We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you feel like you are at home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Ripa delle Janare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Locanda Ripa delle Janare to your Saves list
Locanda Ripa delle Janare
Via Aldo Moro 3, 84010 Furore, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Furore B&B and Inns
Ashdod, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“you feel like you are at home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

I think the hotel much farther from the beach. There really isn't beach access at all. You definitely need a car and the road to the nearest coastline (Amalfi) of 12 km in the mountains - extremal driving.
The owners (very nice family) are very warm and extremely helpful. The accommodations were small, but very clean and has a beautiful view from the window.
Thanks a lot for your help and warm hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    38
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
121
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

In this February I was with my wife on short trip to Italy. First we visit Rome for 3 days. Next for other 4 days we stayed in fabulous place on Amalfi coast - Locanda Ripa delle Janare. Place provided by very kindly and hospitable marriage. We found them by driving through the coast and stepping by for interesting views. I'm a photographer and I can say that view from this place is amazing. Resting on terrace with great cappuccino, even in February provides unforgettable memories. Very peaceful and quite place in this period so If we stayed longer I think I will start to write a novel...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

My husband and I loved staying here. It was hard to get to, but VERY worth it. Excellent service, amazing views, very friendly/helpful staff, great food - a fantastic deal for the price as well. I almost hesitate to write about it as we'd like to keep the secret to ourself in case we come back.
The family that ran the place was very helpful - giving us directions, driving us to and from the beach/nearby Amalfi. They even let us pay them for a drive to Pompeii. The only thing I would advise is to double-check what you agree on if you don't speak Italian. They speak some English, but we found that there were a few miscommunications because of language.
In any case, a great place, we still talk about it being the best hotel we've ever stayed at/best meals we ever had, etc.!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

warm welcome, lovely hosts, helpfull with directions and reccomendations, breakfast of fresh italian coffee and crossiants on the terrace overlooking the amazing coast line with the warm amalfi sun each morning i will never forget. Rooms very spacious and clean, we had a balcony overlooking the fuorde, would have liked to stay another week! Oh and the tabacchi up the hill a few hundred meters made the best cappuccinos, well worth a stop :)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

After arriving by car (our own right-hand drive) an experience in itself ! .we got the most homely welcome from Pino & Ilaria . The room was just fantastic so quaint and what a view looking out onto the med . The surrounding area of the Amali coast was just as stunning with magnificent views around every turn . Before we set of on a drive each day we would always get advice of were to go and when we went to capri, Pino drove us to and from the cove where we got the boat (be prepared to get wet). Even though we were there for 8 nights never did we get a repeat menu in the evening, the food was outstanding with great service from jonny . Yes a wonderful trip

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We had an amazing two week holiday in Amalfi coast and stay in Locand Ripa delle Janare. We stayed there first week together with my husband and his parents and second week with group of friends and everyone enjoyed the stay very much.
It's a beautiful reasonably priced B&B in Furore, a walking distance from Fjordo Furore, where the is a very beautiful small beach with very nice beach restaurant. The hotel owner, Pino and Ilaria are wonderful and they take very good care of us. They also have a very good restaurant, where Pino cooks excellent food. We ate there several nights. There are also very nice wine yards close by with excellent wines. If you have a car, Furore is a good spot to stay and visit Sorrento, Napoli, Capri and the beautiful cities of Amalfi coast. With an extra fee you are able to use the swimming pool of the five star hotel which is located 500m down the hill, we didn't try it though because the beach at Furore was so nice (and cheapest sun chairs as well as best food compared to any beaches close by). We had an amazing holiday in Italy!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddleworth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

We stayed for a week but wish it was more. The hotel owners and staff are really lovely and can't do enough for you. Our room had a balcony with a fantastic view overlooking the fjord, if your scared of heights, don't look down!! The room was lovely and very clean, with fresh linen every day. The breakfast was served on the terrace, as was the eveing meal. We ate here every night as the food was so good. We were glad the hotel did not have a swimming pool or we would never have stirred out and then we would have missed the beauty of the area. We parked the car up for the week and travelled on public transport all the time, once you see the roads you will understand why, but the buses are so good and a day ticket will take you anywhere,there is so much to see. You have a bit of a hike up the hill to the bus stop, but I would recommend that you buy a few bus tickets at a time (you only validate them on the day you use them), this will save you a bus stop as the bar that sells them is a little further up the hill!The cruise to Carpri was beautiful and a must, just be prepared for the crowds. Naples was an experience, if you go by boat make sure you get the early one as the later you leave it the less time you have there. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone who wants peace and quiet, good food, good company, lovely views and great owners and staff. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda Ripa delle Janare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ripa delle Janare

Address: Via Aldo Moro 3, 84010 Furore, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Furore
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Furore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda Ripa delle Janare, favorite adobe of creatures from woods and seas. The refuge stands on the peak of the spectacular fiord that breaks the Amalfi Coast in a salsh and holds the sea with its unceasing force that gives to this place the bizarre name of Furore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Locanda Ripa delle Janare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Ripa delle Janare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.