We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even the floods couldn't dampen such a wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Serafina Agriturismo

Save Saved
You added Serafina Agriturismo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Serafina Agriturismo
Via Picola, 3 | Loc. Vigne, Furore, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Furore
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Even the floods couldn't dampen such a wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The weather was utterly disgusting whilst we visited the almalfi coast but we were very fortunate to have found this gem.

Rosa, Domenico and their family made us feel so welcome and were very clearly proud of what they had acheived. On arrival, they showed us photos of previous guests from around the world that had stayed with them and also wrote glowing reviews. Their pride is entirely deserved.

The rooms are not luxurious but have everything you need. Do not come here if you are looking for superficial luxury, there are plenty of 5* posey hotels along the coast.

What made it though was the amazing food, all grown on their farmand tasted like nothing I'd ever eaten at home, the stunning view across their farm and the warmth of our hosts. We stayed up on the first night drinking their homemade limoncello, chatting to rosa and Domenico.

We didn't particular warm to the pretentiousness (or the weather!) of the Almafi Coast but this beautiful food, generous hospitality and charming farm made our trip to Italy,

Thanks very much

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
72
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, B.C.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This small agriturismo stuck at the end of a windy road on the Amalfi Coast near Furore is a delight. It is right among the hillside grape vines and is right on a main walking path that will take you down to the coast or up into the hills for more hiking. The owners are ever so obliging. There is plenty to eat at dinner and breakfast; the pasta dishes are wonderful. They make all their own food and I think the meats are from their own stock. Depending on what's in season, there may be repeats if you you stay for 3 or 4 days. The farm is a bit "off the track" and the road is very windy so that may not appeal to all, but if you can navigate a car on the Amalfi Coast you'll be rewarded with a farm stay that has a wonderful view down the hillside and out over the sea. The rooms are clean and tidy, each with a balcony. the owners have plenty of maps and information to help with your visit to the Amalfi. Serafina also makes a good place to stay if you plant to visit Pompeii, an easy one day trip going over the top rather than around the coastal road. The farm is situated half way along the coast so it's well placed to travel out to the various small towns. This is a working farm; there is plenty to photograph. There is local bus transport, but it falls short by about a kilometer from the farm. A car is best. I highly recommend Serafina.

Room Tip: Plan to arrive with a car; the roads are extremely curvy/narrow
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

After staying few days at the beautiful (and expensive) city of Amalfi, we decided to spend our next days of vacations at a farm (that we discovered on a Lonely planet guide). Our 3 days stay at Serafina was the most memorable days of our 2 weeks vacations in Italy. We were welcome like family by Domenico, Giuseppina and their two amazing and lovely daughters Rosa and Elena. Their traditional farming ways, their delicious homemade food and mostly hosting us with simplicity and such good heart, made our 3 days so inspiring, that we are still speaking about it ! The surroundings of the farm are perfect for walkers and nature lovers. Do not miss the walk to Positano via the Sentiero degli Dei. The beach is at 45 minutes walk through farmland and occasional sheep. If you are looking for a very authentic experience, you are not going to be deceived ! This is jewel that hopefully will not disappear to soon..(Ciao Rosa & Elena..Saluti ai vostri genitori ..Raimonda & Moïse)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthWest England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We were the only guests here the night we stayed in November. what a visit it was. Greeted by a very enthusiastic Rosa we were launched head first into a comprehensive tour of the house and farm, taking in the wine, oil, tomatoes, cheese and various animals around the place.
it was olive picking season so the family was out stripping the trees, later they all arrived back and divided their time between chatting to us and getting on with processing the olives.
Rosa prepared and cooked for us an amazing belly bursting meal, we had the farms wine too. Everything was home produce and so tasty cooked on the wood oven next to us.
the room with ensuite was spaceous enough, clean and thankfully lacking a TV. Bonus, it had a lovely scenic balcony.
do go and stay here, give yourself a few days to soak this family run treat in!
70eur for room and brekkie, 50eur for dinner for 2 with wine. Experience was priceless.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I recently spent two nights at Serafina. We had such an incredible experience, we only wish we could have stayed longer. It is run by a family -- Domenico, Giuseppina and their two daughters, Rosa and Elena, and we felt like family by the time we left. Domenico was so passionate about the farm and what they produce, and he proudly showed us around when we arrived.

I had been studying Italian, but it was still fairly basic, but Rosa's English was very good and she was extremely helpful. Domenico also spoke English fairly well, but as soon as I spoke Italian to him, he continued to speak to me only in Italian. He was so patient and truly helped me gain my confidence when speaking.

Serafina is nestled in the mountains above the sea. The view is spectacular. The rooms were clean and basic, and like so many other reviewers mentioned, the food was delicious. Everything was simply prepared so that the home-grown and home-produced ingredients were the stars. Their farm produces so many different things, and we savored everything at our evening meal. I had to stop typing and run to the kitchen, make myself some toast, and spread some of their yummy lemon jam on it. Ummmm. Now I feel as if I'm back there (definitely take some home with you). At the end of dinner, Domenico would bring out three bottles -- limoncello, limoncrema, and a wonderful fennel liquor. I really miss those dinners.

We didn't have a car, but upon our arrival Domenico was kind enough to pick us up at the bus stop in Furore. The next day we hiked down the mountain to sea and spent a wonderful day swimming in the Mediterranean and relaxing on the beach. When we left, they even arranged for a private car to drive us to Salerno so we didn't have to stress about the bus connections. The driver was friendly, spoke English, and it was very reasonable. We both thought it was worth the extra expense.

They all work so very hard, from the moment they get up with all the farm chores and taking care of all the guests into the evening. They helped us understand the relationship of love between the land, food and family, and the incredible harvest that it brings. We don't have words to express how grateful we were to have the privilege to stay there and share their life for a few days. We miss you all and hope to be back soon. Love, Suzanne and Robert

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We found this destination on lonely planet and researched it on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. We arrived from Naples taking a train to Salerno, then the Amalfi coast bus to Amalfi and switching to the Furore bus. Rosa, the oldest daughter and English-speaking spokesperson for the family told us her father would come and meet us in Furore.This was a relief as it was 9 pm and a fairly remote area. Domenico came and was very friendly. When we arrived we were ushered into the dining room and introduced to several other guests. We had a jug of wine and retired for the night. The room was clean and comfortable. The view from our balcony of the sea and the mountains was spectacular. We ate all of our meals here. The breakfasts were not our typical North American style, but they were very good. They consisted of homemade jam (the pear was our favourite) and cakes (which we smelled the night before) and bread. The dinners were excellent. It is like being invited to someone's home. They cook and serve you the treasures from their farm. Truly buonissimo! Rosa helps navigate you to the town of Amalfi daily and the only drawback to this location is the transportation. If you have a car and nerves of steel, great. If not, you are basically leaving for the 10 am bus out and the 6pm bus back. We really enjoyed the hospitality of this family, the breathtaking views, the wonderful food and the amazing Amalfi coast. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Serafina was the highlight of our wonderful trip to Italy in early September. We stayed for three nights, enjoying fantastic dinners at the Agritourismo each night. The vast majority of delicious foods were products from the farm of the family of four who have been hosting vacationers for many years. Meals began with antipasti including meats and cheeses from the farm and roasted vegetables in oil, different each night. Pasta to follow then a meat main dish. Dominic would then bring out his homemade lemoncello, lemon cream, and anise liquors. The whole family was very warm and generous.

Our room was very pleasant with an amazing view of both valley and sea. We walked to Positano one day leaving directly from the place (no bus needed to Bomerano). What a great walk (until the stairs at the end!) about 3 hrs. We took the bus to Praino and hiked back up in late afternoon. 1hr. The following day we walked down to the Fjord. It is best around 3pm when the sun streams in - other times of day it is in shadow.

I strongly recommend staying at the wonderful Agriturismo Serafina.

Room Tip: Ask to face the valley and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Serafina Agriturismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serafina Agriturismo

Address: Via Picola, 3 | Loc. Vigne, Furore, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Furore
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Furore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cordial and familiar atmosphere is the business card of Serafina farmhouse. You will find to receive you Domenico, the wife Giuseppina and the two daughters. They live all in Furore (Amalfi Coast) in the beautiful small farm transformed in farm holidays cured in the particular minimums. Every room with bath and shower, balcony, air-condition and fridge. The products: Lemons, red and with grapes, goats and cow cheese and typical tomatoes "a piennolo". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Serafina Agriturismo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serafina Agriturismo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.