We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely honey moon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Dolce Tramonto

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Furore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Il Dolce Tramonto
Save
You added Il Dolce Tramonto to your Saves list
Via Salita Pedata, 18, 84010 Furore, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 17 Furore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely honey moon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had a lovely honeymoon at Il Dolce Tramonto 3 unforgettable weeks in a tranquil setting on the top of the Amalfi Coast, surrounded by the scent of nature. The reception was the best as only the locals know how to give, as we crossed the green avenue to reach the house I realized that my choice was right. The hostess immediately showed itself very welcoming and showed us all the corners of the house where we spent most of the day soaking up the sun. Sometimes I think back with nostalgia those days, and as soon as I can I have in my plan to go back to stay there. I recommend this place to anyone looking to relax and at the same time do not want to preclude the possibility of being able to immerse themselves in the local beauties

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ildolcetramonto, Proprietario at Il Dolce Tramonto, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Many thanks for your beautiful review and for the time you spent to write it!
We are very proud when our guests reccomend Il Dolce Tramonto.
Our mission is to give to people quiet and tranquillity and, obviously, the most beautiful landscape they have ever seen!!
We hope to see you soon!

Maria & Marcello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The photos do not do this location justice. There is a private gated driveway for you to park. The kitchen has all the all you need to enjoy your meals. There is nothing more breath taking than enjoying the morning view from your balcony as your sip your espresso. The beds are comfortable. It is very quiet at night so you will be well rested to take on what the area has to offer. Once you learn a few roads you are literally at the center of endless activates you can do. All within an hour or two of driving. If you enjoy hiking you have to go for the "Walk of the gods" hike. The whole Amalfi coast is at your door front. Naples, Pompeii, Paestum, Herculaneum, Mt Vesuvius and countless points of interest are nearby. You have not seen the beauty of the Amailfi coastline until you experience the view from the sea. What made my experience and holiday even more enjoyable was the hosts. Maria and Marcello simply wonderful. They are very friendly warm and very knowledgeable about the area. They will help in any way to make your stay with them unforgettable. I have had the pleasure of staying there twice already and looking forward to returning a third time shortly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ildolcetramonto, Proprietario at Il Dolce Tramonto, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We are really proud to read reviews like these. You have been twice here and "you are anxious to get back". What better advertisement for us. Thank you very much for your nice comment. Thanks especially for the nice words about the owners. We always try to make our guests feel such as at home.

See you soon.

Maria and Marcello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Villa Prisca A, thoughtfully decorated in good taste with plenty of space light and bright with a well equipped kitchen comprising of a granite bench top, staying in for dinner is not a problem as all equipment is provided. The views are quite remarkable with french doors opening onto a large terrace running the full length of the apartment most unusual for Italy and together with the warmth of welcome from Marcello and Maria beyond what one would expect makes for a great stay. Highly recommended, you will need a car, the road in is narrow but once driven a couple of times it is no problem. Bus nearby takes you to Amalfi where further bus services are available for Ravello, Maiori, Minori, Conca dei Marini, Praiano, Positano, Sorrento,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ildolcetramonto, Proprietario at Il Dolce Tramonto, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
We want to thank you for your beautiful review, especially for the time you’ve dedicated to to write it.

Well, we are very proud when our guest recommend Il Dolce Tramonto and we hope to see you soon.

Best regards

Maria and Marcello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The views are exactly as you see in the photos: Simply stunning. We loved the village feel and the countryside around us. We visited Amalfi 30 minutes away as well as Positano and took the boat to Capri. Marcello and Maria were wonderful hosts. We were given a bottle of wine and their beautiful tomatoes. I have never eaten such tasty tomatoes! We stayed in the top apartment which was quite spacious, very clean with a good size bathroom and kitchen. Day or night would find us staring at the view.
The village of Bomerano had everything we needed. We loved all the fresh produce, olive oil, cheeses etc. The ham and prosciutto are amazing. It may be interesting to some visitors that the hiking trail called The Path of The Gods goes through Bomerano on the way to Positano. There are many reviews about this hike on TripAdvisor. It looks amazing.
We listened to Marcello and took the boat trip to Capri that he had particularly recommended and were not disappointed. It was the highlight of our trip. Maria gave us tips on where to park in Positano which really helped.
I would certainly recommend this beautiful spot.

Room Tip: The top floor has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ildolcetramonto, Proprietario at Il Dolce Tramonto, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment.
We are so happy you loved your time in Furore and being part of your enjoyable stay is such a good feeling and rewarding too!
You have been such nice guests, I will remember you.
We always recommend our guests the trip boat to Capri… it is simply fantastic and very very romantic!
Thank you so much and hope to see you again when in Furore.
All the best

Maria and Marcello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was a great stay, and I'll chime in with what other reviewers have said.

We had 10 absolutely gorgeous days at this property, which is situated so high above the coast. Besides a small tomato plantation in front of the house, you only see the water - no coastline is visible below the house, the mountain is too steep.

By car, it takes you about 30 minutes and a challenging road to get to the coast - through about 15 km of serpentines - even though it is only 500 meters away by a direct line. Of course, you can also walk a lot of staircases, or take the bus.

The surroundings were very quiet. You only the rooster at 5.30 in the morning, if you leave the door open, that is. The house has well insulated windows and very helpful screen doors that keep out the flies.

Marcello and Maria are great hosts, we found that communication in French was the easiest, but English is also an option. They gave us home made wine, and limoncello, and stunning tomatoes from the garden - great.

Since we arrived relatively late in the evening, Marcello picked us up at the Hotel "Il Rocce" on the main road in Bomerano. We would not have found the house on our own.

Room Tip: We stayed in the top apartment, which could host up to four persons. It was very clean, and very spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ildolcetramonto, Proprietario at Il Dolce Tramonto, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
What a fantastic refreshing review for us.
Thank you so much for your kind words.
Fantastic to see that we offered a peaceful stay.
We look forward to seeing you in Furore on your next visit!

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We arrived in darkness so did not really have an idea of the view until the following morning as all we could really see was twinkling lights from Praiano just down the coast. However, the view from the apartment proved to be everything the photos on here suggest, and more - it really is exceptional.

The apartment was spotlessly clean and well-equipped, with a proper kitchen and bathroom - not just the 'kitchen corner' and tiny shower room which you so often find in holiday lets.

Maria and Marcello could not have been more welcoming. Marcello came out on his motorbike to find us as, in common with many guests, we had trouble finding the place in the dark. None of the maps we looked at show Via Salita Pedata although I have since found that Michelin maps online does. We were actually very close but Via Salita Pedata is an apparently unpromising turning onto an unmade road, past a tin shack and bordered by cornfields and we had not braved it even though we had seen it!

As well as showing us round the apartment, Marcello invited us down to the family's home (they live in the ground floor apartment) where we were offered home made Limoncello and given a wealth of information about the area, including guidebooks and maps. We were also welcomed with a large bowl of fresh fruit and a bottle of home made red wine. Although it was late, dark and raining, Marcello also insisted on accompanying us to a local supermarket so we could buy some basic provisions. He even explained to the owner that I needed special dietary products as I have Coeliac Disease.

During the week, on our return from trips out, Maria or Marcello often appeared to check everything was OK and also produced grapes and tomatoes for us that they had grown on their land.

The charges for the apartment are extremely good value - you can have a whole week here for the price of 1 night in a sea view room in a modest hotel in one of the nearby resorts! And the sea view eclipses any sea view we have ever had before.......

The apartment is within walking distance of the village of Bomerano which has several supermarkets as well as butchers, greengrocers, a baker, fishmonger, chemist and various other shops. This is a real Italian village, not a tourist centre. Although the supermarkets are small by UK standards, they are surprisingly well-stocked. If you are staying for a longer period, there are branches of the hypermarket Auchan within an hour's drive towards Naples but we found it easy to live well on purchases from the local shops.

The apartment is well-placed for visiting the Amalfi coast and Sorrentine Peninsula. Positano seemed to be the busiest and most expensive place, Amalfi does get invaded when the cruise ships come in but Ravello wasn't crowded. We chose to hire car but it would be perfectly possible to manage without as there are regular buses along the coast and up to Ravello. You do need nerves of steel(!) at times to drive as the roads twist and turn continuously and don't expect to get above 3rd gear very often! However, you do adapt to the pace and on many of the blind bends there are strategically placed mirrors. The bus drivers also make their approach known by honking regularly.

Apart from the tail end of a storm on the first day, the weather was beautiful - sunny and with temperatures in the mid 20's - warm enough to enjoy sitting on the terrace looking at that view but not too hot to go sight seeing.

If you want excellent value accommodation with a warm Italian welcome and a spectacular view, this is the place to stay. And visiting in October allows you to avoid the intense heat and crowds of the high season. When you've had enough of the buzz of the resorts you can retreat to your own little private paradise.

Room Tip: We had the middle flat - above the owners who were very quiet but below some noisy people in the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ildolcetramonto, Proprietario at Il Dolce Tramonto, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Wow! … What a long review!
We are really really astonished by all the beautiful words you used to describe the house and the staying at Il Dolce Tramonto.
We always try to make our guests feel such as at their own home.
Thank you for taking so long time to submit such a positive review.
Hope we can be of service to you again at some point in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

What can I say - absolutely stunning - arriving at night time, we were unaware of what lay ahead as far as the view was concerned in the morning! It was like being on top of the world - absolutely beautiful. The apartment was meticulously clean and well equipped - old fashioned, but totally appropriate for the area. My wife and I, and 2 children had a marvellous stay and hope to return one day when possible. Maria and Marcello were delightful and very helpful. Thanks so much to them too. I live in Costa Rica, so finding a great vacation spot aint that easy but we succeeded here!

Room Tip: We chose the middle floor which was great as far as the view was concerned and very spacious for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ildolcetramonto, Proprietario at Il Dolce Tramonto, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
It was a pleasure to meet you and we are very very happy you spent a great vacation at Il Dolce Tramonto. At the same time, we are honored to be known at the other side of the ocean. Hope to see you soon! P.S. Thank you for posting the beautiful photo.

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Dolce Tramonto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Dolce Tramonto

Address: Via Salita Pedata, 18, 84010 Furore, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Furore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Furore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New house built in a panoramic position overlooking the sea (even comfortably layed down on the bed).Self-catering apartments, well-furnished and equipped with all you need to spend a pleasant holiday week. TV, radio, Wi-fi and a pot for tea or American coffee complete the furnishings.Each apartment has its own parking place and there are large common fully equipped terraces.The house is few hundred meters away from the center of the village where you can find all the shops and the starting points of the pathways that lead to the wonders of the Amalfi Coast: Amalfi, Praiano, Conca dei Marini , Positano, Furore, Scala and Ravello. Here there are famous trails like “The Path of the Gods”, known for its spectacular landscape.The nearest beach is approximately 9 km away.The owners live in the first floor.Over the years they have gained the experience to offer the typical local hospitality to both Italians and foreigner tourists, always available to give them any support. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Dolce Tramonto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.