well as an excellent veal steak and mixed grill. The portions were very generous and the food high quality. We ordered the 3 course menu at 30 Euros and found it to be excellent value. We enjoyed every mouthful. We went back 5 days later for my mother's birthday and ordered from A la Carte - also excellent and not much more expensive. We highly recommend it. The view from the balcony is gorgeous (but then this is the case for many restaurants on the Amalfi Coast!)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexLLarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjm752
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We were fortunate that a wedding reception was scheduled in the hotel restaurant the weekend we hoped to book this hotel and visit the Amalfi Coast. The hotel was officially closed for the period of November we hope to be there. Staff were brought in to work for the week end, but as we were the only guests, it was a bit difficult to determine what it would be like during the normal season. The hotel offers a spectacular view. Accomodations were clean, bright and comfortable. For any who fear heights and driving on switchbacks, however, the trip up to the hotel is a bit frightening. Be sure to try the Furore wines from Marisa Cuomo.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjm752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

My wife and I loved this place. Our room was simple, clean and comfortable. The view, both from our room and the restaurant terrace is possibly the best of any hotel I've ever stayed in: breathtaking vista of the Med in the mornings, distant twinkling lights of Amalfi and Salerno in the evenings.

As others have noted, the restaurant is very good indeed. Excellent dishes, good value for money. Local families seem to eat there too (it's not just a pizzeria). The waiters are friendly and helpful. Right behind the hotel is the Marisa Cuomo winery, whose wines are on the list: they are very good - and very reasonably priced. Breakfast is absolutely superb. Not the Full English, but much more than just coffee and pastries.

The only 'problem' with the hotel - if you can call it a problem - is that it (and the whole village) is pretty isolated. If you don't have a car, there isn't really anywhere else within reasonable walking distance to go eat in Furore (unless you're young and very fit!) - so it's just as well the restaurant is good. I suppose you might be able to arrange scooter rental somewhere local - we didn't try. However, the local SITA bus service (Agerola - Amalfi) stops right outside, so you can go literally anywhere along the coast you want. And Italian public transport is pretty cheap. The hotel management also arranged a taxi to and from Naples airport for us, at what seemed to be about half the going rate.

Has to be said there doesn't seem to be much to do in Furore in the evenings though!

There is free wi-fi, although my connection was often unreliable; it only works properly in the hotel lounge, not in the rooms. The rooms have a minibar, but it would have been nice to have a safe as well.

The hotel staff are extremely helpful with 'local knowledge'; they sell single-trip and all-day bus tickets and provide all the necessary maps and pamphlets you might need to get around.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top (second) floor. There isn't an elevator, so if you have mobility problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charl39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Furore
0.4 mi away
Holidays Fico D'India
0.5 mi away
La Locanda del Fiordo
1.2 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 stars 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 stars 529 reviews
2.4 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 733 reviews
1.5 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bacco

Address: Via G.B. Lama, 9, 84010, Furore, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Furore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Furore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bacco 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its panoramic position 450 metres above sea level and nestled into the hills, Hotel Bacco is a small, cosy, 3-star structure offering breathtaking views of the Amalfi Coast.A peaceful, secluded haven, Hotel Bacco is surrounded by vineyards and flowered gardens. For nature lovers, the hotel is within easy reach of the famous Sentiero degli Dei (The Trail of the Gods) and many hiking paths.With its free, private car park, Hotel Bacco is a great base for independently exploring the rich surroundings, and is conveniently set between Positano, Praiano and Ravello. Alternatively, public buses for Amalfi stop regularly in front of the hotel. Bus tours will help you admire this unique and renowned zone and the hotel’s friendly staff can suggest itineraries and assist you with booking excursions.Hotel Bacco provides a welcoming atmosphere where you can enjoy individually designed rooms. Here you can rest in simplicity and comfort, with each room featuring lovely panoramas of this famous coastal area or relaxing views of the hotel’s rich surrounding gardens.Hotel Bacco is also known for its gourmet restaurant and its romantic, panoramic terrace where you can dine on fine cuisine and admire the enchanting Amalfi landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bacco Hotel Furore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing